We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tara Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tara Towers Hotel
Ranked #127 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
1 review
“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Very dated and grubby throughout hotel, room was filthy, food was poor, staff very inattentive and unhelpful, does not match pictures on booking website in any way. Was not at all pleased with my stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aoife c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear aoife
Thank you for taking time to send your comments the feedback, this helps to pin point areas which need addressing , facilities and customer service I appreciate and respect your comments
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    184
    210
    121
    103
See reviews for
117
256
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great sea view from our room if a bit noisy from the road. Our room was very hot and no air con so we needed the window open all the time, having said that the whole country was experiencing a bit of a heat wave so really no getting away from it.
We ate in the bar Friday night which was delicious and the breakfasts are great too. Drinks a little expensive but that's Dublin !
All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very accessible to public transport with a bus stop right outside.
Yes, the décor,fixtures and fittings are starting to look quite tired and could do with an update but still acceptable and if the deal was right we'd stay again no probs.

Room Tip: Nice sea view from front of hotel but road noise may annoy some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Sir/Ms
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am very pleased you were happy with some of your stay at Tara Towers Hotel, and we will pass on you comments to the staff and we are in the process or refurbishing room sorry you were not in the new room hope you will stay again
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and myself stayed on Sunday nite. My husband had appointment in Blackrock clinic on Monday. We had a lovely stay and we eat there on Sunday afternoon food was lovely and the waiter he was so nice. Breakfast was very good also.

Room Tip: First time to stay there our room was very comfortable and clean ,sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyt186602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Ms
Thank you for taking time to send your lovely comments, and I am very pleased you were happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel, and we will pass on you comments to the staff
I hope you choose to avail of the facilities in the future and we have also we have FREE WIFI threw-out the hotel
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Thin walls with many noisy guests throughout the hotel, uncomfortable beds, graffiti on the window sill inside the room, furniture stained. Overall really disappointing and kinda depressing.

Very accessible by public transport though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARNC514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, address problems with facilities so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel end of June to early July, the rooms were ample in size, quiet, temperature was fine. Breakfast was very good. As there were 14 of us we managed to get a discount. The hotel was a little tired but the truth is is was all in good order no problems there.

The staff were so helpful in particular the receptionist who's birthday it was and the night porter who let me borrow his own shoe shine. That is the kind of staff that worked there.

nice hotel, very nice staff, food good. good price

free WiFi in the lobby only, so we all sat in lobby and done a strange we talked to each other

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Peter
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am very pleased you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel, and we will pass on you comments to the staff
I hope you choose to avail of the facilities in the future and we have also we have FREE WIFI threw out the hotel
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, develop our customer care and training so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We came for 2 nights and we were at the very back of the hotel no view of anything. The curtains were filthy and burns in the carpet. Half the lights wont work and no table to sit at. Handles missing off drawers.wallppaper ripped and blod on the base of the bed. I could go on and on. Definitely wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owenlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear
Thank you for taking time to send your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
The feedback we have received helps to rectify the situations, address problems with facilities so we can offer our customers hospitality to very best of our ability
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were at the end of our three week stay in Ireland & decided to stay at Tara Towers for July 9,10,& 11. We were reassured that rooms 323&327 were at the back & away from traffic. When we were shown the rooms it was around 5:30 & traffic noise was loud. We were assured it was just rush hour. It couldn't have been further from the truth. The rooms were noisy all throughout the night! We were not offered a room change. The toilet didn't flush properly & I mentioned it to the front desk every day. It was never fixed. Wifi is only free in the lounge in the lobby & you have to pay for it if you want it in your room! On the plus side there were buses at the front door that took you into the city centre & wifi is free on buses!

Room Tip: Have no idea, we were assured our rooms would be quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia T, Manager at Tara Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Selma
Thank you for taking time to post your comments, and I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at Tara Towers Hotel.
I am looking in to the noise situation as I am very surprised the rooms 323 & 327 were noisy as they are set back for the Main Street and used by both patience and paramedics frequently requesting these rooms as they are attending or working in the local hospitals
I am so looking into bathroom facilities and why a problem addressed on day
Thanks for using the facilities and for you comments
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
My Place Dublin Hotel
#125 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
West County Hotel
#88 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Regency Hotel Dublin
#116 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Ballsbridge Hotel
#89 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Towers Hotel

Property: Tara Towers Hotel
Address: Merrion Road | The Tara Towers Hotel, Dublin D04 A3K1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Tara Towers a 3 Star Hotel offering a warm atmosphere for those visiting the city, either for business or on a Dublin City break. 111 Bedrooms, views of Dublin Bay or of the Dublin Mountains. Our rooms cater for a range of needs, including rooms with a Double, Twin, Double and Single or Triples beds. On site car parking free, subject to availability Free high-speed WIFI* is available in our public areas and bedrooms. The hotel is the ideal base Next to Elm Park Business Campus, within walking distance to UCD Campus, St Vincent's Hospital, Blackrock Clinic and the RDS. Traveling by car, or public transport, the hotel is 10 minutes to the O2, Aviva Stadium, RTE Studios, and 15 minutes to Marley Park, Dublin Port and Dun Laoghaire Harbour. Ocras Restaurant open 7am serving Full Irish Breakfast, a daily carvery from 12 noon until 3pm. Our evening meal service starts at 5pm Monday - Saturday offering Early Bird PJ Branagan's Bar is open daily and you can enjoy carvery lunch in the relaxed atmosphere it has to offer, or dine in the afternoon into late evening from our Bar Menu which is available from 3pm until 9.45Pm. The Hotel has 4 conference rooms and can cater from 2 - 300 guests. With a wide variety of set ups and styles available, our conferencing department will be able to help you select the right requirements for your business needs at competitive prices. Private Functions, Parties and Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tara Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing