We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, elegant, relaxed atmosphere with great food and excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Myself and a few girlfriends visited Dublin for the first time recently and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were all very impressed with the layout of the hotel and comfort of our beds and size of bedrooms. Breakfast and evening meals were delicious and excellent value for money, as were the drinks (cheaper than elsewhere in Dublin)! Above all the reception staff (in particular John) were an absolute delight. Not only were they accommodating and helpful but comedic and entertaining at the same time. We had to pull some of the girls away on several occasions as they swooned to the sound of that lovely Irish lilt. Location is fairly central but our feet hurt after so much walking that we would have liked the hotel to come to us - but you can't have everything! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,473 - 1,479 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2009

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Davenport Hotel, and thought it was great. We got a warm and friendly welcome on our arrival, earlier than check-in time, but our room was ready. The room was clean and very comfortable, and we had everything we needed. We asked for advice on restaurants and areas in Dublin, and we were given names, maps and lots of information which was all very helpful. The front desk staff were great, as were the bar staff. We love the Irish accent and sense of humour and got examples of both all through our visit. We ate at the Milano Restaurant in Dawson Street (Italian) - very good - and the Blarney Inn which has good, fresh local food. We enjoyed a drink or two in The Ginger Man pub across the road from the hotel, which was busy and full of atmosphere on Thursday and Friday evenings, but strangely quite empty on the Saturday night. All in all we were very pleased with our choice of hotel for the staff, comfort and central area, and would have no hesitation in staying there again, and recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Management Team at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2009

Dear Amfin,
Many thanks for your very kind review about the Davenport Hotel. We really appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of Dublin. It is less "grand" than the pricey hotels, but the service is excellent, rooms very clean (though small), and food good. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to most things in Dublin, this is a perfect pick. In addition, we were able to take advantage of a private dining room for a meeting. The only reason it did not get a 5 is that it lacked "luxury". I'd stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Management Team at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2009

Dear TravelDelaware,
Thank you very much for the very nice review in relation to your stay at the Davenport Hotel. We do have larger rooms available on request so please make sure to ask for one next time you are booking your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Davenport Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Just spent a night at the Davenport Hotel. Rooms very clean although a little small. Bed very nice. Staff very nice. Location is excellent. Would recommend it to anyone visting Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joejoeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at the Davenport Hotel. The Hotel was full of excitement and energy with it been rugby weekend. The hotel was full of both French & Irish fans.

Checkin in at the Hotel was quick and easy with the young man on the desk been very informative and chatty. He explained what was happening in the hotel and places around the area of interest. Breakfast was nicely presented on a buffet were you could eat as much as you could. The breakfast staff although not irish very good and were very attentive to our needs.

We couldnt fault the hotel at all as it was centrally located, with very helpful and accommadating staff who delivered a very high level of service every time.

Mullac...

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mullac2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

newly refurbished since the last time we stayed and it was great.One of the only hotels with irish staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jr2008jr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Management Team at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2009

Dear jr2008jr2008,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind remarks in relation to the newly refurbished rooms.
Kind regards,
O'Callaghan Davenport management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

This past Saturday was our first night spent in Dublin. Not being from the UK and not familiar with Dublin, we made our reservations at The Davenport and hoped for the best. Our expectations were exceeded, with both the cleaniness of the room and the service of the front desk. It was a wonderful experience and one that I would recommend to anyone traveling to Dublin. We are definitely planning a return to The Davenport on our next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcarraturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, management team at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2009

Dear Icarraturo,
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Dublin and that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £85 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing