We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for stay closed in town”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #101 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Definitely will go back again, this place is so closed to the temple bar area and also closed to public transport centre to/from airport. Very safe and friendly! Great experience and money for value!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hondas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

I Went to Dublin with my girlfriend. We have searched this Hotel trough TRIPADVISOR, and we already expected to be a nice place. The place simply over exceeded our expectations. The best BED and SHOWER. Great staff, and awesome breakfast ! The price is good, since Dublin revealed a very expensive city. I recommend this place for everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreyHenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed two nights on a trip to Dublin and this is one of the best value for money hotels we have ever stayed at. It is in an old Georgian townhouse and has a lot of ambience. staff friendly, room very clean and a great Irish breakfast included in the already good price.

Only negative was the traffic noise but if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back, it didnt really bother us too much.

Bus back to the airport at the door for 2.30 euros (cheaper than the airport bus at 7 euros), close to everything and we ate both nights around the corner at Le Bon Crubeen, highly recommended with mains from 10-13 euros. Make sure you book though, they are always busy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayloverAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Within walking distance to major destinations in City Centre, this hotel offers great value and service. We found everything neat, clean, and charming. Breakfast was great, and the staff at the hotel -- at all times of day and night -- were warm and friendly. Good security measures were in place as well. Children enjoyed the lounge area where they could access free wi-fi and relax on comfy couches. Overall, we had a great stay at the Townhouse, and I would definitely recommend it to others looking for charming, affordable accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shappy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Very cozy room and loby area, employees very helpful. great hospitality.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
Thank DiogoPaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We found our stay at The TownHouse to be really relaxing. The staff very friendly and helpful, always cheerful.
Our son stayed at the accomadation on his gap year last year and said it was a fantastic place to stay. We are between 44 and 48 years old and had a fantastic stay here.
The breakfast very plentiful and home cooked.
We would recommend this hotel/hostel very highly to anyone of all ages.
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayin the B&B part of the hotel for 3 nights. It was at the beginning of our trip. The staff was helpful, the breakfast was great and the location can't be beat. The rooms were a bit small, but it wasn't a problem. They have a great sitting room with free internet! We enjoy our stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#103 of 150 in Dublin
197 reviews
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#65 of 150 in Dublin
420 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#32 of 150 in Dublin
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pembroke Townhouse
#74 of 150 in Dublin
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing