We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Dublin 4”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monasterevin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for Dublin 4”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times for both business and leisure. Rooms are to a good standard - especially thanks to a free upgrade on one occasion. The hotel is obviously a few houses joined together, so the corridor and lift system can be a bit confusing - rooms numbers starting with 1 are down in basement, but good size and well lit. Breakfast fine, though they suffer from that common affliction of hotels - "Let's save 2c by only putting one tea bag in the pot". Staff very friendly. Nice location, just 5 mins walk from Lansdowne Rd rail station.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bruce2Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are putting in additional signage in the coming weeks which hopefully will address confusion regarding room numbers.

We look forward to having you with us in the near future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    786
    227
    64
    42
See reviews for
384
778
92
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 and was very satisfied with the Sandymount. It was clean and well serviced and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to the DART train service (only 2 stops to the city centre) and within 500 metres of Sandymount village with a few pubs and shops. Parking was plentiful and the food in the restaurant was great. Will definitely be staying here on my next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Dublin.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

It's been a long time since I stayed here but it won't be as long again.

This Hotel is a little gem. Rooms are a good size, very clean and comfortable, fantastic value for money.

Excellent food selection both at Breakfast and for bar food in the evening, an extensive menu and specials each night. There is a real buzz about the bar but not so loud that you can't relax.

My favourite part of the Hotel has to be the deck overlooking the garden. Sitting out with a lovely pint, it's perfect.

A special mention has to go to the Staff who are so friendly. From breakfast to evening, everyone had a smile and I truly felt like a valued guest.

Will be back and spreading the word.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is a great tribute to receive such praise from a senior reviewer.

We are delighted you came back to the hotel, and we look forward to having you with us in the near future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Warm reception with helpful staff. Room and facilities fine. Minor problem with bathroom which was sorted out quickly. Breakfasts good with plenty of choice.

Five minute walk to train station and 10 minutes to local restaurants. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavender3609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and greatly appreciate your recommendation.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I attended a Customer Service Workshop on the 25/6/14 in your hotel. From the moment I stepped foot in the hotel I was made feel so welcome. After the workshop I spent an hour or two sampling the Guinness in the bar. As a fellow bartender I must admit that I was very impressed with Parvesh. He was so friendly, talkative and he was very enthusiastic and passionate about his work. He kept up conversation with me the whole time I was there. All in all I had an amazing experience and I would definitely return. 5 star service from a three star hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie_Neeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

Parvesh has been with us for a number of years and is very popular with our guests.

We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Again - great stay, and absolutely no complaints at all . This is a good honest hotel and it does what it does well. The fact that my reviews are constantly positive is evidence of this.

i will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlannoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We greatly appreciate that you regularly return to us, and we look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I was a female traveling alone for a brief visit to Dublin. The Sandymout was recommended by local colleagues. They could not have done a better job. A short walk to the villages of Sandymount or Ballsbridge, everything is at your doorstep.
Staff at Sandymount are wonderful. Welcoming, friendly and helpful. My room was a fair way away from reception and upon check out, the lift in my wing was out of order. My bags were swiftly collected and delivered to my cab, no questions asked and no hassle at all.
The bar is lovely, sitting on the deck overlooking the garden is a terrific way to see out the day.
Room service was 50/50. Chowder was the best I'd ever eaten. Nachos were atrocious.
Rooms are spotless. Housekeeping did a great job each day.
I would absolutely stay here again. This is a top hotel where everyone is there to assist.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bbsydney96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a warm and positive review.

Sandymount is one of the most exclusive residential areas in Dublin, and a safe location for females travelling alone.

Your comments regarding nachos will be brought to the attention of my chef.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ireland.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,858 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,287 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,443 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,324 reviews
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing