We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but a bit chaotic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok but a bit chaotic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

If you just want a hostel then you get what you pay for staying in dormitories. The wifi is only available in the common room and is overwhelmed when more than a few people there. The free walking tour of Dublin was poorly organised despite repeated checks at the desk and arriving early. It seems because I was the only person wanting to go nothing happened. The impression was it started at Isaac's when in fact the real meeting place was 15 minutes away. I was eventually directed to the right place but too late to get there. Ironically i had been near the real start place earlier I'm the morning!
Breakfast was well organised and adequate and the place was kept clean.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your response. Sorry about the Free Walking tour - we do normally have a pick up from the hostel every day and the feedback we get from guests is that it is a great free tour but unfortunately the pick up didn't work out on the day of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    754
    309
    115
    72
See reviews for
85
261
540
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The hostel was great, staff was great, and the location was perfect! Only issues were that the hostel is literally right next to the train, which is extremely loud all the time. the showers had a 6 second timer, so every 6 seconds you had to press it again, not that wasn't a but deal. Overall a great place and a killer price. Would recommend again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for your recommendation. For next time we do have quieter rooms to rear away from train if you are a light sleeper plus ear plugs available. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm with no issues. The atmosphere is fun and they serve a small free breakfast which isn't mentioned in their accommodations which I was pleasantly surprised to discover. Downsides are that the wifi only works in the common areas and there are no lockers in the rooms. However, their lounge is nice and there are other amenities like a laundry room, reading area, tv room, pool and ping pong tables. Also there is a free daily walking your that picks up at the hostel. Pretty average hostel, but the stay has been pleasant

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliehigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Many thanks for your Review and useful comments for other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Isaacs Hostel is a great hostel. The location and the atmosphere are very good, it´s near to the City Center... the staff there is very friendly and helpful. and the people are awesome.. they offer free walking tours and a backpacker pub crawl every day. The rooms and the bathrooms are clean. Wifi is only available at the common areas, and there is computer to use for free.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaZeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Great feedback we really appreciate it .Thanks a million !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Isaacs has a great atmosphere. The common room and kitchen are always full of friendly people having a good time. That being said, there is virtually no security that can't be bypassed. Despite knowing everyone in my room and locking the door (we double checked before leaving), the room was broken into and valuables were stolen. When we informed the staff, they appeared disinterested and proved to be very unhelpful. I'm sorry to say I will not be recommending this hostel to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us Our response relates to the incident commented upon by one of your room mates in an earlier review . We have as you know since been in touch with your group directly and there is an ongoing investigation with the garda from which we are awaiting further information. We are so sorry about the theft during your stay which is understandably very upsetting. We do take security very seriously with secure key card access to all areas and bedrooms with CCTV. We do recommend use of secure lockers and safes for storage of valuables of our guests. We are particularly disappointed that you felt our staff were not helpful with the incident; which of course should not be the case .We have discussed this with all relevant personnel to ensure it does not happen again, We will be in touch again directly with further updates and again our apologies for the distress this has caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was the hostel that I stayed when I came to Ireland, so I was with a huge bag. I felt happy to see that it was located less than I block away from the bus station. The location is also very near to the city center. The atmosphere of it was great, the staff was helpful, the common areas were really nice. My only complain is that the wifi was only available on the common areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarissaBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many many thanks for your great response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

THINGS STOLEN FROM A LOCKED ROOM. my friends and I shared an 8 person room and when we came back after being out all day someone had robbed us. People lost expensive headphones, a lot of cash, a nice hiking backpack, clothes, and a laptop. When you know everyone in your room and you lock your door there is no reason that you should be worried. We don't know if it was someone who works at the hostel or someone who was staying there or even a random person off the street. Security is way too lax at this hostel. People can easily walk in unnoticed and your key card gives you access to every floor of the hostel. Would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank europeantrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We have as you know since been in touch with you directly and there is an ongoing investigation with the garda from which we are awaiting further information. We are so sorry about the theft during your stay which is understandably very upsetting. We do take security very seriously with secure key card access to all areas and bedrooms with CCTV. We do recommend use of secure lockers and safes for storage of valuables of our guests. We are particularly disappointed that you felt our staff were not helpful with the incident; which of course should not be the case .We have discussed this with all relevant personnel to ensure it does not happen again, We will be in touch again directly with further updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 106 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Property: Isaacs Hostel
Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing