We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience - steer clear.”
Review of Tara Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful experience - steer clear.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Receptionist lacked interest or courtesy. The room was cold and very unclean, two beds pushed together to make a double- bizarre. The door didn't lock properly and took a while to try close it. The table glasses were filthy. the outside carpark lights were directly shining into my room and the curtains were paper thin and didnt shield the light, so the room was permanently bright - all night. The shower was hit+miss -boiling or freezing. also The car pack ticket machine was out order, and a huge inconvenience asking the reception to help.
Disinterested staff , terrible place. for €80 room only charge. Never again.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    205
    221
    126
    104
See reviews for
130
276
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wicklow
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I booked one night in tara towers on Friday 27.09.13 for a girls night out in dublin. I had stayed in the Tara towers a few times over last few years and my sister was married there and always found it to be a clean hotel with friendly efficient staff. What a difference it was this time around. The hotel is run down and in need of a major renovation. There was paint peeling,gaps around window sills and around edge of lifts. The safety chain on inside of my door was broken. The bedside lamps where plugged into an extension lead.Overall hotel felt grubby and very tired. The girl that greeted me look like I was an inconvenience to her and she wasnt pleased when I had go back down to her as my key wouldnt work. The key system was so old it had to be jammed hard into the door to open. I booked a twin room for 1 at a cost of €69 without breakfast. I was given a room at front of hotel and was kept awake all night by traffic on main booterstown road.
On the only plus side loads of parking at a cost of €5 a day. I arrived at 5.30pm and was able to stay until 5.30 following evening.
Overall hotel was a let down after so many good years of staying there. Dont think I'll be back unless it has an overhaul.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank wickl0wgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is our 4th stay at this hotel and once again thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes some area are a little tired but I have to say we have never had any issues. We were given a room on the 6th floor, fabulous view over the bay, supersize bed, flat screen tv, and enough plug sockets for all our needs. The hotel breakfast is fab, self service buffet with lots of choice. I personally cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 604, on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilcullens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My rating of 'Very Good' is based on my expectations for a 3 star hotel which had some very good points. Although a bit shabby(which is to be expected with a lot of hotels due to the recession), I dont mind this as long as it is clean and it was. We paid a 49eur room only price for the two of us which was great value. It is an easy 5 min walk to the DART station which brings you to Aviva Stadium and Dublin City Centre in minutes. We had a very clean and comfortable bed and room (428 - nice and quiet). We also had a lovely fish and chips meal in the bar before the show, with good service and friendly staff. The cleaning staff we met in the morning were also very friendly, as were the reception staff (well, one wasnt so friendly on greeting - just a bit disinterested really). Although I believe the website says there is free parking, there is a 5eur parking charge and parking is limited but not a big deal as there is onstreet parking alongside the hotel. The breakfast is very average and pricey. 10.60eur for a continental, which had very little choice and 14.50eur for an average full breakfast option. However, I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone going to an Aviva Stadium event.

Room Tip: 428 nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in the Tara Towers for one night.
We booked through the hotels website and requested a room at the rear of the hotel.

On arrival we were told the hotel was fully booked and we were getting the last available room,
which was not only in the front of the hotel but also a smoking room. A €5 parking rate applies to hotel residents.

The room was tired and dated and the tv remote did not work.
Don't forget to bring earplugs, the windows are poor quality and the walls are paper thin.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limerick1ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed in Tara Towers hotels for 3 nights in the past week, booked on line through their own website and was given a small room with two single beds, asked to be changed and was moved into an 'executive room' at the back of the hotel.
Rooms were noisy, doors banging and fire alarm went off the first night I was here, music could be heard until after midnight.
Food in the bar is poor at best, service is average. Breakfast again is poor, food cooked up and left there, small selection of breads, cereals and fruit.
Location is good however a 5euro a night parking charge is a negative.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here twice for business. Last time was last night. The hotel is in a great location, has a pretty good bar with decent food. The advantages stop there!

It is quite old fashioned and the rooms are very grubby. Poor windows at the front with noise seeping through. In the exeutive rooms at the back of the hotel, there are paper thin walls. Doors were banging all night, music could be hear from the function room below.

Then ti top it all off, the fire alarm went off FIVE TIMES. Contacted reception to be told someone had put a cigarette in their bin, and was told not to worry about it!

I am a solid sleeper, but on this night I got a total of THREE hours! To top it all off you have to pay five euro for parking even if you are a resident. All of this for 80 euro.

In short I won't be back again

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a nice view of Dublin Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,346 reviews
West County Hotel
#87 of 151 in Dublin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,231 reviews
South City Centre
Trinity College Campus
Trinity College Campus
#70 of 151 in Dublin
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Property: Tara Towers Hotel
Address: Merrion Road | The Tara Towers Hotel, Dublin D04 A3K1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Tara Towers a 3 Star Hotel offering a warm atmosphere for those visiting the city, either for business or on a Dublin City break. 111 Bedrooms, views of Dublin Bay or of the Dublin Mountains. Our rooms cater for a range of needs, including rooms with a Double, Twin, Double and Single or Triples beds. On site car parking free, subject to availability Free high-speed WIFI* is available in our public areas and bedrooms. The hotel is the ideal base Next to Elm Park Business Campus, within walking distance to UCD Campus, St Vincent's Hospital, Blackrock Clinic and the RDS. Traveling by car, or public transport, the hotel is 10 minutes to the O2, Aviva Stadium, RTE Studios, and 15 minutes to Marley Park, Dublin Port and Dun Laoghaire Harbour. Ocras Restaurant open 7am serving Full Irish Breakfast, a daily carvery from 12 noon until 3pm. Our evening meal service starts at 5pm Monday - Saturday offering Early Bird PJ Branagan's Bar is open daily and you can enjoy carvery lunch in the relaxed atmosphere it has to offer, or dine in the afternoon into late evening from our Bar Menu which is available from 3pm until 9.45Pm. The Hotel has 4 conference rooms and can cater from 2 - 300 guests. With a wide variety of set ups and styles available, our conferencing department will be able to help you select the right requirements for your business needs at competitive prices. Private Functions, Parties and Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing