We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another good find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #42 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Goleen, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another good find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel welcomed us and our luggage at 7:30 am. The hotel staff took our luggage promised to try to let us in our room early and told us where we could get coffee. They also gave us conference access to their wireless so we could let our families know we had arrived safely. We had breakfast in their dining room early and allowed us to charget o our non existing room. When we returned to the hotel after exploring around 12 they had a room for us ready and waiting and knew we were coming in for our luggage they also gave knowledgable information about the location of attractions. Just a super old hotel with all the old world charm and not the cost. This hotel is renovated but had the old architecture and carm. The staff were very accomodating and really seemed to enjoy their jobs. This made the stay even more pleasant. The hotel is within walking distance of buses and attractions an excellent location in Dublin. Just lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Marilyn C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to assist you with your early arrival. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to all of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    642
    213
    50
    25
See reviews for
273
632
69
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel was in a great location - very easy to walk to most places or to pick-up public transport(buses and DART).
Our room was a very good size (which is one of the reasons we chose this hotel) and the beds were very comfortable. I would expect tea and coffee equipment in the room but was delighted to find a teapot too, since I do not like making tea in a mug with a bag.
Two nights, because of being very tired from doing so much each day, we decided to eat in the President's Bar and were pleasantly surprised by the high standard of the food we chose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Jacqueline D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleasantly surprised by the high quality of food we serve in the President's bar. I will pass on your comments to our Head Chef Noel Healy and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for a night and i have to say it was fantastic. The room was so big and comfortable that you would almost not want to leave it!! The best thing, in my mind, was the fact that with the curtains / blinds closed - you would thing it is the middle of the night!! That made for a lovely lie-in before we got up to check out. Super hotel.

Room Tip: Look for the room with the window over reception. Pitch dark!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Emmet G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Davenport.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Impressive looking hotel in an extremely good location in the centre of Dublin City! Temple Bar and grafton st are both within 10-15 minutes walking distance! Also found a load of taxis cruising round!
Our room was huge! And very very quiet! We didn't eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment - but it looked nice! Staff extremely friendly at check in and check out! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gearoidoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear gearoidoneill,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

It gives me great pleasure to read such fantastic comments about the hotel, it's location, and especially about our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I would stay here again. Our room was a good value with a fantastic location. The hotel is within close walking distance to everything we wanted to do in the city centre yet was on a relatively quiet street in terms of foot traffic. Perfect combination for us. The accommodations were comfortable, plenty of room for a couple with 10 days worth of travel luggage. No free wifi, but I booked in advance and it came included with my room, so look for that as an option - also worth asking at booking! We did not eat in the hotel restaurants, as the full Irish breakfast was outrageously expensive (something like €20) for what it is and we were absolutely sick of it by the end of the trip. There are more fantastic coffee/pastry shops than you can count within 5 minutes walk... Spend your money there! Overall, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff was courteous. Very pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CharmCity87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear CharmCity87,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding your comments about our breakfast price, it is €13.50 for a full buffet breakfast and this is one of the cheapest hotel breakfasts in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Ireland.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

It would have been 4 stars from me, except for the lack of free wifi. It's 5 euro per 24 hrs. In this day and age where Free wifi in hotels (at least in public areas) is as standard as running hot water, this was a disappointment.

Otherwise everything else was fine. Check in smooth, staff polite, didn't eat at all in hotel so can't comment on that. Bar was ok just over 6euro for a Peroni.. Sounds expensive but Dublin seems to be outrageously expensive for drinks, even compared to London, so that is probably average for hotel bar prices there.

Room was very nice, great bathroom with lovely powerful shower. Bed and pillows very very comfortable, a fabulous nights sleep guaranteed !

And of course the location is perfect for seeing Dublin, a short walk to the main strip, with bars and restaurants galore.

Would return- but please make the wifi included.

Booked the room via hotels tonight app.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear atgio,

Than you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that apart from your disappointment with the lack of free wifi, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly take your comments on board about the wifi, we do currently offer it complimentary for any direct bookings made on our website. Peroni is one of our premium draught beers and our other draught beers are around the €5.50 mark.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My daughter and I visted Dublin for the first time and I cant wait to go back! We booked the St.Stephens green hotel but due to our booking agency they could not accommodate so we were moved to the Davenport. We arrived at 1.30am and the front desk guy could not have been more helpful, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the hotel decorations were lovely. We found all the staff seemed to go the "extra mile" in trying to please and they even found a charger for my daughter kindle that she had left behind so Steven, behind the bar, warrants special mention!..I would certainly return to this hotel and at a loss to understand the negative comments on this site??..

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room at the back on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twitcher777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear twitcher777,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Davenport Hotel.

May I firstly apologise on behalf of our sister property, as they could not accommodate your booking. I am delighted that we got the opportunity to welcome you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing