We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Townhouse
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Below Average”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Firstly the positive points:
Good central location, Free WIFI, friendly staff – very helpful and gave us a place to store our luggage which was very handy.

Negatives:
Room was fairly clean but quite tired looking and there were stains on the base of the bed. The bathroom had black mould and there was no hot water! The lack of hot water was fixed immediately, however, the shower would turn itself off and you would have to wait for the flow of water to start up again – not what you want to do in a dank bathroom with mould on the walls!

The walls are so paper thin that I could hear someone snoring in another room overnight and I also woke up with some kind of bites on my legs! Adding to this a drafty window meant a very disturbed nights sleep.

This experience left me and my partner ready for a good hearty breakfast... What a disappointment! The food was cold and the hash browns tasted like fish (not at all appetising at the best of times, but a revolting thought for a vegetarian!)

Needless to say we were glad to be staying just the one night and despite the welcoming and friendly nature of the staff we would not stay at The Townhouse again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophicationable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    281
    123
    49
    38
See reviews for
88
209
78
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The full Irish breakfast was very good and kept us going until evening. You can walk to Trinity College, restaurants, shops, and other sites. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and there is a nice lounge area for wifi and reading.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Dublin is my favourite city and the Townhouse is my favourite place to stay when in Dublin! Last week, because it was not a work trip for me, my wife was with me for her first stay in the Townhouse and she loved it too. We had three days seeing the sights of Dublin and the surrounding area and it was great to come back to the Townhouse in the evening to relax and wind down. Thank you to all the team for making us feel so welcome and so much at home.

Room Tip: The mezzanine room we were in was very quiet and comfortable - although the bathroom was in need of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGrosvenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a lovely time in Dublin but we can't say the hotel was amazing.

The rooms are quite clean, but the bathroom is a little bit dirty. And the main problem is the noise !! When we went into the room, I thought the window was open but it wasn't. It is like there were no window ! So bring your earplugs when you'll come.

Otherwise the hostel is nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Once again myself and my partner have stayed at this wonderful Hotel its just fab...been staying here since 1996 its home from home, always feel welcome the staff so kind David and Muriel make you feel so welcome a great location next to the Bus Station; Trains and Tram all the shopping of O'Connell Street and the fun of Temple Bar. The Breakfast is a healthy mix of cereals, fruit and hot Irish Breakfast Irish soda bread and great Coffee, have stayed here on my own and with partner and friends can only speak highly of this great hotel look forward to our next visit
Paul and Maureen

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I've stayed in the Townhouse several times and I would stay here each time I visited Dublin if it was easier to get a booking! It is a great place to stay. Good central location, friendly professional staff, no real noise issues, always clean, well run, and above all an excellent breakfast. I have no hesitation in recommending it highly.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms to the rear face onto a large generator and are quite noisy. Rooms to the front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saoire_Saoirse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Saoire_Saoirse09

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us in The Townhouse Dublin. We very are happy that you enjoy staying with us and continue to return.

We are coming into the busier season and rooms do book out very quickly, however we always try to look after return guests so if you contact us direct we will try our best to accommodate you. I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff.

Thank you for BOOKING DIRECT with us, we really appreciate your business. As you know you get the FREE full Irish breakfast when you book direct, we also guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon in the Townhouse Dublin.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to find this hotel for a 2 night stay prior to joining a tour. The family-owned facility is walking distance to Temple Bar, shopping and restaurants, but far enough away from the late night pub noises. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed, small table and chairs, and a large bathroom. Everything was very clean.

We kept the windows open at night, and occasionally heard conversations, but nothing that kept us from sleeping well.

Breakfast was included in our booking, and was a good buffet style hot meal.

One of our group members participated in a free walking tour that started in the Townhouse lobby. She found it to be an excellent introduction to a great city

We would certainly stay here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinMurielO, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Donna S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us in The Townhouse Dublin.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here in The Townhouse and in Dublin. Yes we are an ideal base from which to explore Dublin, as we are within walking distance to a lot of the main attractions, shopping streets (Henry Street & Grafton Street) and there are many good restaurants located nearby.

Our main focus is providing guests with comfortable, clean rooms that offer the best value for money. Thank you for the lovely comments about our rooms.

There are a number of tours that depart from our property, as you mentioned the FREE walking tour departs each morning from reception and we would highly recommend. Also the Wild Rover Tours depart from directly outside - these are day tours of the Cliffs of Moher or Glendalough or the Giants Causeway and many more. Our reception staff are happy to help with any questions you have and help book the tours.

Thank you for BOOKING DIRECT with us, we really appreciate your business. As you know you get the FREE full Irish breakfast when you book direct, we also guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Townhouse Dublin.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 151 in Dublin
615 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
307 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,165 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#103 of 151 in Dublin
174 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing