We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of Isaacs Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isaacs Hostel
Ranked #6 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Four of us (all girls) stayed for a night in Dublin for a gig and it was fantastic - good location close to lots of bars/restaurants and we were given really helpful directions by the staff and the common area was clean and lively we met really interesting people and had a good laugh which is everything that you want in a hostel. The beds were clean and comfortable and our room was a six bed female dorm and the four of us were the only occupants that night so it was more like a quad! The bathrooms were spacious and modern and the showers had great water pressure (important whilst travelling with thick long hair, which all four of us have) There were ample mirrors for us all to get ready and it was relatively quiet when we finally settled down to sleep! Will definitely pop back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slythergriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thanks so much for your great review - glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    792
    330
    119
    75
See reviews for
89
270
572
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at the hostel for 2 nights with friends. The staff was really nice and helpfull. Room was fine and the location is good as well. Would recommend this hostel for sure :) Everything is secured, and strangers aren't allowed, so safety is really good! The craic is Mighty over here !

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Niek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
We love reviews like yours - thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at Isaacs (five girls) and found it to be a really positive experience. It's located quite close to Temple bar, etc (although they advise you not to go there)! The hostel is clean and there are really good facilities, i.e. communal kitchen, sauna, showers and they offer a free, light breakfast in the morning if you get up in time!
Above all else the staff are extremely friendly and good fun, I would definitely stay there again even though we got told off for making too much noise when we came back at 1am. :)

Room Tip: there was five of us and the only room left was a mixed sex dorm for six people so we paid for six t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thanks so much - delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many hostels as this is my third trip to Europe and this hostel just isn't value for money. Staff are rude and unhelpful. Kitchen dirty. Breakfast is very basic. They claim to have wifi however it doesn't work and is only available downstairs. Overpriced for what it is. They make money off selling tours also, just do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rzar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay - we do clean our hostel daily to a high standard and this is the first comment we have received in a long time about unfriendly staff - we pride ourselves on having really warm, helpful and friendly staff. It is a pity you didn't come to the manager to discuss your issues and we could have worked at making your stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for five nights with my friend. We ended up doing a 6 bedroom mix room since it was the most reasonably priced. I wish we had known there was no elevator because we had pretty heavy bags and would've asked for a room on the first or second floor. Instead we got the third. We were a little nervous to stay here since we read a review that said the room only had one window that opened. We thought that must've been a freak thing and couldn't be standard. Well we were wrong. There was only one window in our room as well and it got hot since it was on the third floor right across from the bathrooms. They say they have fans for rent but when we asked there were non available.

A plus was that the staff at the front was very helpful. They helped us get on a bus tour for us to go see the Cliffs of Moher and arranged for a cab to pick us up the morning we left to go to the airport. It seemed as though a lot of people in the hostel hung out in the common area by the front desk because it was always filled with people. This may also be due to the fact that your wifi only works there or the downstairs reading/game area. Which was highly annoying since I could only contact my family and friends through wifi.

I would recommend staying here because it is a good price for what you get however, try and listen to my room choice tips.

Room Tip: If you have a ton of luggage ask for the first or second floor since there is no elevator. Also, mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thanks for your very positive response. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at Isaacs Hostel. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The hostel is clean and well located: tram station just atound the corner and the center( temple bar, grafton street) is reached within a 10 minutes walk and there is another pedestrian area with shops even closer!
I didnt use the free sauna but i think its a nice offer! Also breakfast is included which is great! Specially for the prize they offer a lot of extras! Where they could improve is maybe the kitchen equipment, knives not sharp and the pans take forever to take the heat.... Well it is not to bad and u still get ur dinner cooked all in all a nice place to stay where i definetly will stay again (soon).

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank it_is_PASSiON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thanks for your good review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Myself and a group of friends stayed here for one night. The staff and the other guests were very pleasant, we met some great people. The rooms are pretty basic and they were all we needed, one downside was there was no mirror in the room and as a female group this wasn't good. The whole place was very very hot and we were sweating by doing nothing! (Lovely!!) The toilet/shower area was like a sauna, at one stage I thought I was going to pass out due to the heat. Overall though we had a good experience. I would recommend this hostel and would contemplate staying again. (Please excuse any spelling mistakes my iPad seems to have a mind of its own!!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiamhBro, Public Relations Manager at Isaacs Hostel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thanks for posting your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay- I take on board you comments about a mirror and I will address this at our next management meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,323 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 111 in Dublin
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#8 of 111 in Dublin
1,003 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#9 of 111 in Dublin
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaacs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaacs Hostel

Property: Isaacs Hostel
Address: 2 - 5 Frenchman's Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isaacs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original and most famous backpacker hostels in Dublin, Isaacs Hostel has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and is a quirky, fun, full of character in a 19th century converted wine store. City centre location close to central Bus Station,Dart Station,Connolly station and Luas tram Tram. Great modern amenities with large guest kitchen with plenty of plates, cutlery & storage space. Onsite laundry, Sauna, Dorms and private rooms, Library, basement common rooms, Attractions such as Temple Bar,O'Connell Street, 3 Arena, Croke Park,Jameson Distillery, Trinity College,Jeannie Johnson Famine Ship are all close by. FREE STUFF includes;Free Light Breakfast,Free Tea and coffee and filtered water, FREE Bed linen,FREE Wifi,FREE Sauna,FREE Walking tour of Dublin every day,FREE Board games,FREE Pizza night, FREE games of Table Tennis, FREE use of Guitars, Discounted tickets, Airport bus Plus FREE Smiles, Hugs and Craic (within reason !)Information, tall tales and Irish wit!** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Isaacs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing