We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodation ”
Review of Tara Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Ranked #109 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We were slight concerned when we turned up as it's not a looker from the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised as he interior was clean and tidy, the reception staff were friendly and helpful and it was really good value. The coach from the airport stops directly outside which is handy and despite it being slightly out of town the buses in and out are relatively cheap and a taxi to temple bar was £18. Would definitely recommend for a cheap and cheerful stay in Dublin.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sgreenslade09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear
Thank you for taking time to send your comments the feedback we are please you had a good stay
at the Tara Towers hotel

We hope you will avail of the facilities in the future and look forward to welcoming back
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rooms clean. Staff friendly and efficient. Very reasonably priced for Dublin. Number 7 bus from O'Connell Street takes about 25minutes and stops right outside the hotel(going and coming). Relaxing Foyer area. Lovely friendly lady in dining room at breakfast time. I've stayed in the hotel for one night each month for the past few months and found it very quiet each time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandSmileplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am delighted your have enjoyed staying at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
The doors at Tara Towers Hotel are open for more than 40 years and in the last 5 years we have had several rooms refurbished including 2014 and hope will keep going as we are now fully none smoking premises.
The staff of the Tara Towers hotel strive to make all customers experience best we can offer in good Irish hospitality and we hope to have pleasure of you company in the future
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A brilliant room overlooking Dublin bay with Howth on the horizon. The hotel and room were well maintained and kept clean throughout, had excellent staff and lovely food, particularly the open breakfasts. Although being 4 mile from Dublin there is an excellent train service just a few minutes walk from the hotel, costing just under €5 return per adult and taking less than 15 minutes to Tara Street Station in central Dublin, just 6 stops away. The Aircoach from Dublin Airport stops right outside the hotel and cost only €16 each return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prhough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am happy with you enjoyed your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
The doors at Tara Towers Hotel are open for more than 40 years and in the last 5 years we have had several rooms refurbished including 2014 and hope will keep going as we are now fully none smoking premises.
We as staff of the Tara Towers hotel strive to make all customers experience best we can offer in good Irish hospitality and we hope to have pleasure of you company in the future
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A long easter weekend in Ireland, just what was needed to refresh my batteries.
Flights on the way out were superb. We were treated really well with Ryanair staff at Edinburgh. My partner has a disability, this involves Wheelchair, crutches and extra baggage. Crutches and luggage booked in without a problem. Security staff at Edinburgh were also efficient and thorough, but always respectful.
Flight was great.
Arrival at Dublin went without a hitch and transfer to Budget rent a car was seamless.
Car hire, was expensive once you add in fee wavers for accidental damage. I would get a fee waver insurance from a 3rd party next time.
Tarra towers hotel was easy to find (by using Satnav) Check in was seamless. Be careful if booking this Hotel as car park is Pay and display, even for residents. However as my partner is a Disabled Blue badge holder it is free. There is only 2 disabled bays for the hotel. Also if you park in the Disabled bay, expect to get blocked in .
Room was clean. My room was 514. The bath I think had been renewed at some point. The repair to tiling was very poor to say the least and the taps on the bath were loose.
Bed was of very poor standard. My partner and I struggled to get a good night sleep.
Out and about we visited Dublin, Waterford and Cork. Also we went to the peninsular (cant remember the name ) in which Dingle is located. Fabulous view.
In general we found the Irish people respectful and very pleasant.
Check in with Budget rent a car went ok, no problems.
Checkin at Ryanair (Dublin desk 13 Terminal 1) was a disaster.
Firstly due to my partners disabilities she has a little more luggage than normal . Our bags weighed 21.6kg. I am positive I paid for a 20 KG allowance. The checkin girl said no, it was 15KG. and proceeded to charge us €60 for being 6KG over. Something that was not a problem in Edinburgh. Also she refused to check in my partners crutches. This meant carrying them along with hand luggage and wheelchair all the way through the terminal.
I will book another airline next time. As any savings made were used up in paying to the excess baggage. Also the refusal to book in the crutches caused us a lot of problems.
Condensed review.. Ireland recommended, Hotel could have been better, Ryanair never ever again. Hope that helps everyone else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Tommy

Thank you for taking time to send your comments the feedback we have received helps to develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
We hope you will avail of the facilities in the future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I booked into The Tara Towers hotel last Friday night at the last minute. A double room cost us €57 which was by far the cheapest hotel in the area for a Saturday night. We happened to be attending an event nearby at RTE so the location of hotel was perfect. A short 5 mins in a taxi that cost about €7.

The hotel is located on the main road but we didn't find noise to be an issue. The car park was a very reasonable €5 for 24 hours, just to point out the following morning a car was clamped in the carpark so we would advise patrons not to take chances.

We were checked in by a very nice, polite and helpful receptionist and we were allocated a room on the 5th floor. The lifts, I won't lie, were a bit dodgy, on a couple of occasions the doors would get stuck or not open immediately. Our room was large and spacious, two single beds tied together like a lot of places do nowadays. The bathroom was very small however as were the towels but I'm only nit picking now. The bed was very comfortable and overall we were happy with the room, no noise whatsoever and tastefully decorated.

Didn't have a drink or food at hotel as we were pressed for time but overall for €57 in Dublin on a Saturday night, very pleased.

Note to management, we always feel it is very important to give credit where its due and we would like to compliment the receptionist who checked us in on our arrival and she was working the next day, Saturday, also. Also the night porter on Friday night, a gent from Manchester, we had a good chat and laugh with him, very polite and professional, well done on having good staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sineadandbrendan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Sinead and Brenda

Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am happy with you were pleased with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability and I will pass on your compliments to the staff
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I just returned from spending four nights at this hotel. All I can say is that it is cheap.

Rooms:
Very basic but clean. The laminate floor in our room was warped which meant you had to shove the door to get in. The double bed was quite small compared to other hotels I have stayed in.

Breakfast:
This was probably the worst aspect of our stay. Breakfast starts at 7.30 am as of when the bacon, sausages, tomatoes etc. are left to dry out under a heater. The only fruit available was tinned fruit! Toast appears as and when someone comes out of the kitchen to deliver it. They start to clean the tables (using spray cleaner) while you are eating!

Bar:
The bar is a standard pub bar that closes at normal times (not extended for guests). The bar food was actually ok.

For anyone staying in this part of Dublin, I would recommend the Stillorgan Park hotel - slightly more expensive but the difference in quality is well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Stephen

Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a very positive experience both staying and organising a conference at the Tara Towers Hotel . The staff where exceptionally welcoming and helpful , the rooms where clean and the bathrooms had an abundance of towels and toiletries . Breakfast was good value and had a wide variety from cereals to full Irish with a little continental thrown in . Conference staff really assisted us in the reorganising of the room with a great deal of patience . The sandwiches , tea and coffee where promptly delievered and we never felt their was a rush to leave either the conference rooms or bedroom . Many thanks for a fantastic stay . We hope to see you again .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziesun87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Suzie and Colleges
Thank you for taking time to send your compliments and the great feedback we are delighted your conference was successful and hope to have you use the facilities in the future
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,445 reviews
The Bonnington Dublin
#117 of 150 in Dublin
1,445 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Address: Merrion Road | The Tara Towers Hotel, Dublin D04 A3K1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £49 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Tara Towers a 3 Star Hotel offering a warm atmosphere for those visiting the city, either for business or on a Dublin City break. 111 Bedrooms, views of Dublin Bay or of the Dublin Mountains. Our rooms cater for a range of needs, including rooms with a Double, Twin, Double and Single or Triples beds. On site car parking free, subject to availability Free high-speed WIFI* is available in our public areas and bedrooms. The hotel is the ideal base Next to Elm Park Business Campus, within walking distance to UCD Campus, St Vincent's Hospital, Blackrock Clinic and the RDS. Traveling by car, or public transport, the hotel is 10 minutes to the O2, Aviva Stadium, RTE Studios, and 15 minutes to Marley Park, Dublin Port and Dun Laoghaire Harbour. Ocras Restaurant open 7am serving Full Irish Breakfast, a daily carvery from 12 noon until 3pm. Our evening meal service starts at 5pm Monday - Saturday offering Early Bird PJ Branagan's Bar is open daily and you can enjoy carvery lunch in the relaxed atmosphere it has to offer, or dine in the afternoon into late evening from our Bar Menu which is available from 3pm until 9.45Pm. The Hotel has 4 conference rooms and can cater from 2 - 300 guests. With a wide variety of set ups and styles available, our conferencing department will be able to help you select the right requirements for your business needs at competitive prices. Private Functions, Parties and Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing