We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!”
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed in a private room with 6 friends. The beds were small but perfectly fine for our three nights in Dublin. Our room felt clean, but had only one, small window and was really warm! It was hard to sleep in the heat. I didn't find it to loud at night though, and the bathrooms were clean. It was a great location and we walked all over the place. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks so much for your great feedback - Unexpected heatwave has caused a few issues with heat but a few extra fans seemed to have helped cool us down. Look forward to you returning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
There are newer reviews for Isaacs Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

The people at the desk and everyone I ran into inside the hostel were nice. The room was very warm with a subway or train running all night 10 ft (3m) from the window. Outside people were peeing in the street and others yelling all night. On the positive side; I slept through most of it. Other rooms face away from the train. There is good food near by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street where you enter.
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Only stayed the one night, so didn't make full use of the facilities. Decor standard is great compared to some hostels and beds were comfy. The whole place was sweltering, though we're not really used to 25 degree heat this side of Europe! Location is good and even with the window wide open, we had no problem with noise. They could do with more wash sinks however as there was a queue for the ladies in the morning and only 2 sinks to use for both teeth brushing and toilet hand washing. Also the gent on the desk was a little rude on the first night, though Irish gent there in the morning was much more friendly.

Room Tip: Ours faced onto an inside courtyard (potentially a beer garden) and we didn't have any bother wi...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grooveyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks for your really help feedback. Just to note we do have some additional bathrooms if ever you back again when things are very busy - just ask the guys at reception. The heatwave has continued but we have got some more fans now to cool things down,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Worst hostel experience in my life... and I have stayed at probably a hundred hostels... loud, hot, flooded toilets in the morning, vomit in the bathroom, extra person in the dorm sleeping on the floor, and the management didn't even respond when I addressed the issue...

Please go elsewhere for your own sake!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dug1380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

I am so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience during your stay at Isaccs .This is highly unusual . Would you be so good as to send your email address to me events@ isaccs.ie so we can respond personally to you ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great location in terms of Dublin city centre. Easy walking distance from everything. Bus location is quite literally opposite so great for transport to and from airport (return bus fare was 10 euro I think).

Can hang out near the reception where there was always fellow customers hanging out, or in the common room. Have safe and secure, and very large lockers which you can rent for 2 euro with a 10 euro deposit. Handy if your flight is later in the day and you have to check out at 11am.

The actual bedrooms. Clean and basic. Quite hot, we always had the windows open. Shared communal bathroom was opposite our bedroom so was handy. You can also rent a towel for the duration of your stay for 2 euro, very handy if your suitcase if tight! Bedding is provided and was clean. The ONLY problem we had was that our bedroom was opposite the train line, which meant at 8 in the morning and after a few drinks the night before, became 'annoying'. But for the price we payed, £28 for 2 nights, and as 3 22 year old guys from London, we didnt mind.

Room Tip: A room which isnt near the train track
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyKeogh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thanks fo taking the time to review Isaacs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Isaacs staff was the greatest. Stayed in a 8 bed dorm which didnt have alot of space in and it was boiling hot in there. Tho thats the only minus, otherwise it was a great n clean place, free toast breakfast n good kitchen.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks so much for your nice review. We don't get much hot weather in Dublin so it comes as a bit of a shock to us!! Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Had a great time at isaacs, stayed for 2 nights and is a perfect location right next to the bus stop for the airport shuttle and within walking distance of the city centre.
The hostel itself is great value for money, clean and comfortable. The locker facilities are excellent and i definitely felt safe and secure as all rooms and floors have key cards. The staff were incredibly accommodating willing to help out wherever possible and even let us stay and sleep on the sofas all day when we were too hungover to check out properly.
The two guys behind the desk are basically a standup comedy act and you definitely get a warm Irish welcome whenever you come and go. One of the best hostels we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thanks so much for your great review. We are committed to making the hostel better and better and I'm so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. - Do come again. We guarantee the comedy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,392 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 120 in Dublin
2,130 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 120 in Dublin
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £16 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing