We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Similar to a college dorm”
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Good for college students. This is really a place for young backpackers as it has a college dorm atmosphere. It's quite loud (music blares in the lobby and sounds travel through the halls) and lively. Having to use your key card for several doors is a bit of an inconvenience along with the push taps in the bathrooms and showers. I would opt for a hostel closer to the Temple Bar area if you plan to do most of your sightseeing in the city as many attractions are south of the River Liffey. A convenient location for those needing to take buses and trains elsewhere. Located on a rather dingy and less frequented driveway-like street which might be intimidating for travelers walking alone to the hostel at night. Our room was fine, but the smell of musty upholstery permeated the air.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here for three nights this week in a twin room. Bathrooms were fairly clean, bedrooms very clean, plenty of hot water and very friendly and helpful staff. Location was also good - right next to excellent public transport links and a short walk from everything we wanted to do.

The only negatives were that the beds are very uncomfortable (but I guess you expect that in a hostel!) and the first night there was a lot of noise as the doors are very heavy and there were a lot of people going backwards and forwards so I didn't sleep but that was easily sorted as they provide earplugs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1987RoseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thanks a million for your positive feedback. Always great to hear it. So sorry if you did n't find your bed comfortable - we really do want our guests to sleep well! We have had some great compliments about the mattresses so unfortunately it is sometimes a matter of taste as to whether you prefer a softer or harder mattress. However we are in process of replacing some mattresses at the moment and if you are back do let us know in advance and we will ensure you get a quieter room. As you say we do provide ear plugs for lighter sleepers who might be disturbed by our later hostellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at Isaac's in mid May and while there are some positive aspects, I think it would be fair to say that overall we were a bit disappointed.

Negatives first, we found that the hostel was simply too noisy. I can't fault the staff for the guests, obviously a hostel in the middle of Dublin on a weekend is going to be full of people there for the party, but the hostel itself is just loud. Old floors creaking and echoing with every step (no carpeting on our floor at least), and doors that are impossible to close quietly meant no matter how hard people tried, it was always loud. Plus our room was right below some elevated train tracks. The showers were out of hot water by 9:00 AM, so every morning we took cold showers. Storage space in our room was very limited, so everyone's stuff mostly just lay around on the floor. Also, Wifi worked fine, but actually getting connected could be a challenge.

I can't speak for the kitchen facilities, since the whole reason we stay in hostels is so we can save on accommodation and splurge on food (must have priorities in order). But breakfast was standard toast, cereal, juice. Perfectly adequate for getting a little something to start your day.

Positives were that the hostel was clean, the staff were friendly, the beds were comfortable and the location is terrific. You can walk pretty much anywhere in the city centre easily, and it's extremely close to the train and bus stations. The common rooms in the basement are really nice and atmospheric (they're converted wine cellars).

Overall, if you're just staying a night or two, and preferably on a weekday, you could do a lot worse, but bring earplugs on a weekend, and I wouldn't recommend for longer stays.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lucie-and-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thanks a million for your feedback which is very useful.
With regard to floors : We are currently addressing the creaky floors. In response to customer preferences we changed our flooring some time ago from carpeting to wooden floors as a cleaner ,fresher option the negative of course is that they are a bit nosier than carpet. We are now looking into ways of reducing the noise without compromising on hygiene. Yes you are correct about the doors too, they had been creaky which was duly sorted but are now more difficult to closed so we are also addressing this.
Re your comments re showers - there was a short period when were installing new boilers to address hot water issues and we are pleased to say this is now resolved.
Re Wi-Fi we now have a superfast broadband connection to replace the previous weak connection we are also in the process of making this available throughout the hostel including bedrooms
Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you back to test out our changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here from 27th April to the 26th of May. Staying there for so long meant that me and my friend were able to really get a feel of the customer service of the hostel and how it was run.
I will start with the good points - the reception staff are generally very friendly and helpful. Especially as we were there for a while we built up good relationships with a few. However I would say there is probably too many members of staff at reception, often you would ask someone something and miss communication would arise and it would be another receptionist for the next week. The building is generally clean and tidy and you often see cleaners cleaning most of the day. Also I left my ipod there when travelling home and they have managed to post it to England for me.
However, after about a week there was no hot water, the boiler had broken. Staff had put no signs up in the showers to pre warn, so we jumped in and of course it was freezing.
A day later, we arrived back one evening after being out to find that they had closed the Kitchen for the next week - this was due to fixing the boiler in there. They explained that we couldn't cook now for the next week even though we had bought food and paid for the kitchen facility. They did say that we could use the kitchen in Jacobs - there sister hostel however. I was especially not pleased with the fact that they locked the dining room (where breakfast was served) where drinking water (!) was, plates and cutlery and the microwave which supposedly we could use. We had to specifically ask for reception to unlock the room just for the use of a microwave or to get a knife! So for a week, we coped with eating sandwiches and eating out (£!) after a week we thought it would be fixed however a week later we read the sign on the kitchen door which had been changed to "being until further notice". So no hot water or a kitchen. Bearing in mind we had paid for both of these facilities!
After complaining to the staff all they said was that the kitchen facility was there however you just had to walk to the other hostel (which quite frankly after the money we paid wasn't fair). So for most of 3 weeks - we had no kitchen and hot water for probably 2 and a half.
The rooms were clean and fine, probably could do with more ventilation and storage space. We had a private twin room. At night, especially weekends were very noisy. Slamming doors and shouting almost constantly. Also our food was often stolen by other residents... milk here and there and bread mostly. However one day we returned for a day out to find that our food basket had dissapeared from the breakfast room. We asked reception where it had gone and turned out that the cleaners had thrown our food away even though we had clearly marked all the items with our departure date! Luckily the reception took care of this well and gave us money to get new items.
Overall we didn't have a very good experience with this hostel. Good aspects was the cleanliness, reception staff (particularly Kevin and Justin) and the fact that they could book and organise buses and ireland tours for us. However, cleaners, noise and the kitchen fiasco meant that our time at isaacs wasn't the best and we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: request first floor private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauren19923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed in Isaacs, a really well-located hostel in Dublin, for two nights.

Started not in a positive way, I should say. Although it is not weird that you cannot check out before 2pm (lots of places do the same), I just cannot understand why they do that when they have everything ready for you to go in. I got there at midday and was really feeling unwell after some hours in the bus. I waited the next 2 hours laid down in a couch and when I finally had permission to go to the bedroom, I was told that if I had mentioned that I was not ok, they would have let me go to my bed. I am not really complaining, it was a misunderstanding, but if there is no need to keep the bedroom closed before 2pm, why do you need to do so?

I read people here complaining about the showers/toilets, which were ok in my case. Staff was fine and I should mention one of the guys in the night shift. Really nice person.

Kitchen was not working, but they had a reason for that and they allowed guests to use another one in their sister-hotel (whose name I dont remember now, but it is nearby). Breakfast is not the best of the world, but it is free and will keep you alive.

Bedroom was not bad and was going to get a positive view from me. BUT there is a train coming and going just in front of your window up to midnight or 1am. If you go to bed early it IS a problem, believe me.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom far away from the train line. They do have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NastjaKranjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

excellent hostel down a little lane, so nice and quiet.
Staff very helpful. Lots of tourist information in the reception area which is always handy.
Great Wifi
Only negative where that the showers were often cold and had those push buttons which only last 10 seconds or so.
The other negative was that breakfast was often too cramped to sit down at a table and eat and that there were so many people trying to get to the food it became impossible to eat.
Other than that though great hostel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hstewart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We recently stayed at Isaac's over St Patrick's Day weekend. As you would expect the hostel was full and very busy. Despite this the staff were always pleasant and helpful and more than happy to assist us with any questions we had. The room was basic but clean and tidy with comfortable bedding provided. We had a room right next to the railway tracks but this did not bother us at all.
The lounge was great; very useful maps, guides, internet access and friendly atmosphere. We also had access to a safe (very small fee was required) for the duration of our stay which was a great help what with phones, cameras etc. Another good aspect was that you were free to use the sister hostel's facilities (Jacob's just a little further along the road) and this may be of use to those travelling alone as they offered a movie night and other such activities.
The location of Isaac's is particularly good as it is very central. Most tourist attractions are within walking distance and as stated previously the staff are more than happy to direct you.
Having never stayed in a hostel before we enquired about a private room and while we were told that the hostel was too full to offer one to us they were available at a higher rate per night.
Overall, we were very impressed with the standards at Isaac's and would recommend it highly. You cannot beat the value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#68 of 150 in Dublin
1,405 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 122 in Dublin
2,177 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 122 in Dublin
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £10 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing