We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big, friendly but loud”
Review of Kinlay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinlay House
Ranked #16 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Herrenberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big, friendly but loud”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you have a very good sleep its a very Good hostel near TEMPLE BAR but Traffic is very loud and people arround like to celebrate and come back Late and noisy

Room Tip: Maybe at the backside of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derManu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    319
    166
    67
    50
See reviews for
42
149
183
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here twice, two days before and two days after a Shamrocker tour. On our return we expected to stay just a couple of nights, but extended this, a couple of times and stayed 9 nights.

Excellent value, our second time here was in a 20-bed room, on the third floor, the room we were in was divided into cubicles of two bunks which gave a little more privacy. Mattresses were a bit on the hard side, but not too bad, definitely had much worse. All those stairs did us in though ;-)

Being near the Temple Bar area it could get a little noisy from the street, but was not too bad. everything we wanted to see and do in Dublin was so close, on a bus route if we had enough of walking.

No problems with showers, toilets could have been better cleaned at times, but have seen far worse, and they were never in such a state we couldn't use them . Staff friendly and helpful, always happy to help, on deck 24-7, tour bookings and even a small shop with reasonably priced toiletries, etc. Good kitchen facilities. Dining room, common room (TV, playstation, DVDs all free of charge). Free wi-fi and computers in dining room and common , though wi-fi was a bit dodgy at times. Skype ph for free landline calls to a number of countries.

Mon-Thurs staff put on a bit of food, not a big feed, but snacks, and more than welcome. Pancakes, pasta, pizza, etc. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

This is a great budget hostel! Nice rooms, free breakfast. Free wifi! Free dinner specials from Monday - Thursday, lovely staff, great location. Didn't have anything bad to say! Will definitely be staying here again apon my return to dublin in less than two weeks!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spargo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Kinlay House was very comfortable, people very nice and the hostel is quiete cheap !
Free breakfast, hot shower, lovely staff, anyway an excellent adress !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here in May 2009 with a group of fellow students from my university. This hostel was a very sketchy place. The room I was in and the adjoining bathroom were very basic and bare-bones. Not that I was expecting a 5-star hotel, because I wasn't, but this place left a lot to be desired.

The overhead fluorescent lighting was flickering, which made it seem creepy, and the bathroom I shared with 3 other girls was a complete joke. The floor sloped down where the shower was, there was nothing to separate it from the rest of the bathroom floor. On top of that, the shower only stayed on for 30-60 seconds at a time, then you had to push a button on the wall for it to come back on. I understand the need to conserve water, but it made taking a shower very difficult!

Due to its location in Dublin, it was a close walk to the Temple Bar area, however, it seemed that every 5 minutes a police siren would go by, making it very hard to get any sleep!

Avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonouraryBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have stayed in Kinlay house Dublin for the second time at the end of Feb.
The staff is always very friendly and informas you about everything you need to know. We have stayed in a 4 bed standard room which was quite small. The bathroom at the top floors are not seperated in genders which I didn't quite like. The hostel is only a few minutes on foot from temple bar and provides a nice dynamic atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try to book a room inclusive bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed here my first day/night of my trip. It was pretty average. I was with a friend so we did our own thing and didn't spend much time here. Could have been cleaner. They let me check in super early though, which was nice so I could rest after a long flight.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House

Property: Kinlay House
Address: 2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Kinlay House 1*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin’s most lively hostel, in the vibrant Temple Bar District – friendly, safe and clean! Free WIFI & Internet access and free light breakfast. In the famous Temple Bar district, Kinlay House is surrounded by the best selection of Dublin’s bars, cafes and restaurants and within easy walking distance to all of Dublin’s top attractions, including Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Castle, and Trinity College. We have a great team that go out of their way to make sure you enjoy the ‘Irish craic’ and we have all of the facilities you would expect from a leading hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlay House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing