We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but friendly”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #100 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
St Bees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cheap but friendly”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Good location near the shops, rooms were spacious and adequately done for a cheap hotel, bathroom was spacious the only problem was the shower was extremely battered and had hairs in from the previous guests. Saying that for what we payed we were happy, breakfast was tasty and the staff were lovely. If you are looking for a hotel where you would rather spend your money doing other things which I would, this is a good choice. One little gripe the cleaners left my door open please respect peoples belongings. Overall thought we were happy staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisam1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    281
    123
    49
    38
See reviews for
88
209
78
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Value: I don't know; my partner booked but it looks OK if booked in advance
Twin room: smart and faultless. Smaller than Travelodge but that's because....
Location: great. Lots of other hotels and hostels in the area if you are shopping around. Almost within sight of The Spire, a big stainless steel pole which is a central landmark.
Wifi good. I could not log on once, but out of five days I call that good.

Oddities all good.
Next door is Globetrotters' Tourist Hostel which sometimes has bunks for €12 and shares the same big breakfast canteen with a quiet mezanine floor above it of armchairs, a desk or two and free wifi which also works in the bedrooms. Odd but good. In good weather there is a small courtyard too.

Globetrotter guests share a big leaflet rack and knowledge of reception staff too; both are kept up to date by the large number of users.

There's no pressure to be out of the building, even when the room is being cleaned, because it's possible to sit and meet or read a paper in the armchair bit. After a few days' stay, this is a relief. I saw student and school trip types using the space for homework as well.

I visited during a culture month or some-such apparently, and the hostel guests looked like cultural exchange trippers rather than rock-and-roll backpackers. There are also tourists, and one of the tour companies will pick-up at the door on request (backpackers might checkout a rival bus tour service called paddywagon which leaves from another hostel yards away).

Final point: there is a note in the rooms asking for green suggestions. This one is more labour-saving than directly green. It is to find a way of mounding the bin liners at waist level, to save staff having to bend-down to empty them or lift them to hoover-under.

Room Tip: Check for the same room via the hostel web site in case the price is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veggiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stumbled on the Townhouse by accident and couldn't have been happier with our sheer luck. The hotel is a great bang for the buck with a friendly and accommodating staff and a convenient location to explore the rest of Dublin. The helpful folks at the front desk had a great sense of humor and were knowledgeable and accommodating with their exploration suggestions. The rooms are not the biggest but this was offset by the fact that we had a balcony, facing the inner courtyard and the a lively atmosphere (noise was not an issue). We didn't get to stay for the full breakfast since we left relatively early but the manager was still nice enough to arrange for a quick snack pick up in the morning while the kitchen was being set up. The Townhouse also has a sister hostel right next door if the prices are slightly daunting. Nevertheless, would strongly suggest the Townhouse to any passer-by travelers: we were able to book same day on a weekend, in our last day in Dublin. There is also convenient access to/from the airport with a bus that takes about 30 minutes and runs on a frequent schedule.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi Eugene B

Thank you for your kind review; it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us at The Townhouse Dublin. We are humbled to have our product and service recommended by someone from the Big Apple, as we know that your guys really appreciate personal service and attention to detail. It is often the case that during the summer months (high season) that we do not get as much personal time with guests as we would like and this can be a real disappointment for us when we look back on the many wonderful and genuine people who have stayed with us over the summer months. We pray that you will return to see us again next year, and until then, we send you warm greetings from your friends at the Townhouse and we wish you safe and happy travelling.

We focus on providing comfortable rooms, informative front of house staff and value for your money. Please make sure to LIKE Our Facebook Page as we have a FREE Draw right now that could see you enjoy your next stay with The Townhouse Hotel absolutely FREE.

As well as delivering on our own products and service we work closely with other businesses in the area to ensure that our area is welcoming and that our local attractions such as Custom House Quay, Samuel Beckett Bridge, Gardiner Street Church and so much more are enjoyed by our guests.

We really try hard to deliver on customer service, our location right in the heart of Dublin is a key selling point, however, we like to think that our dedicated Tourist Information Desk and experienced staff are equally important to our local and international guests. Staycation packages available right now at unbeatable prices.

We are only a few minutes’ walk from Temple Bar and our accommodation prices are about 20% cheaper, including FREE Full Irish Breakfast each morning when you BOOK DIRECT on Our own website. If you are planning a Christmas Party in 2013 please stay in our comfortable, central location.

I hope you have taken the time to enter our fabulous FREE Draw on Our Facebook page, this draw could see you enjoy a stay at the Townhouse Hotel in Dublin City Centre absolutely free.

As you will know we have day tours leaving from our doorstep each day to such wonderful places such as the Giants Causeway and Cliffs of Moher, you will be back before 9pm, in plenty of time to enjoy a pint in one of our local Traditional Irish Pubs.

Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on our website to enjoy special offers and see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep up to date with what is going on in Dublin and Our area in particular.

Please keep up to date with Dublin by visiting gardinerstreetdublin.com

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Hotel Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay thank you. I notice that others have complained about the noise but we didn't find that to be the case. Staff were friendly enough and rooms serviced. Lots of area/nooks and crannies to sit in and relax while planning your visit.
We found it to be convenient location with bus stops and ATM just around the corner. Easy walk to O'Connell Street.
Would recommend it for travellers who are looking for somewhere to use as a base when visiting Dublin

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Public Relations Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hi Catherine 2527

It was the greatest of pleasure to enjoy your company, we are humbled that you have taken the time to offer a review of The Townhouse; we always welcome genuine reviews that focus on the key selling points of our business. We are central, we are comfortable and we are value for money. We made a very conscious decision at the beginning of the year to keep our prices competitive, give our guests something back by means of FREE Draws on our Facebook Page, FREE breakfast when you book direct on our website and multi-night discounts, we thank you, as we can see our efforts on behalf of our guests is being appreciated.

We focus on providing comfortable rooms, informative front of house staff and value for your money. Please make sure to LIKE Our Facebook Page as we have a FREE Draw right now that could see you enjoy your next stay with The Townhouse Hotel absolutely FREE.

As well as delivering on our own products and service we work closely with other businesses in the area to ensure that our area is welcoming and that our local attractions such as Custom House Quay, Samuel Beckett Bridge, Gardiner Street Church and so much more are enjoyed by our guests.

We really try hard to deliver on customer service, our location right in the heart of Dublin is a key selling point, however, we like to think that our dedicated Tourist Information Desk and experienced staff are equally important to our local and international guests. Staycation packages available right now at unbeatable prices.

We are only a few minutes’ walk from Temple Bar and our accommodation prices are about 20% cheaper, including FREE Full Irish Breakfast each morning when you BOOK DIRECT on Our own website. If you are planning a Christmas Party in 2013 please stay in our comfortable, central location.

I hope you have taken the time to enter our fabulous FREE Draw on Our Facebook page, this draw could see you enjoy a stay at the Townhouse Hotel in Dublin City Centre absolutely free.

As you will know we have day tours leaving from our doorstep each day to such wonderful places such as the Giants Causeway and Cliffs of Moher, you will be back before 9pm, in plenty of time to enjoy a pint in one of our local Traditional Irish Pubs.

Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT on our website to enjoy special offers and see gardinerstreetdublin.com to keep up to date with what is going on in Dublin and Our area in particular.

Please keep up to date with Dublin by visiting gardinerstreetdublin.com

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Hotel Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Townhouse at the recommendation of friends who had LOVED their stay in 2011. We left wondering if they were talking about a different Townhouse in Dublin, because we certainly didn’t have the same experience.

Dublin doesn’t have a subway system, so location is key when choosing accommodations. Depending on what you’re planning on doing in Dublin, The Townhouse is situated fairly conveniently – O’Connell Street is about a five minute walk away, meaning the Henry Street shopping district is within easy access. Stops for the city’s hop-on hop-off bus service are also easy to get to.

Location, however, is the ONLY thing this hotel has going for it. Upon checking in, we could immediately see that this wasn’t the place for us – even though The Townhouse is touted as “hotel” (and certainly charges “hotel” prices – over €100/night), it was clear that this is a B&B at best, and a hostel at worst. It’s located in what seems to be a converted Georgian townhouse, and the décor and updates have long faded. The baseboards are scratched, the walls are stained in places, there are water stains on the ceiling, and the whole building just feels musty, damp, and old.

Our room was a total bust, and we really should have complained to management about it. We “lucked” into a room on the front of the building (facing onto Gardiner Street), and because there is no air conditioning in the rooms, we had to sleep with the windows open. Considering there are train tracks just down the road, constant traffic on the street, and people perpetually wandering (sometimes drunkenly) around outside, we didn’t get a decent night’s sleep the entire time we were there. This wasn’t helped by the fact that our “double” bed was actually two singles pushed together. The mattresses were lumpy, and since one was significantly higher than the other, we were left with a huge ridge running down the middle of the bed. The room also didn’t feel particularly clean. Our pillowcases had a distinctly musty smell to them, and toothpaste stains that we left in the sink on our first day were still there when we checked out three days later.

There are two electrical outlets in the room, both of which are located as far from a mirror as possible. This meant I had to use the camera on my iPad to dry my hair after a shower. No kidding. Our in-room safe also didn’t work, meaning we had to lock our valuables in our suitcases every time we left our room.

Lack of hot water was our biggest issue. We were informed upon check in that since the pipes in the building are quite old, we should leave the water running in the shower for a few minutes before getting in, just to allow the water to heat up. Unfortunately, the water never got above lukewarm, and that’s if we were lucky – on more than one occasion, I had to suffer through a FREEZING shower. I don’t care how old the pipes are – if you’re charging patrons $150CAD/night, they should at least be able to get a warm shower in the morning. Water is fed into the bathroom using a pump located on the back of the toilet that makes horrible loud, grinding noise when it’s running. It truly felt like I was trying to shower in a cabin in the middle of the woods, not a “hotel” in the middle of an urban area.

The free breakfast and WiFi were the only saving graces for The Townhouse. Given the vastly different experiences described by other reviewers, the quality of stay at The Townhouse obviously depends on the room you happen to be assigned. For our part, however, we hated our stay here, and would dread having to go back to cold water and a loud room at the end of each day. I certainly wasn’t expecting the Ritz, but when it comes to hotels, hot water and a good night’s sleep are non-negotiable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Meaghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

San Anselmo, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This townhouse is in the heart of drunken evening noises. The rooms are cramped, cobwebs in the corners, no fresh air without exposing yourself to the dirty alley. The creaky floors made me cringe, the bed was lumpy, the furniture was overly worn and the overall service not that friendly. They asked me for my money upfront, something that has never happened to me in Ireland before.

Room Tip: If you like noise, people hanging around the steps, and hearing the next room toilet, take your chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My friend and I had a great stay in The Townhouse. We both had rooms at the back of the hotel with balconies overlooking the garden. Very pleasant rooms, compact, but with modern fittings and an excellent shower. The staff are a real asset and very informative about the city, tours and transport options. The location is central and the air link bus dropped us just down the road from the hotel. The main shopping areas, the river Liffey, restaurants, bars and local bus services are within easy walking reach. There are a lot of hostels in the area, but we didn't experience any disturbance or noise and guests at the hostel adjoining the hotel were quiet and didn't disturb us at all. Breakfast was good and all the food was freshly cooked although my vegetarian friend would have liked more options. This isn't a faceless corporate hotel but is full of charm and character. We loved it. We cancelled our original booking that we'd made via a website, and rebooked directly with the hotel which meant we didn't have to pay extra for breakfast.

Room Tip: It was very quiet and pleasant at the back of the hotel and as the weather was very good, it was use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 151 in Dublin
612 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
306 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,164 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#103 of 151 in Dublin
174 reviews
Maple Hotel
#132 of 151 in Dublin
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing