We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Ranked #51 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having read all the good reviews before booked here, were happy to say the Hotel lived up to our hopes & expectations.

Hotel was in a key Location, rooms were clean, quiet, comfortable beds, and spacious, staff were helpful and friendly and the bar was reasonably priced, we didn't eat there though as like to go out for dinner.

Room Tip: We asked for a double bed, on a higher floor, in a quiet location and they provided us with all thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    1,169
    450
    148
    71
See reviews for
388
1,222
116
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic break with my daughter.
On arrival we were greated by a really helpful and friendly rectionist. I had emailed the hotel a few days before hand and she mase refence to it being my daughters3rs birthday which she was amazed with but it proves that they do read your emails! Our room wasnt ready but they stored our bags and we usednthe time to explore the area.
when we got to our room I was initially disappointed that it was by the hostel but I can honestly say we weren't effected at all by it. The view isnt great but your hardly in the room so it doesnt matter that much anyway.
The host at breakfast is so attentive and genuinely interested in how you are.
Bar staff are friendly and engage in banter, we also went to the show downstairsmwhich was fantastic value. It was really busy and we did wait a while for service but we werent going anywhere anyway so just relaxed and watched the show.
Hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of most attractions.
My daughter has asked can we go back to Dublin and I would definatley return to the Arlington.

Room Tip: Free wifi throughout the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkitoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated on the Liffey, right around the corner from O'Connell street at the heart of the city. Its bottom floor houses a large pub with live music and dance performances each evening. The atmosphere is traditional and the decoration is dark and wooden.
Rooms are comfortable and well-maintained, public spaces a little less so but not bad. Bathrooms modern and in good repair.
Service was attentive and cordial. Breakfast (not included; you can choose between continental at €7 or full Irish at € 10) was good but nothing extraordinary.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R0dluvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have visited this hotel, and I a once again very happy with it. It's central to all the main attractions in Dublin, the staff are friendly and the room is more than adequate.

I would definitely return to Dublin and would be happy to use the Arlington for the third time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for five nights and chose the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. The hotel and the rooms are a bit shabby--the teacups in my room were chipped, paint was peeling--this affected my rating a bit. Things I liked: good wifi; staff were generous in replenishing coffee and tea supplies in-room; excellent central location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked this hotel for 4 of us to stay in 2 single rooms for 2 nights. Having visited the bar on previous visits to Dublin and having had a brilliant time, I thought it would be nice to stay in the hotel itself. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

We arrived at the hotel about 9am and left our luggage whilst we had breakfast in the hotel and then spent our day sightseeing.

On checking into our rooms, I was a little disappointed with the view – the back of the hotel, but thought it would be quieter here than at the side overlooking the hostel. I was also disappointed with the old style TV, not that we used it and the overall décor of the room was very tired.
The towel holder was rusty and the grab rail was peeling.
There was a dirty mark on the wall at eye level, looked like fan tan or something similar.

Anyway, I decided to untuck my bed as I did the sheet pulled back revealing the mattress protector which had 2 black hairs on it, I thought to myself if that is what is on the protector what is the mattress like? What a shock I got!! I have never seen such a badly stained mattress, which was clearly urine. I took photos & went to reception to show them, who said they would come up & sort it.

We were shown another room on the same floor overlooking the hostel, we refused to relocate owing to the fact my sister had stayed in one of these rooms previously & it had been noisy, so they agreed to swap my mattress over, the second mattress was also stained, with what looked like blood and sweat stains.

In the morning I decided to check my duvet, only to find stains on that too, so my sister & the other 2 in our party checked their mattresses & bedding only to find blood on one protector & urine stains on all of the mattresses. We asked to speak to the manager. He came to our room when he came on duty & said he took our complaints on the chin & would reduce our room rate for both nights, we could have left the hotel but for one more night it was more hassle than it was worth to try to find another hotel with 2 twin rooms, the city was busy as it was Pride weekend.

We didn’t sleep very well on our last night knowing what the mattresses were like along with the noise from down in the bar which could be heard even though we were on the third floor.

On checkout, we bumped into the manager who spoke with me and said “you haven’t had a good stay have you? I will write to you” I have been home 8 days now and still not heard from him…..
The rate was reduced but not by the amount the manager had said, so he had to refund us the difference.

As I haven’t heard from the manager as promised, I shall be taking my complaint further.

We will never stay in this hotel again and will not recommend anyone stay here.
I have never checked my mattress in a hotel before, but will be doing so in future and I urge anyone staying here to check their mattress.

Room Tip: Are there any good rooms here? I doubt it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel is looking a bit tired and dated downstairs however the facilities and the staff make up for it. Made to feel very welcome by reception, very helpful booking trips, room is clean and beds comfy, showers good. Live music at night and the Celtic Night downstairs is a must, great band and great dancers and the food was surprisingly good - very well organised. Host at breakfast is fantastic cant do enough for you and the location is superb, really central just over the bridge from Temple Bar and great for shopping. Everyone we met was so warm and friendly, thank you Dublin will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,198 reviews
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,738 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,164 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#52 of 151 in Dublin
3,342 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 151 in Dublin
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Property: Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Address: 23-25 Bachelors Walk | O'Connell Bridge, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Dublin
#59 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Arlington Hotel o Connell Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing