We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent in town hotel”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #100 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Pelham, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent in town hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here for the last 2 nights of our week in Ireland. Great location in walking distance to most sites in Dublin. Comfortable bed though rooms are getting a little tired and the front desk service was spotty. Room at the back of the hotel could hear noise from others in hallway and neighboring rooms,as well as from a bar behind until 1 a.m. If you are a light sleeper this may not be for you. Found the breakfast excellent and quick. For the price this is decent value in a great spot but it's time to invest a few dollars in upkeep.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMHPelham_Ont_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    281
    123
    49
    38
See reviews for
88
209
78
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I liked nothing about this hostel located in Dublin's popular Northside. I found the Public Areas, Breakfast Room and my Room in a run down dirty state. Room and corridor reeked of cooking. The whole place is crying out for a good clean/touch-up

Potential guests should be wary of reviews submitted by young or young at heart guests. Their standards would unfortunately not seem to be those of a standard guest

Room Tip: Avoid rooms rear facing -- looking onto Irish Life Center -- 24/7 noise from generator/compressor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTravelerParisFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

derry
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the room was, and lovely decoration/furnishing thoughout the hotel. Good wifi, and also plenty of space available in the reception areas for those who wanted to work/read outside of the rooms. Secure parking, and staff kindly let us keep the car in the garage for a couple of hours during the day before we headed out on a daytrip, though it was a €10 to park overnight when we returned.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here three nights, and were pretty pleased with most aspects of our stay.
The staff were absolutely fantastic - so friendly and helpful, and always available. Breakfast was also stellar - an excellent variety of cooked and continental options, with a range of drinks and spreads. The location is great - far enough from the main drag that it´s not as crazy, but still within easy walking distance of everything. We think our stay was absolutely value for money, and would consider staying again in future.
Our only gripes were likely as a result of it being an older building with an older set up - we were on the top floor, and could never get hot water in the sink. The shower was lukewarm at best, and while I´m sure everything was clean, it gave off an air of being a bit tired and maybe ´ugh´ around the edges. Our bed was pretty hard, which isn´t our preferred choice, and I´m glad I brought my own pillow.
That being said - we are not precious, and these things don´t really dampen our stay. I also have no doubt that if we had any serious issues, the staff would have attempted to help in any way possible. As it was, there was nothing that we felt we needed to bring up with them.
Overall we are very positive about our experience, and we want to thank The Townhouse for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here at the Townhouse Hotel. We wanted to change our booking dates a few days prior to arriving and tried calling the hotel. The phone number provided on their website and booking confirmations did not work. We tried emailing them and there was no reply. Rooms itself were moderately clean. Bathrooms were moderate to poor in cleanliness. Significant amount of mold growing around side of showers (not where you stand) and shower drain did not drain properly so you were left standing in a puddle at the end of the shower. Breakfast was disappointing compared to all the other breakfasts in Ireland we've had - poor organization and long waits for trays/cutlery probably because of the extremely busy dining room. Wifi only available in main dining room area. Price was high but very good for this central location. 10 minutes from Temple Bar area and 5 from O'Connell Street. Bus stop to airport literally directly in front of front door - extremely convenient. Staff at from desk was helpful. Quite loud due to being on a main street and proximity to bars. Limited free parking available - (safe) paid parking was 10 minute walk away. Recommended if you don't mind budget accommodations with a little bit of a dirty bathroom!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frantstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

You can't really beat the location for convenience and, depending on the Celtic pub round the corner, quietness. Stayed here twice recently: first time for an overnighter before travelling on and second time for a week long stay in Dublin city. There is a good vibe in this hotel because of the sharing of facilities with the hostellers / backpackers. Nice to see a lounge area (the mezzanine) that people did actually use to read a book, have a nap or catch up on work/emails etc. Huge bonus to have free internet and computer facilities - can't always bring your PC with you, so much appreciated. Great staff on the front desk, both day and night. Comfy bed, though could have done with an extra blanket as the nights were a bit chilly. See if you can get a balcony room facing the courtyard - nice view and nice touch. Standard breakfast but hardworking kitchen staff! Close to shops, Luas, Connolly Station, city buses and airport bus stops - oh, and a few pubs! Robert Reade is close by and does great meals. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing in to the garden. I stayed twice and the first room faced the next door bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedKiwi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We found this hotel in the Rick Steve's travel book, we always know that we can trust his judgement. We were happy with the price and the hotel. It is next to/connected to a travel/hostel type of hotel. It was in a very convenient area, around the corner from the bus station, walking distance to Temple Bar, Trinity College, Millenium Spire, etc. We picked up the "hop on, hop off" bus nearby too. The rooms were fine, had the amenities that were needed, nothing more. The breakfast is served in a cafeteria style but it was a full irish breakfast and worked to fill us up. I would definitely recommend this place for the price and area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesnkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 151 in Dublin
612 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#83 of 151 in Dublin
306 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,163 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#103 of 151 in Dublin
174 reviews
Maple Hotel
#132 of 151 in Dublin
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing