We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dublin Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dublin Visit”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel with very courteous staff who are anxious to help. The hotel is about I block from stop #5 of the Dublin "Hop On- Hop Off" bus which is a very convenient way to get around Dublin. It is near Trinity College and shopping on Grafton Street. The breakfast buffet covers the full range from biscuits, croissants, bacon and eggs, sausages, fruit, cereal to coffee and juice, all of which is fresh, appropriately hot or chilled. My party included a 10 year old who ate the breakfast readily. Lunch and dinner is also served and is equally tasty and fresh, while the bar serves a wide variety of beer and mixed drinks. The room had one American style electric outlet by the desk, so an adapter is needed for the bathroom. The hotel typifies an older style hotel, not an American motel, although most amenities have been included. Take the taxi from the airport to the hotel as I found it less expensive than the Aircoach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arthur k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear arthur k,

Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review. As you mentioned, our central location makes it very handy to get on the Hop On Hop Off bus, or walk to Grafton Street and other tourist attractions.

I am delighted you found the breakfast, lunch and dinner to be tasty and fresh. Your kind comments have been shared with the rest of the team and the kitchen in particular, who very much appreciate them.

Should you return to Dublin in the near future, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Davenport Hotel.

With warm regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    676
    234
    60
    32
See reviews for
285
669
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I always stay here when I come to to Dublin. Just a short distance from St Stephen's Green and Trinity College, pretty much everywhere you want to go in the city centre is only approx 15 mins walk away. It's a real nice hotel, with the great spacious rooms and really nice friendly staff. You could probably get something a wee bit cheaper, but it wouldn't be as nice or as handy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondBurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear DiamondBurkey,

Thank you for staying with us regularly while in Dublin and for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read you find the hotel, staff, and location to be nice and handy. The central location does put you within walking distance of many tourist attractions and points of interest. The staff is trained to provide excellent customer service so thank you for your kind comments about a job well done.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to us on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a good hotel, nicely situated for an easy walk to Dublin Centre, but in need of a major renovation!

The lobby furniture is sad and saggy...some chairs with no padding. Old tables that they may think look 'antique' but just look scratched. Our Junior Suite was adequate is space but the bathroom was something out of the 50's. Towels were very thin and the hair dryer looked something like a Flow-Bee. Anyone with thick or long hair has to give up after a while. The 'living area' had a big leather couch and wrap around in wall desk...not very inviting. A few pictures on the big blank walls could warm it up.

That being said, the staff was absolutely wonderful. From the people at the front desk to the housekeeping staff and those in between, we were always greeted with big smiles and a cheery hello. They love their jobs and it shows. This made the other issues seem much smaller.

I would recommend O'Callaghan's Davenport to travellers for it's location and people. Update your furnishings and this could be a 5 Star!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinker349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Tinker349,

Thank you for staying with us and for your constructive review! We are delighted to hear you found our staff to be wonderful since our priority is delivering excellent customer service. Myself and the team very much appreciate your kind comments.

Rest assured your comments about the lobby furniture and bathroom will not go unaddressed. Guest feedback allows us the opportunity to find areas where we can further improve on our products and services, which is why your constructive review will further be discussed with the team.

Overall I am very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your recommendation! I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Davenport Hotel in the near future!

With warm regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darnestown, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located a great spot if you have never been to Dublin and want to be in the heart of town. The hotel bar and restaurant had good food with great service. The staff fell over themselves to be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSG924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear JSG924,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review! As you mentioned, we are blessed with an excellent location in the heart of the city, within walking distance of many of Dublin's various tourist attractions and points of interest. I am delighted to read you found the staff to be helpful and the service of quality, since that is one of our main priorities.

JSG924, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were here with a tour group. Rooms were in good repair and clean. Breakfasts were excellent and the servers in the breakfast area were good. Had dinner one night in the hotel bar and the service was slow. They may have been surprised by how many people ate there that night and were understaffed. The food thought was very good. This is not too far from the Temple Bar area and there was a great pub right across the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear montebr,

Greetings from the Davenport Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. It was a pleasure having your group at our hotel. I am very glad to read you found our location, rooms, food, and staff to your liking. Your kind comments have been shared with the rest of the team, in particular with the housekeeping and food & beverage departments. I am sorry to hear you found the service to be slow on the night you dined in our President's Bar, rest assured this is not our norm and we took your feedback on board to prevent this from happening again.

Montebr, when your travels bring you back to Dublin again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel.

With warm regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was my first time at the Davenpiort(I usually stay at the O'Callaghan Stephens Green - it was ful). The Davenport is 10 minutes from Temple Bar on foot. A nice quirky hotel - most importantly for me - Gluten friendly. I am a coeliac and really appreciated the fact that the hotel knew what it meant and were very accommodating with their menu. It makes a nice change. I've now added the Davemport to MY list of Dublin Hotels.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the doors near the lifts.. the doors are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDirger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear TheDirger,

Thank you for being a regular guest at our sister property O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel. I am delighted that on this occasion we had the chance to accommodate you at the Davenport Hotel and even more so that you've now added us to your list of Dublin hotels.
We strive to meet our guests' needs at all times, and as such we do have gluten friendly options on the menu and the staff is trained for it. I am delighted you found this to be very accommodating during your stay. Rest assured, your kind comments have been shared with the rest of the team who were very pleased by them.

Now that we're on your list of Dublin hotels, we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a modern fancy hotel. Service was good and the people were nice. Location was ok, but it was a bit of a walk to the temple bar area. Since we only slept there I think next time I'd pick something cheaper and a little closer to the action.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank havanario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Havanario,

Thank you for staying with us on your last night in Dublin and for sharing your review. It is great to hear you found the hotel to be modern and fancy and the service good. Rest assured, your kind comments about the level of service and nice people have been shared with the rest of the team who very much appreciate them. While not directly in the Temple Bar district, our hotel is located a short 15 minute walk away from it.
Overall I am delighted to hear you had a great stay and the team and I are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

With warm regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing