We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the hot water?”
Review of Kinlay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kinlay House
Ranked #16 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
1 review
“Where is the hot water?”
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The room and people here are good and a very friendly atmosphere is present, the rooms are clean and warm along with the common rooms.
HOWEVER There was NO hot water we stayed in a 6 bed ensuite room so we had the private shower. The water pressure was also pathetic, not enough to fill the resivoir in the toilet so u can flush it more then twice in an hour. (not to handy when u have six people trying to use it!!!!) complete let down!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwhite_lightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
We are terribly sorry about the water issue when you stayed here. There was an issue in April when the council shut off the water supply for several hours and this disrupted our system and created havoc with the plumbing for a few days. We worked on it continuously and eventually cleared the system of airlocks but thie did lead to low water pressure and hot water issues for several guests. I apologise as you must have been one of them. If you are ever coming back to Dublin please let us make it up to you by offering you a discount stay. I hope you can understand that this was beyond our control and was not a normal occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    323
    169
    68
    50
See reviews for
43
150
184
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

To me, Kinlay House is one of the best hostels in Dublin!!! Perfectly located (Temple Bar), the place is welcoming, CLEAN (!!!) and full of surprises (pool, ping pong table, DVDs...). Plus, the staff is soooo friendly and helpful: it is definitely THE place to stay!! It is especially a great place for the long termers like me: I really don't want to leave this hostel, no way to look for an apartment here!!! :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thanks for your great review. It's always good to hear from guests who enjoyed the hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This place doesn't have an elevator, so pack light because you'll have to lug your belongings up a few staircases. The rooms are not super cozy, but they're clean enough for you to rest easily. We had our own private bathroom which was great, the place wasn't too loud and I didn't see any bugs during my entire stay (always hope for this during every hostel stay). Kinlay house also has a community kitchen if you want to cook and a computer/ game/ movie room where you can meet other travelers. I'd recommend this to all of the world traveler's who are just looking for a decent and cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank operationwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thanks for the review. We've added lots more to the hostel since you were here so make sure to come back and check us out again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Very nice staff, laid back and friendly atmoshpere. Perfect location for the bars on temple bar and the tourist attractions. Really good price and loved having a kitchen to use! Nice, basic room!!
:D
weyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelic079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thanks for the feedback - delighted you liked us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Met a lot of great people while staying here. The people who work here are really friendly and helpful. The rooms were nothing spectacular - the ensuite bathroom did leave something to be desired, but then again this is not a four-star hotel. The beds were comfortable (I would recommend doubling up on pillows or bringing your own) and the room warm. The TV room is awesome and your stay will include a continental breakfast, which in Ireland means toast with butter or jam, sometimes cereal, tea and coffee. The location of this hostel is really great. We found it to be a central point for everything we did while there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thanks for your great review. We love hearing good reviews about the hostel (as well as the bad) - look forward to seeing you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Kinlay House is located close to Temple Bar, near the center of Dublin and the main sights, in an unbeatable location. No need to take the bus to see the city, everything is close to the hostel.

We had reserved a room for 16 people, but we got a room for 5 people, a lovely attic bedroom, spacious, clean and cozy. The best thing is that we didn't have to pay the price difference. I think we were lucky because our room is one of the best in the hostel!

The bathrooms and common areas were fine but usually crowded, so if you travel to Dublin alone, you can meet people and make friends. The breakfast is basic but adequate for the price paid. In short, a good option if you don't want to spend much money on accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilargi_ig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your upgrade. We've changed our free breakfast menu since you were here so there is a lot more on offer - cereals, toast and loads of condiments and tea and coffee as well as optional extras such as breakfast rolls for only €2.50. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm for 4 nights in July. Our room was a good size, the stairs were a bit of a pain (no elevator) and so were the showers (timed, sometimes no cold water). The staff were absolutely lovely and I would recommend the hostel to others because of it's central location, cheap beds and free (or almost free) facilities i.e internet (free, 6 computers - I never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes to access the web), towels (1 euro), washing, drying and laundry powder (7 euro per load) and long term lockers (12 euro for 7 days) for big bags/suitcases which were great for when you go on 5-7 day tours. I've stayed in one of the 20 person dorm rooms too and it was just as nice if not nicer than the 4 bed female dorm.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyRenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thanks for the positive review - always nice to hear. See you again soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#7 of 115 in Dublin
1,021 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 115 in Dublin
2,011 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 115 in Dublin
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House

Property: Kinlay House
Address: 2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Kinlay House 1*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin’s most lively hostel, in the vibrant Temple Bar District – friendly, safe and clean! Free WIFI & Internet access and free light breakfast. In the famous Temple Bar district, Kinlay House is surrounded by the best selection of Dublin’s bars, cafes and restaurants and within easy walking distance to all of Dublin’s top attractions, including Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Castle, and Trinity College. We have a great team that go out of their way to make sure you enjoy the ‘Irish craic’ and we have all of the facilities you would expect from a leading hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kinlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlay House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing