We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to any one !!!”
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Great location, atmosphere and set up. Staff are helping and funny. Pint n burger deal rocks :)
Would stay again for sure

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz-traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,113)
There are newer reviews for Isaacs Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,698 - 1,704 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stay there for 6 nights in August 2011 in a single room.
All the staff at the reception was very nice. You get your key card which gives you access to staircase, then it opens your floor door and then you room door – so you are pretty safe. :)
The biggest worry for me, before the trip, was cleanliness and if you worry too – don’t - toilets and showers were clean, there was always paper and soap and cleaning girls did their job. And it isn’t crowded – I think I encounter just 4 girls during the whole stay @Isaac’s".
Room was also clean. I had a room looking to backyard and there were people there up to about 10PM and then it was pretty quite.
You do feel and hear train, people from the next room, but when I was sleeping I couldn’t feel and hear a thing.
I can’t tell you anything about breakfast because I was going out every day before 6 AM.
You can rent for free (just 10€ deposit) UK-Europe power adapter so you don’t need to buy it (8€ in Carrolls) and you can leave your luggage there for 2€ (+10€ deposit).
Internet (1€=20minutes) was toooo slow but you have Internet café (1€=1hour) just 1 minute from hostel so that was not a problem.
At the reception (and on-line) you can buy Airlink tickets to and from the airport for 4€ (normally 6€). (There is a bus 16A which goes to and from the airport for just 2,30€ but it doesn’t operate so early and so late as Airlink.)
Bus station is 2 minutes from hostel, Grafton street 15 minutes, The Spire 7 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suncemojemalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here two nights, each night was very loud. Nice rooms, clean, secure, pub in the hostel. Right beside the bus station, good location. Had trouble understanding some of the men behind the counter as their english was not wonderful. Offer a discount for the bus to the airport

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssims2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The breakfast was the best breakfast I've had so far at a hostel, not much of a variety (toast, butter, different kinds of jam, cornflakes, milk, coffee, orange juice) but very clean and organized.
Good and cheap beer (and weekly burger specials)available in the beer garden.
Rooms and facilities were looked after although one only gets knifes and other utensils at the frontdesk in exchange for a piece of ID.
Nice frontdesk staff but I can't say that about cleanning staff. Very rude and don't get in their way they give the nastiest looks.
Internet is only available in the common room.
If you book i advance you can get a 4 pound deal instead of paying 6 pounds for the airport shuttle.
All in all one of the best hostel experiences.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's not facing the train tracks. Train runs from 8am-12am and gets really noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muddastadtbewohnerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I spend one night here, because my flight from Dublin was leaving the next morning and I didn't want to spend a fortune.

To put it shortly: It was a horrible night.

Why? Because there is a railway bridge right in front of the poorly isolated windows.

The rest of the hostel was quite ok. The rooms are well-sized, even with 8 beds inside, and the shower on the corridor was clean. Free Wifi is available in all rooms.

The location, besides the railway tracks, is superb. It's only 500 metres to O'Connell Street, Dublin's 'boulevard'. The bus to the airport stops on the opposite of the hotel and the central bus station is 5 minutes by foot.

I didn't eat in the hostel's cafe but from what I've seen, the prices are reasonable.

All in all, for a stopover it's ok, but be sure you get a room without a railtrack view.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had a splitted stay in Dublin, the first nights we stayed in Isaac Hostel, then travelled around Kerry/Galway and came back to Dublin - 1 night stay in a Hotel. We liked the look of Isaac Hostel very much, also the possibility to smoke outside in their courtyard, breakfast was okay - but in our own opinion we prefer staying in a Hotel, because the price for a double room is nearly as high as for a cheap hotel. We had a room next to the railway lines, so open the window was not the best to do, but the room was realy warm. One day a fire alarm kicked us out of bed, but it was just a problem with the sauna. All in all - it was okay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdeisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

the staff were nice and helpful and the rooms were clean.the wifi was terrible.they turned off the lights in the main area at 11pm and if you wanted to try to go online you had to go down stairs to a basement.the shower was either cold or skin melting hot,you couldn't adjust it for yourself.the breakfast area was very badly organised,you could end up waiting 10 to 15 minutes to geta slice of toast and if you wanted to store food in the kitchen forget about it as the fridge was full of water and other peoples food that was dripping liquids onto your food

Room Tip: go to abigails next to o connell bridge
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corkmosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,388 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 119 in Dublin
2,125 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 119 in Dublin
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £18 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing