We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Isaacs hostel for two nights, and it was a great place. Sweet and helpful staff, good location and really backpacker-friendly. The hostel also had alot of good activities available. I'll go back for sure!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks so much for your great review - do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    720
    300
    111
    70
See reviews for
79
254
515
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

PROS. Very close to LUAS stop and the bus station, short walk to DART station, so the location may be perfect for those who commute or leave the city early in the morning. A minute away at Talbot street there are different shops where you can buy food/drinks. Reception is 24/7 and I noticed that there always were staff members. Kitchen looked OK (though I didn't use it). My dorm was of average size (not so small as in some hostels) and there were useful bars/holders for clothes to dry. Showers were nothing special but rather clean and there were no lines in the morning. Wi-fi worked OK. The basement was really nice to have a rest and use your laptop or read books, something like a library. Staff was friendly and informative. Breakfast was basic but good and enough for me. Tea/coffee are free of charge when the kitchen is open.

CONS. It's a large and youth hostel so it was noisy. Additional source of noise was DART railway right outside my window. I didn't like non-stop and loud music in the lobby. The kitchen is closed regularly for cleaning, and it wasn't good that it was closed after 11pm. Refrigerators were full of not-so-fresh food and dirty; this is probably common for a youth hostel but additional cleaning is necessary. Power outlets in my dorm were at the other wall then beds so it was a bit risky to leave any device to charge (always afraid that someone could step on it). Wi-Fi works only in the lobby and in the basement.

Will stop there again in case some other hostels aren't available.

Room Tip: Choose room not with windows facing the railway if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 75300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. You were very honest with your comments and we are glad you enjoyed much of the hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at Isaacs for 2 nights.
The best thing about this hostel is the newly refurbished bathrooms.
Now the bad... On both nights I had people checking in the middle of the night (I was staying in an 8 bed female dorm) the second night people checked in at 3:30am!!!
Otherwise the location was good and the hostel was clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for your review. So sorry your room mates disturbed you with their late arrivals. It is a downside to sleeping in shared accommodation unfortunately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stopped here for 3 nights for a Stag Party - there were 14 of us - standard rooms, but clean and tidy - rooms were hot and the train track were annoying - but most of us were that drunk we dropped off straight away. Ironing facilities were a god send and the location was brilliant - Nice Cafe at the end of the road and not to far from the nightlife - no trouble and no noise and cheap as chips! Would stop here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank covlad1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for your positive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have been travelling around europe for 6 weeks staying in hostels along the way. This place is the best hostel by far with great kitchen, common room and bathroom facilities and helpful, friendly staff. We originally stayed for three nights in a private room but came back for 1 more night and stayed in a 6 dorm room. Have stayed at 10 other hostels since and this is by far the best.

Helpful?
Thank Danecca
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thanks for your great review - we love customers like you. Please do come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here! The rooms were great, we stayed for 2 nights so the only disadvantage was hauling our luggage from the basement up to oir room.. Lockers would have been handy! The atmosphere in this hostwl was amazing and the staff were great! The hostel is a 2 minute walk from O'Connell street so its perfect for shoppin.. Would definitely stay again, thanks for a great stay:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaConnolly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your great review - we agree that lockers in the room would be good but there just isn't enough space for them. Sorry - but we are delighted you loved the hostel - we love it too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brezice, Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I only stayed overnight, but I would happily have stayed longer. As you enter it has a great feel about it, people of all ages chilling out in the large lobby.The staff were very friendly and helpful.For my evening entertainment I popped down the road to O'SHEAS Hotel for some traditional Irish music.Great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Owner at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again - we love guests like you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,268 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Property: Isaacs Hostel
Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing