We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #41 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good nights sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was clean and tidy. I had a good nights sleep as it was surprisingly very quiet baring in mind i was in the centre of Dublin. I did not pay for breakfast so cant comment on the food but the private parking was a bonus although this is not the cheapest hotel around.

Room Tip: good parking facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaforbes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear lindaforbes1,

Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to give us your Hotel review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay overall. Our location is indeed very central, within walking distance of Dublin's many tourist attractions and points of interest, yet quiet enough for a good night's sleep.

I do hope we will see you back with us again soon.
With many thanks and kind regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    642
    213
    50
    25
See reviews for
273
631
69
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My bed was extremely comfortable and it was a plus that the hotel had air conditioning. Our breakfast was good also. I enjoyed the small pastries. I would recommend this ho tel to anyone. Great location also. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and it was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: glad to see the notice in the bathroom about using your towels more than once.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaBraeger65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear AnaBraeger65,

Thank you for staying with us and for your Hotel review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay very much and found the bed to be extremely comfortable. We are indeed blessed with an excellent location, ideal for visiting Dublin whether on business or leisure.

We do hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
175 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great staff. Very comfortable beds. Good breakfast. 10 to 15 minute walk to grafton st shower over bath a solid 3 star hotel. Very clean. Be aware tour buses stayed here but we didn't find them to be a problem. Meals at night were very good as well. The oub around the corner is excellent for a meal and a drink

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Dogsey,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your hotel review. I am delighted to hear you had a fun stay, and that you enjoyed our hotel with its rooms, staff, and food.
I hope we will have the chance to see you back with us again in the near future.

Again with many thanks and kind regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were happy to arrive in Dublin and thrilled to find that our room had a king bed, not the 2 twins that was originally all that was available when we booked. The location of the Davenport is right in the middle of many of the sights we wanted to visit while in Dublin. The staff was professional and more than pleasant. We enjoyed our visit and would definitely recommend this lovely, old world charm hotel to US travellers.

Room Tip: We had a King size bed on the 2nd floor, the side of the hotel not on the main road. It was quiet an...
See more room tips
Green Features: Using your room card to put the lights on in the room was great.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kim N,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing your wonderful 5 star review! We do our best to accommodate guests based on what they want and need and as such I am delighted that providing you with a King room instead of a Twin helped to get your visit off to a great start.
I am also glad you enjoyed our location, as you mentioned, it puts you in the middle of most tourist attractions and points of interest that Dublin has to offer. Thank you also for your praise about our staff, who very much welcome your kind comments.

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Davenport Hotel when next in Dublin.

With many thanks and kind regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days. It was very convenient to tourist sites and downtown which we could walk to or use our bus Hop on/off passes. Rooms are nice. Breakfast is excellent. One complaint that we had which is common for most places that we stayed I that the duvets are really heavy and warm. I would like to have a sheet over me when sleeping. Perhaps I should have asked for one. I actually carry a silk "sleeping bag" for such purposes but would prefer that hotels provide a sheet under the duvet as an option.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear LeeTed,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your hotel review following your recent visit to the Hotel. As you mentioned, we are blessed with an excellent location, within walking distance of many attractions and the Hop On Hop Off bus.
I am delighted to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the rooms and breakfast. Your feedback about the duvets/sheets has been passed on to the accommodation team for further discussion.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Davenport Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was clean, well kept and tidy. The staff were awesome and most helpful.. they certainly added to the stay. The room was clean and orderly..the bed was firm (which I like). There are flaws in the rooms, but it is to be expected from any hotel in the world, and it doesn't detract from the experience. The location is absolutely wonderful...it is about a block away from the nearest hop on hop off bus stop. After I checked out, they were gracious enough to stow my bags while I traveled around the city some more, which I thought was very nice. I will come back for another stay :) Oh and they have Free WI FI :D

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mark R,

Thank you for staying with us and for your 5 star review! I'm very glad to hear you found our team to be awesome and that we were able to add to your stay, and that you found our location to be wonderful as it does put you within walking distance of most attractions and points of interest in Dublin.

We are delighted to hear you will come back to stay with us and we are very much looking forward to it.

With warm regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was one of our hotels on an 8-day trip to Ireland with eleven family members. The trip was marvelously arranged through Maloney and Kelly Travel. All of the accommodations were much more luxurious than I would usually choose, but given the group price each was a very worthwhile splurge. We travelled in a 12 person coach with our private driver and guide Donal Scannell (donal@chauffeuredtoursireland.com), who was a wonderful guide and a lovely and charming person. It was truly a trip of a lifetime. Although I'm not sure what we paid per couple, when I asked the front desk person what a typical weekday rate would be for a double room, he replied 99-130 Euros, which is a very good rate for such a nice spot in Dublin. If you drove there in a car, there is an adjacent parking garage available at a rate of 12.50 Euros/24 hrs. The hotel is an impressive classic facade complete with ornate columns. You enter to be greeted by very nice staff people who were always helpful and cheerful. The entry area is a warm comfortable lobby with a lovely breakfast room adjacent to it. The 2 elevators were quick and modern, or you could take the large, open nicely finished stairway. We had a very quiet room with excellent AC that provided white noise and kept the room very cool for a great night's sleep. We arrived in Dublin at 6 AM, exhausted from the overnight flight from the USA and the desk staff gave us spectacular customer service by allowing us to check-in early at 7 AM which gave us all a chance to take a badly needed brief nap and freshen up. We had an excellent king bed with lots of pillows, soft linen, and a soft comforter. The room was meticulously clean, with a nice patterned carpet floor, fresh painted walls, adequate lighting, and good mirrors but otherwise relatively minimal decoration. There was a large closet with plenty of wooden hangers and excellent space for luggage on racks and clothing in drawers. The bed had side tables on both sides but a reading light on only one of the tables. The hotel is in a fabulous central location within easy walking distance of the Temple Bar old town bar and restaurant area, the pedestrian mall and shopping areas in the town center, the river and parks. The room TV was a modern flat-screen type with good channel selection and many paid options if desired. The bathroom was nicely tiled with one broken tile. The bath/shower was excellent. There was lots of space for our own toiletries on the large vanity surface. They had soft large and small towels but no face cloths. Nice products including shampoo, gel, and lotion, and a tissue dispenser. The sink was an older European style with separate hot and cold water faucets. We were unable to make the hidden plug in the hair dryer work for my shaver, so resorted to using a plug in the room. The generously sized room had nice real wood chairs, table and furniture with minimal wear and tear. There was a good bar and restaurant on site but lots of very tasty choices nearby. The WiFi was fast, free and easy with logical user name and password. An excellent breakfast was included in the room price with super-tasting, very hot coffee, tea, juices, and multiple hot and cold choices including eggs, sausage, mushrooms and tomato; and lovely cereals with fruit, nuts, yoghurt, and several different pastries all of which looked very fresh. There was expensive bottled water in the room but tap water tasted fine for drinking and there was less expensive bottled water available in nearby stores. If you had special treats on your mind, look 1 block away for the Hansel and Gretel bakery, WOW!

Room Tip: All rooms that our family occupied were lovely and quiet. No special problems were identified.
See more room tips
Green Features: Typical for Ireland. Nothing special. The towels can be kept for the next day.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei C, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear DaveW43323,

Thank you and your family for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write such a wonderful, detailed hotel review. I am delighted to hear all your family members enjoyed the Davenport Hotel, from the rooms, to the location, breakfast, and the staff in general. Your kind comments have been shared with the rest of the team who very much appreciate them.

It sounds like you had a great stay from check-in to check-out, and I hope the rest of your trip through Ireland was just as lovely.

We do hope we will see you back with us again when next in Dublin.

With many thanks and kind regards,
Andrei Ciugulea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing