We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostel-iscious !!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hostel-iscious !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed in about 15 different hostels across Europe and Isaacs was the best one I have experienced. The atmosphere was amazing.. the staff was always smiling and helpful (especially Andy). The rooms were set up to sleep... which is precisely what you do at a hostel. There is a sauna, fully-functional kitchen, laundry, wifi, and free breakfast. The breakfast was a little weak but let's face it... most of us are hungover and probably don't need more than cereal and toast with LOTS of coffee ! Well played Isaacs.. well played. Bottom line... if you want a great hostel experience where you can meet loads of amazing people from around the world in one lobby... GO ISAACS !!!

Room Tip: Isaacs is a three floor hostel so there are a lot of stairs... if you don't want to walk a bunch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Wow - we love reviews like yours - do come again. PS We pay Andy to smile!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    720
    300
    110
    70
See reviews for
79
254
515
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boxmeer, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was in Dublin only for a weekend and I had an amazing time. The hostel was less, cleaned of the room early and the breakfast was minimal. Not to mention that for those three days it was one of the most expensive of the hostels in Dublin.
I was with my son (18) . So annoying when you so early is awakened by cleaning lady and guests, houte floor creaked very

Room Tip: most expensive of the hostels in Dublin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 450Herman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for your review. Sorry you didn't appear to enjoy your stay - I wonder what room type you booked - for multi-bed room we are actually the cheapest in Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Helpfull staff, great location, supermarket stays until 12, Breakfast included ! I would definetely recommend it! big space to store luggage with deposit that you take back afterwords! 30 seconds from the airport bus stop

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you like not being able to sleep and sweating the whole night even when it's 10 degrees outside with the window open then this is the place for you. Crappy facilities - you have to pay for pool even though the table is broken and it's in a room too small to take a proper shot. Overall a bad hostel, wish we had stayed at our other hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for your review. So sorry it was too warm - we do have fans in the hostel to keep our guests cool but probably in the middle of the night you didn't know to ask for them. That's such a pity - one needs a good night sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Whenever I'm travelling through Dublin, I try to stay at Isaac's Hostel. It's perfectly situated for transport links and all city activities. Staff are friendly and helpful and it makes a great base. The entrance area is very open and sociable. I find the kitchen a real challenge at busy times, I must admit. Very glad the hostel is there and hope it continues to be a popular and welcoming place for travellers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank déirdre n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the kitchen - we are limited for space in the kitchen and try and maximize the space we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in an all female dorm while in Dublin with friends. The staff was very friendly and we lucked out with good roommates. Did not have any issues with anyone taking any of our stuff (kept our locked bags in the room while we were gone during the day). Morning breakfast is not much but decent (coffee, juice, hard boiled eggs, toast, etc). The floors are very creaky though so sometimes is rather noisy if people are walking around the room or out in the hallways late/early.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4theluvofwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for your lovely review - glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

So a group of 21-22 year old girls decided to fly over to celebrate a birthday and isaacs seemed like our cheapest option so we didn't expect much after staying in cheap hostels before. It was amazing for money though, everything was lovely and clean, modern bathrooms, free continental breakfast, wifi and much more.
The location was fab too only a 5 minute walk from the spire and the city centre. I saw lots of reviews before I went from
Worried people regarding how close the train line is but after being there nearly 2 days we realised our room was right outside it and we actually only picked up on the noise once and was never woken!
Would definately recommend this hostel to anyone and will 100% be staying at isaacs next time we return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaW93x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks so much for your great review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay - we love reviews like yours!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Property: Isaacs Hostel
Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing