We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I had stayed at the Uppercross for 2 weeks, and all the time I was there - I liked every bit of my stay.
The staff was very helpful. Every time I would return to my room after a long day, I would be delighted to find it neat and clean. The breakfast won my heart, liked it a lot.
The restaurant is good too. A lot of different locations within hotel, in case you want to try different view with your food. A calm place.
The only disappointment was TV. Me being a non-Irish person couldn't find any global TV channel or music channel. In case, I would have wanted to spend a day in the room, it was difficult to rely upon TV for entertainment.
Wi-Fi facility was good too. I was pleased at the fact that I could tune in to any of my routine online work without and internet connection problems.

Thanks for a great service! Would like to stay at this hotel again on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita_N87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    146
    52
    19
    7
See reviews for
53
110
43
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The owner and staff treat you like their own and are very warm and helpful. Highly recommend. Excellent breakfast included with our stay. Attached restaurant / Pub has great food and great Irish pub atmosphere

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were very pleased with Uppercross House. We failed to recongize that the front rooms (#'s 21 and 23) were subject to loud street noise and on Saturday, celebrating people until I called reception at 4:00 AM and had them chase the people off the front patio. Other than that the four days we were there we very good. The breakfast was splendid; bus transportation to city center was cheap and convenient and the was a large Tesco grocery across the street. We would go back even there were not towel rails. There was a safe and a small table and chairs.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingpees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinoso, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was the worst place we have ever stayed in, on arrival we were met by a frosty faced and unhelpfull receptionist. The room left a lot to be desired, though the bedding was clean. The bathroom was not up to standard, no toilet roll holder, no towel rails, cracked floor tiles and cigarette burns on the bath edge. How they can describe it as being diabled friendy beats me it was a hike just to get to the lift. We were kept awake untill 1.05am by music from the bar, it only stopped when we went down to complain, we had been assured it would stop at 12.00am we are sure it only stopped because we complained, after it stopped we had the noise from the bar untill after 2.00am. Breakfast was mediocre, one waitress dropped a fork on the floor picked it up and when she thought no one was watching put it in the cutlery tray. Not the cleanest of places it felt and looked grubby. I could go on but will end here DEFINATELY NOT THE PLACE TO STAY look around I am sure you will find something better that will match the price!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricciy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear Ricciy y,

I am saddened to read your response and that you did not enjoy your stay at The Uppercross House Hotel. We as a team, really try our best to welcome guests and to try and make them feel as comfortable as possible. I am sorry you did not feel you received this welcome.

All of our rooms have toilet roll holders, some are on the door and others are to the left of the toilet. Each room also has a towel rail above the bath and also one either on the back of the door or beside the sink.

I am sorry that you were kept awake with music from the bar. Out of our 50 rooms, there are only 3/4 rooms that are close to the bar. We keep regular bar hours,

The breakfast staff have been informed of the issue of the dropped fork, it would be unaccetable for this to happen.

I am shocked that you found the Hotel grubby. Our staff work very hard to keep the hotel clean. Some area's of the hotel are nearly 200 years old so may appear more dated than other parts that were built 12 years ago.

I suppose it's a matter of choice and some hotels are suited to some people and not to others. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but take on board your comments and will we endevour to do our best so that no other guest has a repeat experience like yours.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Eimear Lawlor
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from Dublin, where we've visited many times, and the Uppercross House Hotel made it the best visit yet. Though it's only listed as a three-star hotel, we got five star service. The rooms, though modest, have some surprisingly wonderful features: wall-mounted flat screen TVs, extra large bath towels, comfortable pillows and the option to have a mini fridge brought into your room. It's on several bus lines, so it's only a 10 minute ride into central Dublin. The accompanying breakfast is too delicious to be believed. And I had a number of odd little requests (needle and thread, a box to pack an art print) which were filled with great enthusiasm. Clearly, the owner, David Mahon, loves his job and his customers!! The adjoining bar, Mother O'Reilly's features incredible ambiance and wonderful food. The restaurant has a glass ceiling and the inner courtyard beer garden was filled with locals, playing instruments and singing, every night we were there. Other customers were primarily vacationing Irish and British, so we really got a feel for the local culture...so much better than some pricey tourist trap full of other Americans. We'll return there EVERY trip from here on out.

Room Tip: We were just a few doors down from the beer garden, but despite it being packed every night, ingenio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Uppercross House hotel on a Friday night. The receptionist was friendly, efficient and within minutes we were being shown to our room, we were both pleasantly surprised with the size and overall freshness of the room, It appeared to have been newly decorated, There were the usual amenities, tea, coffee, biscuits, the two bottles of mineral water was a nice touch! and there were toiletries in the bathroom, including a shower cap which a lot of hotels no longer provide.
I liked the friendly, sociable feel of the place, apart from the very friendly staff there is also a cosy lounge with comfortable seating, free tea and coffee, newspapers and a selection of books for you to wile away the hours, if you find any free time as Rathmines has a lot going on. The meal in the bar was really good and great value and I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel and there was some road noise.. and noise from late night revelers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Arrived and was greeted with a warm welcome and attention to detail. Check in was a breeze, we were shown to our room by A courteous member of staff or maybe it was the owner.
It is a pet friendly hotel.
Rooms were clean and spacious, staff are terrific,
The reception area is spacious and comfortable, plus coffee available for complimentary, there is also free usage of the internet in lobby.
Breakfast was good, girls were attentive, friendly, polite and could not do enough for the guest.
Free carpark.
Its an ideal spot for exploring Dublin or just chilling out,
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOLANNA-TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Yolanna2010,

I appreciate you taking the time to post such a great review of our hotel. I will be glad to pass your comments onto our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Uppercross House Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Eimear Lawlor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
4.1 mi away
West County Hotel
West County Hotel
#86 of 151 in Dublin
300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
999 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#58 of 151 in Dublin
1,970 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#73 of 151 in Dublin
358 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 151 in Dublin
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Property: Uppercross House Hotel
Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
#65 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing