We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Tara Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Ranked #113 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Rooms outdated... Bathroom needs new bath and toilet. Bed v uncomfortable, mattress and pillows v bad for back/neck..
V difficult to open room door (plastic key). On the plus side! Location is good and price even better!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Allie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Public Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Allie
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel and we are looking in to and addressing your review
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
The doors at Tara Towers Hotel are open for more than 40 years and in the last 5 years we have had several rooms refurbished including 2014 and hope will keep going as we are now fully none smoking premises.
We as staff of the Tara Towers hotel strive to make all customers experience best we can offer in good Irish hospitality and we hope to have pleasure of your company in the future

Thank you we appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Parked on the road by the hotel so thought that's great as you have to pay to park in council car park. Receptionist didn't look happy and gave us a key to a room on the 4th floor. Lobby looks very tired. When we got to the room the initial look is very dated. I have never thought to check a mattress before, the bedding yes, but not the mattress. Thank goodness I did as it was covered in stains and was brown and nasty. We went back to reception to complain and the receptionisist gave us a room on the same floor. The manager came up to check the room and when I showed him the mattress he said 'someone must have dropped a cup of water on it'...When we went into the second room, it was obvious that the room was appalling straight away. I have heard of leaving a chocolate on your pillow but never the castor off your bed - see pic. Water was pouring down outside the window and it was a gutter that was broken. There was something splashed all over the wall. The lampshades were falling to pieces and there were black marks above the bathroom. Curtains were water damaged and the bedding had fag burns in them. As we walked out the room the manager walked past. I told him the room was terrible and we were leaving and he just said 'ok we won't charge you'. I have learnt since that the hotel is in administration and it is government run.. Avoid it. Even though it is cheap, it is not healthy to say the least. We booked into the Holiday Inn Express down the road and it was lovely...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodie041829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Public Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Foodie

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel and we are looking in to and addressing your review
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
The doors at Tara Towers Hotel are open for more than 40 years and in the last 5 years we have had several rooms refurbished including 2014 and hope will keep going as we are now fully none smoking premises.
The staff of the Tara Towers hotel strive to make all customers experience best we can offer in good Irish hospitality and we hope to have pleasure of your company in the future

Thank you we appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Receptionist on Friday night could not have been less interested in checking us in. No hello, smile, nothing. Mumbled something about the parking and walked away. Tara towers obviously invested all their money into the reception area because you will find the rest of the hotel is a stained smelly tip. The carpets in the halls were stained and the paint was severely chipped away at the elevators. The rooms are no better. Stained carpet, chair tore apart, wall paper peeling away with damp. The only redeeming factor in the room was the bed and bed linen was clean and fresh. The bar and/or hotel manager, who we believe was called ciaran was so disinterested in helping or serving his customers we were appalled. He literally stood and stared at us as we wandered the breakfast area looking for service. If he spent less time sitting watching the tv and took more time working on his customer service this place wouldn't have as many bad reviews. The guy who served us in the pub on two seperate occasions, we think was Seb, was an excellent server. His customer service was spot on!! Unfortunately you couldn't pay me to go back!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baconisgoodforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel in October when autumn had settled, and the rain, and the strong winds from sea blurted in over land and coastline. The Green island certainly lives up to its reputation: beautiful topography, valleys and mountains and wherever you go pubs and the Inns ensuring you'll never suffer from thirst and hunger.
Now, the hotel is ok. Average standard in the rooms. The service is good to great. People-related as always. The restaurant's menu contains the ordinary meals. The food quality is good enough, though not top and for the gourmet. One great thing amidst all this average ratings, is the service staff's attention. The pace of taking the order, cooking, getting the meal on my table quickly, and removing it when finished and ready for coffee. Bravo for that. I wouldn't mind staying there again next time I'm in Ireland, given that I got value for money. And I was happy to meet with some very nice people. But than again, the Irish people are nice and easy going.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless someone was looking purely for a budget hotel. Whilst the location may be good for some, the location for city centre isn't great - transport links are very good but if you're looking for a base for viewing the sights, this isn't it as you can't simply walk to the sights. This may not be an issue for some but felt inconvenient for us. I do need to point out that the the staff we met were nice and the bedding and towels were spotless. However, you get the impression of a basic hotel that will not see a DIY refurb for ages. I'm not usually one to be bothered about fittings as time spent in the room is minimal but the skirting board was hanging away the wall by about 4 inches, the bathroom ceiling was peeling, I was convinced the window was open the whole time due to the breeze and noise and the radiator area was filthy. The boxing in of the pipes was awful and gave off an impression of uncleanliness. I didn't feel comfortable here as it lacked a customer service vibe.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfc1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Requested a room on the 3rd floor (refurbished in 2012) but was given a room on the 6th floor. Room had a nice view overlooking Booterstown marsh and Dublin bay but was let down by the following; .
Room was cold and damp,
Carpet was covered in stains,
Paitwork was chipped
Radiator was not working and leaked, had dirty wet cloth wrapped around the pipes
Bed was 2 singles pushed together
Bedding was word and frayed
Mattress was covered by old duvets
Bathroom tiles needed re-grouting and a thorough clean.
Breakfast was terrible, the staff did not seem to care.
Hotel is in a good location but really needs some investment before it is beyond repair.

Room Tip: Haven't seen one but was told the 3rd floor had been refurbished in 2012. Rooms at the front hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ev0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Receptionist lacked interest or courtesy. The room was cold and very unclean, two beds pushed together to make a double- bizarre. The door didn't lock properly and took a while to try close it. The table glasses were filthy. the outside carpark lights were directly shining into my room and the curtains were paper thin and didnt shield the light, so the room was permanently bright - all night. The shower was hit+miss -boiling or freezing. also The car pack ticket machine was out order, and a huge inconvenience asking the reception to help.
Disinterested staff , terrible place. for €80 room only charge. Never again.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
The Bonnington Dublin
#120 of 150 in Dublin
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ballsbridge Hotel
#88 of 150 in Dublin
2,381 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Address: Merrion Road | The Tara Towers Hotel, Dublin D04 A3K1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £53 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Tara Towers a 3 Star Hotel offering a warm atmosphere for those visiting the city, either for business or on a Dublin City break. 111 Bedrooms, views of Dublin Bay or of the Dublin Mountains. Our rooms cater for a range of needs, including rooms with a Double, Twin, Double and Single or Triples beds. On site car parking free, subject to availability Free high-speed WIFI* is available in our public areas and bedrooms. The hotel is the ideal base Next to Elm Park Business Campus, within walking distance to UCD Campus, St Vincent's Hospital, Blackrock Clinic and the RDS. Traveling by car, or public transport, the hotel is 10 minutes to the O2, Aviva Stadium, RTE Studios, and 15 minutes to Marley Park, Dublin Port and Dun Laoghaire Harbour. Ocras Restaurant open 7am serving Full Irish Breakfast, a daily carvery from 12 noon until 3pm. Our evening meal service starts at 5pm Monday - Saturday offering Early Bird PJ Branagan's Bar is open daily and you can enjoy carvery lunch in the relaxed atmosphere it has to offer, or dine in the afternoon into late evening from our Bar Menu which is available from 3pm until 9.45Pm. The Hotel has 4 conference rooms and can cater from 2 - 300 guests. With a wide variety of set ups and styles available, our conferencing department will be able to help you select the right requirements for your business needs at competitive prices. Private Functions, Parties and Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing