We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but bad nights sleep”
Review of Tara Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but bad nights sleep”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I booked this hotel because the receptionist told me over the phone that it was a 10 minute walk to the RDS which is the reason I booked it.What a joke!It is at least quarter of an hour by taxi.Rooms facing the water,very hard to sleep with traffic noise.Also a door leading to go downstairs was right opposite my bedroom and kept banging all night waking me every time.We were in rooms 407-409 so avoid them!The single beds were really small,I kept thinking id fall out all night and my friend actually fell out of hers in the middle of the night!Rooms nice& clean though.Working tv.We requested a wake up call which has always been a telephone call in other hotels I've stayed in.But this wake up call was a man banging down the door shouting Are you awake quite abruptly and before we even had a chance to process we were awake,he had let himself into the room which I found very strange.Breakfast in the morning was lovely though and I found the other staff pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahdunne46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Sarah
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel and we are looking in to and addressing your review and experience

The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations , develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability

Thank you once again for bringing your comments to our attention
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    196
    219
    125
    104
See reviews for
127
271
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked a friday night stay in early January. At check-in, the receptionist barely greeted us and she made hardly any eye-contact with us at all.
Room was booked with a credit card, however when asked how we'd be paying, I replied that'd be with my debit card, (expecting to do so at check out, as they had our credit card as a guarantee)... "I'll NEED to take payment for that straight away" was the reply and the receptionist's hand came flying across the desk to recieve it. There was no mention of the breakfast that we had booked or any query as to whether we had a car, (which we did), and where to park or if we needed to pay for parking, (which we did or we'd be clamped!). I had to ask about both after she had finished with us.
Her entire demeanour and the whole check-in experience was very unpleasant.
Howevere, the unpleasantness was not reserved to one poor employee.
After exiting one of the two lifts, (the other was out of service), our room was located across from said lift and adjacent to a noisy vending machine. As we'd requested a quiet room, we returned to the front desk where, in fairness, we were promptly offered an alternative quieter room, which we took.
Upon entry into this room, we were hit with a dank musty odour. It reeked of cigarette smoke, yet was a non-smoking room. We opened the window to let in air and were greeted with the sight of dozens of discarded cigarette butts, an empty 2 litre plastic bottle and various other forms of rubbish on the inaccessible balcony.
The tv did not work and it's cabinet and several bedroom drawers were obviously many years overdue replacing being severely chipped and scarred in several places.
As we were conscious of our time constraints, owing to a further engagement, we decided not return to the front desk, and made the best of a bad thing.
Breakfast the next morning was adequate.
This hotel's grandiose name, "Tara Towers", belies the reality of very poor service and deplorable rooms. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Public Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel and we are looking in to and addressing your review

This feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
The doors at Tara Towers Hotel are open for more than 40 years and in the last 5 years we have had several rooms refurbished including 2014 and hope will keep going as we are now fully none smoking premises.
We as staff of the Tara Towers hotel strive to make all customers experience best we can offer in good Irish hospitality and we hope to have pleasure of your company in the future

Car parking Pay and display went in to operation last summer 2013 is now operated by outside company and we advise our guest it is pay and display on our website and notice signs on the premises of the Hotel

Thank you we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

At almost 100 Euros you will expect more. The building is a bit tired and nig very clean. Their website states free internet however the truth is that it is only free in the lobby and you have to pay for it in the rooms. This hotel has frozen in time 20 years ago.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jcATni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Public Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear JjcATni
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
The doors at Tara Towers Hotel are open for more than 40 years and in the last 5 years we have had several rooms refurbished including 2014 and hope will keep going as we are now fully none smoking premises.
We as staff of the Tara Towers hotel strive to make all customers experience best we can offer in good Irish hospitality and we hope to have pleasure of your company in the future

We offer Free WIFI on the Ground floor Public areas
WIFI is available in the bedrooms and it is advertised purchased online.
if you have seen it advertised for free please let me know and I will contact company

Thank you we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed at Tara Towers with my boyfriend for a weekend down in Dublin. We were heading down to do some shopping and have a couple of nights out and therefore went for one of the cheaper hotels as we weren't planning to spend much time in the hotel anyway. The room was nothing like the photos on their website, they must have been taken a long time ago and should be updated as this is unfair. Many pieces of the furniture in the room were damaged and we found hairs in the bedcovers and also in the bathroom. The room was freezing and we couldn't seem to see any way to turn on / adjust any heating. In hindsight we should have inquired about this at reception. Also, we booked a double room but received a twin room with the two single beds pushed together. This might have been ok had the beds not been two different heights. I would not recommend this place or stay there again, we have stayed in other similar priced hotels in Dublin which have been much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Public Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Anne
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
The doors at Tara Towers Hotel are open for more than 40 years and in the last 5 years we have had several rooms refurbished including 2014 and hope will keep going as we are now fully none smoking premises.
The staff of the Tara Towers hotel strive to make all customers experience best we can offer in good Irish hospitality and we hope to have pleasure of your company in the future

Thank you we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed in the Tara Towers in November. Arrived around 9pm and receptionist was very helpful and advised that it was important to pay the car parking fee at 5 Euros. The rooms were attractive and very clean. Good provision of tea/coffee facilities and excellent bathroom. Overall I paid around £65 Sterling excluding breakfast. Unfortunately I wasn't able to connect to Wi-Fi in the bedroom although was able to do so in the foyer area which is a nice relaxing place to sit. Overall a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Don't forget to pay your parking fee and display your ticket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Public Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Domey

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and we are delighted your were happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability

We hope to have pleasure of your company in the future

Thank you we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Both mine and another member of my groups cars were clamped in the Hotel carpark even though I had paid for the Pay and Display Ticket. It cost €120 each to get unclamped plus an additional €5 to make the payment over the phone with a card! Ridiculous!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Public Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Mark

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were clamped
Car parking, Pay and display went in to operation last summer 2013 is now operated by outside company and we advise our guest it is pay and display on our website and notice signs on the premises of the Hotel

Thank you we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for a night when attending a conference at UCD. The location was excellent, being only a short walk from the UCD campus. I arrived late, but the reception was well staffed. The room was large, comfortable with a decent bath and the room had a great view. BT wifi was available in the rooms and breakfast was OK.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have stunning, wide-ranging views. However, the view is across a busy main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Public Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Steven
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and I am delighted you were happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
We, as staff of the Tara Towers hotel strive to make all customers experience best we can offer in good Irish hospitality and we hope to have pleasure of your company in the future

Thank you we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,329 reviews
West County Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Regency Hotel Dublin
#115 of 151 in Dublin
1,379 reviews
Ballsbridge Hotel
#90 of 151 in Dublin
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Property: Tara Towers Hotel
Address: Merrion Road | The Tara Towers Hotel, Dublin D04 A3K1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Tara Towers a 3 Star Hotel offering a warm atmosphere for those visiting the city, either for business or on a Dublin City break. 111 Bedrooms, views of Dublin Bay or of the Dublin Mountains. Our rooms cater for a range of needs, including rooms with a Double, Twin, Double and Single or Triples beds. On site car parking free, subject to availability Free high-speed WIFI* is available in our public areas and bedrooms. The hotel is the ideal base Next to Elm Park Business Campus, within walking distance to UCD Campus, St Vincent's Hospital, Blackrock Clinic and the RDS. Traveling by car, or public transport, the hotel is 10 minutes to the O2, Aviva Stadium, RTE Studios, and 15 minutes to Marley Park, Dublin Port and Dun Laoghaire Harbour. Ocras Restaurant open 7am serving Full Irish Breakfast, a daily carvery from 12 noon until 3pm. Our evening meal service starts at 5pm Monday - Saturday offering Early Bird PJ Branagan's Bar is open daily and you can enjoy carvery lunch in the relaxed atmosphere it has to offer, or dine in the afternoon into late evening from our Bar Menu which is available from 3pm until 9.45Pm. The Hotel has 4 conference rooms and can cater from 2 - 300 guests. With a wide variety of set ups and styles available, our conferencing department will be able to help you select the right requirements for your business needs at competitive prices. Private Functions, Parties and Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing