We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best...”
Review of Tara Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Ranked #124 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the best...”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Thin walls with many noisy guests throughout the hotel, uncomfortable beds, graffiti on the window sill inside the room, furniture stained. Overall really disappointing and kinda depressing.

Very accessible by public transport though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARNC514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, address problems with facilities so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    187
    216
    125
    103
See reviews for
120
265
51
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel end of June to early July, the rooms were ample in size, quiet, temperature was fine. Breakfast was very good. As there were 14 of us we managed to get a discount. The hotel was a little tired but the truth is is was all in good order no problems there.

The staff were so helpful in particular the receptionist who's birthday it was and the night porter who let me borrow his own shoe shine. That is the kind of staff that worked there.

nice hotel, very nice staff, food good. good price

free WiFi in the lobby only, so we all sat in lobby and done a strange we talked to each other

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Peter
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am very pleased you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel, and we will pass on you comments to the staff
I hope you choose to avail of the facilities in the future and we have also we have FREE WIFI threw out the hotel
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We came for 2 nights and we were at the very back of the hotel no view of anything. The curtains were filthy and burns in the carpet. Half the lights wont work and no table to sit at. Handles missing off drawers.wallppaper ripped and blod on the base of the bed. I could go on and on. Definitely wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owenlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, address problems with facilities so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were at the end of our three week stay in Ireland & decided to stay at Tara Towers for July 9,10,& 11. We were reassured that rooms 323&327 were at the back & away from traffic. When we were shown the rooms it was around 5:30 & traffic noise was loud. We were assured it was just rush hour. It couldn't have been further from the truth. The rooms were noisy all throughout the night! We were not offered a room change. The toilet didn't flush properly & I mentioned it to the front desk every day. It was never fixed. Wifi is only free in the lounge in the lobby & you have to pay for it if you want it in your room! On the plus side there were buses at the front door that took you into the city centre & wifi is free on buses!

Room Tip: Have no idea, we were assured our rooms would be quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Selma
Thank you for taking time to post your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
I am looking in to the noise situation as I am very surprised the rooms 323 & 327 were noisy as they are set back for the Main Street and used by both patience and paramedics frequently requesting these rooms as they are attending or working in the local hospitals
I am so looking into bathroom facilities and why a problem addressed on day
Thanks for using the facilities and for you comments
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Haven't been back to Tara Towers for a while but needed to be in the area for family reasons. We had two rooms one at the back of the hotel and one at the front, both on the 5th floor. Stayed in a refurbished room which was nice and fresh, they've left the bathrooms pretty much as they were, just added a bit of sealant here and there. Parking was always free but they're now charging 5 euros for 24 hours. Breakfast on the Sunday was fine but on the Monday and Tuesday the hot buffet was virtually inedible. It seemed to have been there since they started at 6.30am and we went down at 10am. The charge of 10 euros per person per night was a waste and I wouldn't do it again.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room at the back as the traffic noise at the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Venessa
Thank you for taking time to send your comments the feedback, this helps to pin point areas which need addressing , facilities and customer service I appreciate and respect your comments and do hope you will avail of the facilities in the future
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A bit tired, dated and none too clean. However on the plus side, the food was okay, the bed comfy, it's on a good bus route for Central Dublin (20mins away) and in a nice area. As far as value for money goes, it's okay.

On the downside, don't expect to get served a drink after midnight when you come back after a night out and quality of service the rest of the time is a bit hit and miss.

One point of note - the wifi is rubbish - Dublin buses manage to offer a better wifi service!

Overall, below average but I've definitely had worse and was ok as a base for touring.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Heidi
Thank you for taking time to send your comments the feedback, this helps to pin point areas which need addressing , facilities and customer service I appreciate and respect your comments and do hope you will avail of the facilities in the future
kind regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in Tara Towers Last Sunday Night whilst attending a Concert in Marley Park. We were two couples checking In together and whilst we had a lovely friendly Irish receptionist our friends weren't so lucky. The receptionist on duty was rude and not very friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious the only thing was the fan in the bathroom it was very noisy!!! We watched the match in the bar before heading of to the Concert and decided to have a spot of lunch- carvery was been served, I asked for a sandwich but was told it wasn't possible- a bit odd considering it was a hotel!!!!! Its a pity the staff weren't very friendly, Unfortunately we wouldn't consider going back to Tara Towers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotellover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mr/Ms
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability

Kind Regards
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
My Place Dublin Hotel
#125 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
West County Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Regency Hotel Dublin
#115 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Ballsbridge Hotel
#90 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Property: Tara Towers Hotel
Address: Merrion Road | The Tara Towers Hotel, Dublin D04 A3K1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Tara Towers a 3 Star Hotel offering a warm atmosphere for those visiting the city, either for business or on a Dublin City break. 111 Bedrooms, views of Dublin Bay or of the Dublin Mountains. Our rooms cater for a range of needs, including rooms with a Double, Twin, Double and Single or Triples beds. On site car parking free, subject to availability Free high-speed WIFI* is available in our public areas and bedrooms. The hotel is the ideal base Next to Elm Park Business Campus, within walking distance to UCD Campus, St Vincent's Hospital, Blackrock Clinic and the RDS. Traveling by car, or public transport, the hotel is 10 minutes to the O2, Aviva Stadium, RTE Studios, and 15 minutes to Marley Park, Dublin Port and Dun Laoghaire Harbour. Ocras Restaurant open 7am serving Full Irish Breakfast, a daily carvery from 12 noon until 3pm. Our evening meal service starts at 5pm Monday - Saturday offering Early Bird PJ Branagan's Bar is open daily and you can enjoy carvery lunch in the relaxed atmosphere it has to offer, or dine in the afternoon into late evening from our Bar Menu which is available from 3pm until 9.45Pm. The Hotel has 4 conference rooms and can cater from 2 - 300 guests. With a wide variety of set ups and styles available, our conferencing department will be able to help you select the right requirements for your business needs at competitive prices. Private Functions, Parties and Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing