We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Kinlay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinlay House
Ranked #16 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Handy location and reasonably priced, does what it says on the tin. Don't expect anything out of this world but you get what you pay for. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Location is slightly out of the way but still within short walking distance to all of Dublin's main attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi There,

Many Thanks for leaving us a nice review, hope to see you back soon

All the best from the Team @ Kinlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    321
    168
    68
    50
See reviews for
42
150
184
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel was in a very nice area. It is right by Christ Church. Famous Temple Bar is just a few minutes by foot. There are a few nice pubs around the block if you don't want the bustle of Temple Bar. There is a car park very close that is connected to the jury hotel. All in all its nice

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pmuircat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for the review and hopefully we will see you back again soon

All the best from the Team @ Kinlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here for a night at the start of june. Great location, and the staff are friendly. The FREE WIFI is a great asset. The breakfast was provided as was clean bedding. The building itself is old and rather basic, but if you are complaining about that then i suggest you stop being such a skin flint and go stay in a hotel! haha. My only complaint was that when we arrived, we were told that we had to pay a safety deposit. We weren't made aware of this until we arrived, so make sure you confirm the amount you'll need and have it with you when you arrive (or a credit card)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HatlessGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi There,

Thanks so much for leaving us a nice review and we do apologize about the security deposit we require this for groups and for the lockers - but you get it back :)
Hope to see you back soon

Best Wishes
Team at Kinlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I arrived after a long and hard trip, but everything was so easy. The room, despite it was supposed to be for 20 people, actually it is like a 4 person room, because it is divided into 5 small rooms. there is enough space to store your luggage. The atmosphere is really good, individual travelers, families, groups of friends ... and the breakfast is pretty good, although I missed some juice. the receptionists are very friendly and tried to help me with a problem I had to find a place.without any problem could leave two large suitcases the day of check out. for all this, I decided to book a few nights more, after I tried another hostel around there, but not that good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro_rc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi There,

So great to hear you booked a few more nights as you enjoyed your stay :) We are always delighted to see our guests return and enjoying there time with us !!!

See you again soon

Best Wishes
Team at Kinlay :) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Well located, this quiet and confortable hostel will make you enjoy your journey in Cork. There is wi-fi everywhere in the hostel, the kitchen is well equipped (especially with gaz stoves!) and the staff is very welcoming and friendly. Hot showers with great water debit are available in rooms, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoliviergt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellent value for money and location. We were there for nearly two weeks and felt very comfortable. Communal facilities always very clean. A little noisy from the street but it was worth it to be so central. It would be nice if there was some sort of luggage lift to the second and third floors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you again soon

Best Wishes from the Team at Kinlay :) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

great location, clean shower and toilet, staff in reception are very friendly, also you need to show room card or receipt to enter the building so the security is pretty good. Great atmosphere, and free breakfast. Great value for money, I'd go back and stay again though !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthTseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlay D, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hey, Thank you for the lovely review - we pride ourselves on customer service and cleanliness so we are delighted you enjoyed your stay !!

Hope to see you back soon

Best Wishes, Team at Kinlay :) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 111 in Dublin
1,957 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 111 in Dublin
1,003 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 111 in Dublin
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House

Property: Kinlay House
Address: 2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Kinlay House 1*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin’s most lively hostel, in the vibrant Temple Bar District – friendly, safe and clean! Free WIFI & Internet access and free light breakfast. In the famous Temple Bar district, Kinlay House is surrounded by the best selection of Dublin’s bars, cafes and restaurants and within easy walking distance to all of Dublin’s top attractions, including Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Castle, and Trinity College. We have a great team that go out of their way to make sure you enjoy the ‘Irish craic’ and we have all of the facilities you would expect from a leading hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kinlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlay House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing