We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a hostel.”
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok for a hostel.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at Isaacs for 2 nights.
The best thing about this hostel is the newly refurbished bathrooms.
Now the bad... On both nights I had people checking in the middle of the night (I was staying in an 8 bed female dorm) the second night people checked in at 3:30am!!!
Otherwise the location was good and the hostel was clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for your review. So sorry your room mates disturbed you with their late arrivals. It is a downside to sleeping in shared accommodation unfortunately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    827
    344
    125
    82
See reviews for
101
286
601
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stopped here for 3 nights for a Stag Party - there were 14 of us - standard rooms, but clean and tidy - rooms were hot and the train track were annoying - but most of us were that drunk we dropped off straight away. Ironing facilities were a god send and the location was brilliant - Nice Cafe at the end of the road and not to far from the nightlife - no trouble and no noise and cheap as chips! Would stop here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covlad1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for your positive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have been travelling around europe for 6 weeks staying in hostels along the way. This place is the best hostel by far with great kitchen, common room and bathroom facilities and helpful, friendly staff. We originally stayed for three nights in a private room but came back for 1 more night and stayed in a 6 dorm room. Have stayed at 10 other hostels since and this is by far the best.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danecca
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks for your great review - we love customers like you. Please do come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here! The rooms were great, we stayed for 2 nights so the only disadvantage was hauling our luggage from the basement up to oir room.. Lockers would have been handy! The atmosphere in this hostwl was amazing and the staff were great! The hostel is a 2 minute walk from O'Connell street so its perfect for shoppin.. Would definitely stay again, thanks for a great stay:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaConnolly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your great review - we agree that lockers in the room would be good but there just isn't enough space for them. Sorry - but we are delighted you loved the hostel - we love it too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brezice, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I only stayed overnight, but I would happily have stayed longer. As you enter it has a great feel about it, people of all ages chilling out in the large lobby.The staff were very friendly and helpful.For my evening entertainment I popped down the road to O'SHEAS Hotel for some traditional Irish music.Great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again - we love guests like you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Nice price, decent location and good security (at least it looked like it). Once checked in they give you a key card that gives you access first to the stairs and then, after a second door, to the floors. A third card swipe is necessary to enter the rooms. I felt pretty safe here, I also left my bag when I went one entire day to Galway. The whole building could use a better aeration, during the night the rooms gets pretty hot, I have to admit. I also have to comment that showers could be little more accessorized, just a couple of more hangers would do the trick. Beside this, nothing to complain about: nice staff, nice location, nice price. Internet worked fine in the main hall, even thou was not very usable from my room.

Room Tip: Internet in room 119 does not reach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The Wifi actually doesn't extend to the bedrooms - we want people to start talking to each other again - that's what hostel life is all about - meeting people not sticking your head into a computer!! Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

So much fun in this hostel! The staff were incredibly helpful and nice, the rooms clean and the toilets fairly so too. I recommend it to any young person who doesn't mind a bit of noise and likes meeting people from all around the world.

Also, whoever is at the reception choosing the music to play in the lobby is a genius!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We do try our best. Do come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 118 in Dublin
2,083 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 118 in Dublin
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Property: Isaacs Hostel
Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing