We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre ”
Review of Tara Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mediocre ”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A bit tired, dated and none too clean. However on the plus side, the food was okay, the bed comfy, it's on a good bus route for Central Dublin (20mins away) and in a nice area. As far as value for money goes, it's okay.

On the downside, don't expect to get served a drink after midnight when you come back after a night out and quality of service the rest of the time is a bit hit and miss.

One point of note - the wifi is rubbish - Dublin buses manage to offer a better wifi service!

Overall, below average but I've definitely had worse and was ok as a base for touring.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Heidi
Thank you for taking time to send your comments the feedback, this helps to pin point areas which need addressing , facilities and customer service I appreciate and respect your comments and do hope you will avail of the facilities in the future
kind regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    207
    225
    127
    106
See reviews for
131
280
53
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in Tara Towers Last Sunday Night whilst attending a Concert in Marley Park. We were two couples checking In together and whilst we had a lovely friendly Irish receptionist our friends weren't so lucky. The receptionist on duty was rude and not very friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious the only thing was the fan in the bathroom it was very noisy!!! We watched the match in the bar before heading of to the Concert and decided to have a spot of lunch- carvery was been served, I asked for a sandwich but was told it wasn't possible- a bit odd considering it was a hotel!!!!! Its a pity the staff weren't very friendly, Unfortunately we wouldn't consider going back to Tara Towers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotellover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mr/Ms
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability

Kind Regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The Tara towers is in a good location, clean and staff friendly. Receptionist could do enough for you.
A good breakfast and a well stocked bar.
Car parking ample and as we went by bikes it was free.
Shower was really powerful so you have been warned

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WPritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear

Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback helps develop our customer care and training and I am delighted to pass your comments to staff
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have recently returned home from a weekend in Dublin and in the Tara Towers Hotel and although many of these pictures do show a poor side to the hotel, i can honestly say we had no problems at all! Despite a poor view from the windows, the room was functional and clean! Staff were friendly and helped with anything that was asked of them and it was lovely having such a nice quiet pub/restaurant in such close proximity where the food was outstanding considering it was 'hotel' food. As for those complaining about the location of the hotel and the fact its on a busy road are moaning for the sake of it! Not once did we hear a car passing and we actually found it extremely useful being on a main road as the bus stop is right on the door step of the hotel making trips into town quick, easy and stress free! Also the bus stop on the opposite side can take you right to the beach in 10 minutes making the location almost perfect as you are so close to the city center and to the quiet surroundings of the beach all at the same time.

Room Tip: When booking simply request a room with a view! The only issue we had the whole weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnesl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mr/ Ms

Thank you for taking time to write and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
And the staff all appreciate your comments
Hope to see you again

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of a coach holiday, ready for the early ferry back to the UK. Friendly, efficient staff who couldn't do more to help. Meals good quality and well organised. Bar very expensive but just meant we drank less. Room comfortable and roomy. Busy, noisy road at the front but the sea view made up for it. Nice shower.

Not the sort of place I'd want to spend several days at but ideal for stop overs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah6rmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sarah
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback helps develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a Just ago Holiday. Hotel was clean on a busy road, overlooking the sea, had a evening meal there which I would say was ok but not great. The bedrooms are clean and much like any other.
As we had to leave early in the morning, to catch the ferry they would not serve us all with breakfast, but supplied two bits of bread with a bit of ham slapped in the middle, not cut in half and a apple. Most of the other passengers in our party left them on the ferry. Disappointed with this let the hotel down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fordzodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear

Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your packed breakfast.
Just Go groups have breakfast at the Hotel before the leave to board the ferry at same time
I will contact the agents to see why this occurred as apologies for the pack breakfast

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greencastle, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great sea view. A functional hotel, needs updating but acceptable. Close to St. Vincents Hospital thence my reason for staying there. Also bus into city centre stops outside hotel as does Aircoach . Also easy to get to by car.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honda5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,371 reviews
West County Hotel
#87 of 151 in Dublin
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Trinity College Campus
Trinity College Campus
#72 of 151 in Dublin
502 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Property: Tara Towers Hotel
Address: Merrion Road | The Tara Towers Hotel, Dublin D04 A3K1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Tara Towers a 3 Star Hotel offering a warm atmosphere for those visiting the city, either for business or on a Dublin City break. 111 Bedrooms, views of Dublin Bay or of the Dublin Mountains. Our rooms cater for a range of needs, including rooms with a Double, Twin, Double and Single or Triples beds. On site car parking free, subject to availability Free high-speed WIFI* is available in our public areas and bedrooms. The hotel is the ideal base Next to Elm Park Business Campus, within walking distance to UCD Campus, St Vincent's Hospital, Blackrock Clinic and the RDS. Traveling by car, or public transport, the hotel is 10 minutes to the O2, Aviva Stadium, RTE Studios, and 15 minutes to Marley Park, Dublin Port and Dun Laoghaire Harbour. Ocras Restaurant open 7am serving Full Irish Breakfast, a daily carvery from 12 noon until 3pm. Our evening meal service starts at 5pm Monday - Saturday offering Early Bird PJ Branagan's Bar is open daily and you can enjoy carvery lunch in the relaxed atmosphere it has to offer, or dine in the afternoon into late evening from our Bar Menu which is available from 3pm until 9.45Pm. The Hotel has 4 conference rooms and can cater from 2 - 300 guests. With a wide variety of set ups and styles available, our conferencing department will be able to help you select the right requirements for your business needs at competitive prices. Private Functions, Parties and Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing