We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for exploring Dublin.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for exploring Dublin.”
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We stayed here our first night in Ireland to recover from jet lag before exploring the rest of the country. The hotel is very clean, staff is friendly, and we really appreciated the little things like a good shower head, large comfy bed, US-compatible outlets in the rooms, and free, fast Wi-Fi. The view from the window was over an adjacent parking lot courtyard, which was not so elegant, but we didn't stay in during the day anyway. Breakfast here is not included like it is with a B&B, but there are many nice places to eat just about two blocks down by Trinity College. This is a great location to stay for seeing most of the city on foot, although if you are coming from the airport you might want to take a cab or a get one once you arrive in the city via bus, since we ended up walking over a mile with our luggage to get there from the bus stop (fine if you are healthy and travel light, not so fine if you are not healthy or carry a large suitcase).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    676
    234
    60
    32
See reviews for
285
669
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Myself and a few girlfriends visited Dublin for the first time recently and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were all very impressed with the layout of the hotel and comfort of our beds and size of bedrooms. Breakfast and evening meals were delicious and excellent value for money, as were the drinks (cheaper than elsewhere in Dublin)! Above all the reception staff (in particular John) were an absolute delight. Not only were they accommodating and helpful but comedic and entertaining at the same time. We had to pull some of the girls away on several occasions as they swooned to the sound of that lovely Irish lilt. Location is fairly central but our feet hurt after so much walking that we would have liked the hotel to come to us - but you can't have everything! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Davenport Hotel, and thought it was great. We got a warm and friendly welcome on our arrival, earlier than check-in time, but our room was ready. The room was clean and very comfortable, and we had everything we needed. We asked for advice on restaurants and areas in Dublin, and we were given names, maps and lots of information which was all very helpful. The front desk staff were great, as were the bar staff. We love the Irish accent and sense of humour and got examples of both all through our visit. We ate at the Milano Restaurant in Dawson Street (Italian) - very good - and the Blarney Inn which has good, fresh local food. We enjoyed a drink or two in The Ginger Man pub across the road from the hotel, which was busy and full of atmosphere on Thursday and Friday evenings, but strangely quite empty on the Saturday night. All in all we were very pleased with our choice of hotel for the staff, comfort and central area, and would have no hesitation in staying there again, and recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Management Team at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2009
Dear Amfin,
Many thanks for your very kind review about the Davenport Hotel. We really appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of Dublin. It is less "grand" than the pricey hotels, but the service is excellent, rooms very clean (though small), and food good. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to most things in Dublin, this is a perfect pick. In addition, we were able to take advantage of a private dining room for a meeting. The only reason it did not get a 5 is that it lacked "luxury". I'd stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Management Team at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2009
Dear TravelDelaware,
Thank you very much for the very nice review in relation to your stay at the Davenport Hotel. We do have larger rooms available on request so please make sure to ask for one next time you are booking your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Davenport Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Just spent a night at the Davenport Hotel. Rooms very clean although a little small. Bed very nice. Staff very nice. Location is excellent. Would recommend it to anyone visting Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joejoeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at the Davenport Hotel. The Hotel was full of excitement and energy with it been rugby weekend. The hotel was full of both French & Irish fans.

Checkin in at the Hotel was quick and easy with the young man on the desk been very informative and chatty. He explained what was happening in the hotel and places around the area of interest. Breakfast was nicely presented on a buffet were you could eat as much as you could. The breakfast staff although not irish very good and were very attentive to our needs.

We couldnt fault the hotel at all as it was centrally located, with very helpful and accommadating staff who delivered a very high level of service every time.

Mullac...

  • Liked — Staff, location & value for money
  • Disliked — couldnt fault anything
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mullac2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jr2008jr2008
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2009

newly refurbished since the last time we stayed and it was great.One of the only hotels with irish staff.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jr2008jr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenportgm, Management Team at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2009
Dear jr2008jr2008,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind remarks in relation to the newly refurbished rooms.
Kind regards,
O'Callaghan Davenport management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing