We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good enough”
Review of Tara Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
westmeath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good enough”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Myself and a friend stayed on March 14th, we were checked in by a man on reception who gave us no information, just handed us the key, I later came down to reception to ask what time breakfast was and where we have to go for it, this should have been explained at check in. He seemed to be very inexperienced .

Our room itself was lovely, with a lovely view of Dublin Bay, a nice bonus. We were at a concert that night and returned around midnight to have a drink in the bar and were asked to take it to the lobby, I thought that was a bit early to be sent to the lobby.

The breakfast was nice and the waitress was accommodating when I requested more toast. I don't understand why a number of reviewers have an issue with the 5 euro parting, it's a lot cheaper than paying for a clamping fee. Overall I did have a good stay at Tara Towers.

Room Tip: A room at the front with views of Dublin Bay
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ebbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Ebbie
Thank you for taking time to send your comments the feedback we have received helps to develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
We hope you will avail of the facilities in the future

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    194
    219
    125
    104
See reviews for
126
270
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

spent 3 nights at Tara Towers, met by friendly staff at the check in desk, were polite and helpful. room was ok/average, shower works well, and bed was comfortable, room servicing towels etc done everyday, Bar staff seemed unsociable but we're polite when you wanted something, breakfast was good, bacon/sausage cooked well,and nice thick sliced
toast.

Bar and Food prices are a little high. but good
quality, we spent rest of the two evenings eating out.

not very close to local amenities but if you have hire car then no problem. don't forget to pay the 5 euros car parking, we saw two cars clamped within the 3 nights we stayed.....

We would book again..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Guest Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Lee
Thank you for the comments and appreciate the feed back as it help the improve on our service
it is always good to have feed back
We do advise all guests on our website and again at checkin car parking on site is pay and display and it is €5 for 24 Hours

We hope you will choose the Tara Towers for a future visit to dublin
Best regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed a week for work. Staff were very pleasant
Parking was five euro per day! No WI FI in the bedrooms, rooms warm but dated.
Biggest let down was the pre-cooked breakfast which was tasteless and cold.
Never again

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel for a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Joe
Thank for taking time to pass on the comments as we are sorry you did not avail of the free WIFI as this is available in the standard rooms, we have refurbished rooms twice since January this year and we are working to get all our rooms completed
The buffet breakfast is cook freshly each morning and replenished during service, I will pass on comments to chief

Do hope you avail of our services again
Best regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have stayed at the Tara Towers now for our last 3 expo's in the RDS. It is very comfortable and the view across Dublin bay is beautiful. The food is quite good and breakfast plentiful.
I have no hesitation in recommending Tara Towers for value for money and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Martin
Thank you for the comments and just to keep you up date we have had refurbish on rooms and if you are on the sixth floor it is beautiful as can see Dublin Mountains to the rear all of bay to the front

Look forward to welcoming back
Best regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived at Tara Towers and checked in 20 of us promptly an professionally. We were looked after by all the staff really well and they couldn't do enough to help out. The
Food each night really was something else, the chef specials an cheesecake of the day, hats off
To kitchen team. My sincere thanks
Go to Catherine, Barry and Maria who helped make the group stay as enjoyable as it was. This location is perfect for sport teams needing a central location to UCD Campus.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kirker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Guest Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you from all the Team and we look forward to your next stay
Best regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked hotel through reputable hotel company who rated it 3 stars. Well seriously it is about 2 star and that is being generous. When you drive up to the hotel it looks bad straight away the sign outside is hanging off the wall. We pulled into the carpark only to be greeted with pay and display signs. Receptionist was nice and gave us our room key. As we got out of the lift we were greeted with a very strong smell of cigarette smoke even though it clearly stated in the lift that from 2013 it was a totally smoke free hotel. We opened the door to our room and at this stage I felt like running a mile. Just inside the door was wood flooring that had began to swell so it was hard to open the bedroom door. The room was sparse with two cushions for pillows. There were cobwebs hanging from the curtain rail and generally just not a nice room. Since we had pre paid we decided to make the best of it and headed downstairs for something to eat. We both ordered bowls of seafood chowder which in fairness was delicious but didnt come with brown bread as stated but a small white roll.The rest of the food was mediocre. I cannot say enough about the staff who were all really helpful and friendly but the hotel needs a total makeover. Would never go back.
b

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballyerlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear B
Thank you for bring you comments to out attention we will certainly act on them and i will pass on you compliments to the staff

The hotel has gone none smoking and we hope all guest will respect the hotel policy
Hope you will enjoy one of our new room on next visit if you choose Tara Towers Hotel

Best regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

i booked this hotel for 3 of us for an overnite stay by phone .when we arrived there was just 1 receptionist on duty and the phone never stoppped ringing and no one to answer it. we were told where our room was located . the room was in a really bad state smelling stale no reading lamp not working there was no phn as we booked a wake up call for 6am.i used my cell phone to ring reception after 15 mins . i gave up and went down to reception and she gave me a nother room in the executive suite so we proceed to that the lift is in bad need of replacement .shaky.in the passage way to room there were electric perfume machines to hide damp smell. the room was a bit better .the fridge had been removed and the tea kettle was in a very dangerous position cord to short .the bathroom had strong smell of urine .basicly the whole hote needs a good refubishment from top to bottom its not cheap for a room so not good value. breakfast was a joke .when i was leaving i asked the porter who owned this hotel and he said nama.it was originally built and owned by the doyle family and it was 1st class hotel what a pity .if you intend to stay in the area .there are a good few hotel s arround dublin 4 and reasonable

Room Tip: room at the rear or side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moola90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Public Relations Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel

The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability

The doors at Tara Towers Hotel are open for more than 40 years and in the last 5 years we have had several rooms refurbished including 2014 and hope will keep going as we are now fully none smoking premises.
The staff of the Tara Towers hotel strive to make all customers experience best we can offer in good Irish hospitality and we hope to have pleasure of your company in the future

Once again thank you we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,324 reviews
West County Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
295 reviews
The Regency Hotel Dublin
#114 of 151 in Dublin
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maples House Hotel
#99 of 151 in Dublin
245 reviews
Ballsbridge Hotel
#90 of 151 in Dublin
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Property: Tara Towers Hotel
Address: Merrion Road | The Tara Towers Hotel, Dublin D04 A3K1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Tara Towers a 3 Star Hotel offering a warm atmosphere for those visiting the city, either for business or on a Dublin City break. 111 Bedrooms, views of Dublin Bay or of the Dublin Mountains. Our rooms cater for a range of needs, including rooms with a Double, Twin, Double and Single or Triples beds. On site car parking free, subject to availability Free high-speed WIFI* is available in our public areas and bedrooms. The hotel is the ideal base Next to Elm Park Business Campus, within walking distance to UCD Campus, St Vincent's Hospital, Blackrock Clinic and the RDS. Traveling by car, or public transport, the hotel is 10 minutes to the O2, Aviva Stadium, RTE Studios, and 15 minutes to Marley Park, Dublin Port and Dun Laoghaire Harbour. Ocras Restaurant open 7am serving Full Irish Breakfast, a daily carvery from 12 noon until 3pm. Our evening meal service starts at 5pm Monday - Saturday offering Early Bird PJ Branagan's Bar is open daily and you can enjoy carvery lunch in the relaxed atmosphere it has to offer, or dine in the afternoon into late evening from our Bar Menu which is available from 3pm until 9.45Pm. The Hotel has 4 conference rooms and can cater from 2 - 300 guests. With a wide variety of set ups and styles available, our conferencing department will be able to help you select the right requirements for your business needs at competitive prices. Private Functions, Parties and Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing