We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful behaviour by night manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Ranked #51 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disgraceful behaviour by night manager”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and friends had a few drinks etc here last nite and the behaviour by a night manager near end of evening was disgraceful ...he was totally rude abnoxious and tryed to bully us .....really bad for the hospitality sector....

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Martinod1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    1,166
    449
    147
    71
See reviews for
387
1,218
116
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As a first timer in Dublin, I was glad my friends and I chose a very CENTRAL hotel! Just a short walk over the bridge and you are into the Temple Bar area which was perfect for us.
We had a room towards the back of the hotel and there was a fair bit of street noise, but this was mainly people shouting and cannot be helped. The room was spacious enough for two people with enough storage for us both. The beds were comfortable and the room/bathroom was very clean. Overall, me and my friends were happy with the hotel and adjoining bar.
I must add, the service was outstanding! The ladies on reception were extremely helpful and the guys on the bar were lovely. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVS1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived at a busy time and given the last room available. Not what it looked like on the website at all, bathroom was disgusting couldn't even close the bathroom door. Room was old and although large was not great. Had to carry my own bags up 3 flights of stairs as they had no lift in the old section. They moved us to another room next day which was newer smaller and in the section with a lift but still not great. Staff were friendly and helpful but we had expected a better hotel for what we paid. The location was good, red bus tour at the door but horrible to arrive by car as no parking and a very busy road. Had to park blocks away. Sorry but would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here two nights and previously on a hen weekend. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the bathrooms are in need of renovation, have stayed in nicer three star hotels. However if you can cope with tired bathrooms then this is an excellent hotel. Location could not be better. you are right on the Liffey and in the middle of Dublin for walking to anywhere. Great bar space and tvs for sport etc.Breakfast was good irish fare.had one meal which was good. lots of pubs within walking distance and a two minute walk over the halfpenny bridge to Temple Bar. try to Quays pub in temple bar for the total irish experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The first five days of my trip to Dublin were on my own, staying at the Arlington. I've now checked into the Doubletree on Upper Leeson Street to join a tour. I'll compare the two hotels. The Arlington is an older, smaller facility. My third floor room was a good size and clean but not luxurious. The bed was a little hard and the linens a little rougher than the Doubletree. No facecloth was provided but I had my own so I didn't ask for one. The towels were plentiful but thin. Noise was a problem. I was at the back and there is pub nearby. Without double glazing I could hear everything. There was no security latch on the door and TV was rather small, maybe 24 inches compared to the Doubletrees 40 plus inches. The Doubletree is much newer and clearly caters to businessmen and the more affluent. The Arlington Hotel can't be beat for location however. Mere feet from O'Connell Street and five minutes to Temple Bar, I walked everywhere. Lots of restaurants and pubs around plus convenience stores and supermarkets. Overall the Arlington Hotel is "average" but I gave it a "very good" for location. Stay here if luxuries are not important and you aren't a light sleeper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argnewcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Arlington O'Connell has a great location right on the river close to both Temple Bar and the main centre. I was slightly disappointed with the quality at the price we paid; our room was small and slightly cramped, but it was clean and functional. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The cabarets can be pretty loud, which didn't matter in the room that we were in but could impact on some rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanBStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had booked with a friend to go to a gig which was subsequently cancelled, but decided to go ahead anyway. Fantastic location and easy to find from airport buses. Rooms a wee bit dated, but the whole building has an olde wolde charm and te staff were courteous and efficient. Yes, there are better hotels in Dublin, but not in this proce range. Great breakfast, too.

Very handy for pubs and shopping. Personally, didn't do any shopping, but had a fantastic pub crawl round some of the best pubs in Dublin. Intend to return for more and will definately stay at the Arlington if I can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Struay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,194 reviews
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,734 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 151 in Dublin
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#52 of 151 in Dublin
3,336 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,164 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#64 of 151 in Dublin
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Property: Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Address: 23-25 Bachelors Walk | O'Connell Bridge, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Dublin
#59 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Arlington Hotel o Connell Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing