We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kinlay House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Harding Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Clarence(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
186
345
179
72
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
345
179
72
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roombed dormtemple bargreat locationfree breakfastmixed dormperson roomown bathroomchrist church cathedraldublin castleairport busstayed nightslight sleepercentral locationtrinity collegehostelbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This place doesn't have an elevator, so pack light because you'll have to lug your belongings up a few staircases. The rooms are not super cozy, but they're clean enough for you to rest easily. We had our own private bathroom which was great, the place wasn't too loud and I didn't see any bugs during my entire stay (always hope for this during every hostel stay). Kinlay house also has a community kitchen if you want to cook and a computer/ game/ movie room where you can meet other travelers. I'd recommend this to all of the world traveler's who are just looking for a decent and cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank operationwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thanks for the review. We've added lots more to the hostel since you were here so make sure to come back and check us out again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Very nice staff, laid back and friendly atmoshpere. Perfect location for the bars on temple bar and the tourist attractions. Really good price and loved having a kitchen to use! Nice, basic room!!
:D
weyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelic079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thanks for the feedback - delighted you liked us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Met a lot of great people while staying here. The people who work here are really friendly and helpful. The rooms were nothing spectacular - the ensuite bathroom did leave something to be desired, but then again this is not a four-star hotel. The beds were comfortable (I would recommend doubling up on pillows or bringing your own) and the room warm. The TV room is awesome and your stay will include a continental breakfast, which in Ireland means toast with butter or jam, sometimes cereal, tea and coffee. The location of this hostel is really great. We found it to be a central point for everything we did while there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thanks for your great review. We love hearing good reviews about the hostel (as well as the bad) - look forward to seeing you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Kinlay House is located close to Temple Bar, near the center of Dublin and the main sights, in an unbeatable location. No need to take the bus to see the city, everything is close to the hostel.

We had reserved a room for 16 people, but we got a room for 5 people, a lovely attic bedroom, spacious, clean and cozy. The best thing is that we didn't have to pay the price difference. I think we were lucky because our room is one of the best in the hostel!

The bathrooms and common areas were fine but usually crowded, so if you travel to Dublin alone, you can meet people and make friends. The breakfast is basic but adequate for the price paid. In short, a good option if you don't want to spend much money on accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilargi_ig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your upgrade. We've changed our free breakfast menu since you were here so there is a lot more on offer - cereals, toast and loads of condiments and tea and coffee as well as optional extras such as breakfast rolls for only €2.50. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm for 4 nights in July. Our room was a good size, the stairs were a bit of a pain (no elevator) and so were the showers (timed, sometimes no cold water). The staff were absolutely lovely and I would recommend the hostel to others because of it's central location, cheap beds and free (or almost free) facilities i.e internet (free, 6 computers - I never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes to access the web), towels (1 euro), washing, drying and laundry powder (7 euro per load) and long term lockers (12 euro for 7 days) for big bags/suitcases which were great for when you go on 5-7 day tours. I've stayed in one of the 20 person dorm rooms too and it was just as nice if not nicer than the 4 bed female dorm.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyRenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronanbrady, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thanks for the positive review - always nice to hear. See you again soon we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews