We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Ranked #82 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Neat and quaint hotel. Rooms are very spacious and comfy. Food's good and like many reviewers remarked, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Their wi-fi arrangement is easy and although it misbehaves on my iPhone sometime, it is well preferred to hoops some hotels make you jump trough, like requesting a new code every 24 hours and going trough extensive registration and logging in process.
The hotel gives off a relaxed and well-looked after impression. There is a Tesco across the road and a taxi rank. It's a quiet location, close to city centre and in Rathmines area which is full of lovely restaurants, cafes and shops.

One of the things I was not too happy with as a matter of personal preference (apart from the fact that on some floors smoking and non-smoking rooms are dangerously close to each other and some rooms have noise-leaking doors in the walls leading to adjacent rooms with people who watch TV loudly or till late) is that the hotel does not have a huge amount of light. Whether it's a design feature or a bug I do not know but sitting in the room working I found it quite dark at times and even reading light by the bed does not seem too bright. The breakfast area on a grey October morning looks patchy - there are some places I would not sit to read unless there is a back-lit screen on my device.
Having said all that, it's a pleasant welcoming place, very well located for me and, also, I really like their paintings ;) And floor heating! That's just marvelous.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvetV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Uppercross House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here for work purposes and really enjoyed it. The staff are friendly & helpful and the hotel has all the amenities I need. A few decent restaurants nearby as well, so all in all a very good choice. Next time I'm in Dublin I will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Family owned hotel in Rathmines, Dublin. Not quite the best area of Dublin although there is a very good bus service into the city and good taxi service just outside the hotel.
Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. absolutely no noise at night.
Breakfast is excellent. Bar is a little quaint - it's in the cellar and you can eat there or in a conservatory off the bar. Food is good although not cordon bleu.Good lounges with coffee service and TVs.
Staff are excellent all very friendly and helpful. Best service I've ever had.
Laft our luggage there on last day whilst we spent a few more hours in the city. realised I had left camera in room but when I went back to the hotel fearing the worst, there it was with a big smile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My company moved me to Dublin and I had to spent the first weeks there in order for me to find a house and make myself comfortable.
I stayed there under the long-term option. Apart from being a very lovely place, internet service is great, breakfast is awesome, while the owner and the staff are quite more than helpful and lovely.
Also it is just a few steps away from some of the very famous Asian-Cuisine Dublin restaurants, like Little Jerusalem, Zen and Tippenyaki, while in the middle of Rathmines village!
It is within 25-minute walk from City-Center, while numerous Dublin-Bus options also available just to the hotel's doorstep. One of the best options for a pleasant stay in Dublin and the only as far as I know for a long stay.
Rooms have the option of a little fridge and/or a microwave.
Mother-Reillys, the hotel's restaurant, offers some of the most traditional Irish plates at a fair price.
I have already proposed this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yannis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Hi Yannis

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay and that the hotel and staff met all your needs and expectations.

I hope you are settling in well to you new home here in Dublin.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need anything at all.

Warmest regards,

Ann Marie Brannigan
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Uppercross and would definitely stay there again. We felt like part of the family; and the owner went so far as to give us a golf shirt that had the Mother
Reilly's logo to give to a friend of ours with the last name of Reilly. The breakfast was wonderful and the pub was very nice

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I had stayed at the Uppercross for 2 weeks, and all the time I was there - I liked every bit of my stay.
The staff was very helpful. Every time I would return to my room after a long day, I would be delighted to find it neat and clean. The breakfast won my heart, liked it a lot.
The restaurant is good too. A lot of different locations within hotel, in case you want to try different view with your food. A calm place.
The only disappointment was TV. Me being a non-Irish person couldn't find any global TV channel or music channel. In case, I would have wanted to spend a day in the room, it was difficult to rely upon TV for entertainment.
Wi-Fi facility was good too. I was pleased at the fact that I could tune in to any of my routine online work without and internet connection problems.

Thanks for a great service! Would like to stay at this hotel again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikita_N87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The owner and staff treat you like their own and are very warm and helpful. Highly recommend. Excellent breakfast included with our stay. Attached restaurant / Pub has great food and great Irish pub atmosphere

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dylan Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,009 reviews
Castle Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
1,993 reviews
West County Hotel
#85 of 150 in Dublin
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 150 in Dublin
580 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#72 of 150 in Dublin
805 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
#65 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £106 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing