We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“cool”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed over a week-end and had a good time. the food was nice, the bedroom too. For a city Hotel and the price it was overall good.
We didn't went to the restaurant downstair but it was looking nice too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doromic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    140
    48
    18
    7
See reviews for
48
103
42
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groomsport N Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Chose this hotel primarily to be close to our daughter in Trinity Halls. Was very pleasantly surprised with the overall package. Initial contact with receptionist was different but in her own way, she could not have been more helpful and informative. Accommodation, like a recent reviewer, was at the rear of the hotel so cannot understand how he/she could have been kept awake by the sound from the adjacent pub. Pints were served expertly by staff and the food including breakfast and dinner was excellent - don't understand how or why anyone would complain about getting too much on their plate. Have recommended this hotel and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Surprisingly good dinner menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroomsportRealist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booked for 3 nights as visiting friends in the area. Upon checking we and our friends could not help but comment on how unfriendly the receptionist was. This must be the same receptionist mentioned in other reviews, not a good 1st impression. Room allocated was 119. Upon entering the room we all noticed a smell and how dark the room was. As it was at the rear/side of the property (the building has a real quirky lay out) we thought well at least it will be quiet. Returning to our room later the pub next door had loud music on until after 2.15am which I could not sleep through. Also the room was very hot and we could not figure out where the temperature controls were. Breakfast next morning was excellent but I was shattered through lack of sleep. Spoke to another receptionist who was very friendly about the room and she advised she would look into us getting moved but could not promise anything until she had spoken to her manager but we may have to stay in the same room. This was disappointing news She also confirmed the pub next door was having another party that night. She described where the temperature controls were and to see where they are you can appreciate in the room information pack why they say phone reception if any problems. The temperature also takes 4hrs to regulate as it is underfloor heating. We packed our bags and left them at reception in the hope we would be relocated after having our day out. Returned to hotel and we had been allocated a room on 3rd floor which was quiet. However bathroom floor had hairs on it (not ours) and fittings where missing in the bathroom. Not sure how often that room is used. Difficult for me to wholeheartedly recommend as what room you get has a massive part to play in your comfort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Traceter

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in creating a home from home feeling for our guests here at the uppercross hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not experience this when you first arrived.

Our hotel is on the edge of the city centre in the bustling town of Rathmines. With this in mind you would expect there to be a few bars and restaurants in the vacinity. There is indeed a bar next to the hotel which serves late on a Fri & Sat night. Unfortunaltey we have no control over the volume of their music, which effects only a few rooms in the hotel.

We have 24 hour reception here at the uppercross hotel and if you are staying in the future and experience a probelm, please do not hesitate to call us immedialtey where we can rectify any problems within our control.

I am delighted to hear the food was so satusfactory and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We arrived early at check in and just asked to deposit our bag. The surly receptionist said that she would book us in immediately when she decided on a room. We deposited our bag and went out of town and had lunch in Dundrum. We returned that evening and had a meal. This tasted fairly good but too much for people who were not hungry. We were served by a lovely helpful waitress. Met the wife of the owner, a very friendly conversable lady.
The bar has a good number of staff but none appear to give the impression of professionalism although they cope adequately. I would be more impressed with bar and waiting staff dressed in white shirts not black polo shirts.
The breakfast was a joy to behold. Great fried eggs served by a smiling waitress. I have had fried eggs in 5 star establishments but none was ever better or so little time delayed between hot plate and table. Great. Oh! the bacon was also lovely.
A nice hotel very clean in a decent location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear lcoman

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Uppercross Hotel. People often arrive to the hotel prior to the checkin time of 2pm and we always do our best to get the checked in as soon as a suitable room s hould become available.

Our award winning bar & restaurant Mother Reilly's has a very exstensive menu including finger food and a selection of starters and salads which, if you were not hungry, might have been a better choice for your meal.

We like to promote a very casual and relaxed feeling in the bar, somewhere people feel comfortable to spend an evening. For this reason we dress our staff in personalised polo shirts. We pride ourselves in the friendliness of our staff which our regualr guests compliment us on. Please do not misconceive their relaxed nature for unprofessionalism as I assure you this is not the case.

We provide a buffet and full Irish breakfast to our hotel guests. I am delighted that you were so satisfied with the food and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The staff were all very helpful and the room had all the necessary equipment and the bed was clean and comfortable. Food in the restaurant was very tasty and the portions were very large.
Couple of points that could do with improving - TV picture was so poor it looked like it was snowing and the corridors smelt of smoke.

Room Tip: Don't have a room near the kitchen fan as it is noisy and the smell from it means you cannot ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Uppercross hotel for a no of nights on a business trip. The hotel is very quirky to say the least, but pleasant in its own right. The rooms are basic and some are very small. The tv channels didn't work properly and signal was very poor leaving you with bad picture. The shower had a mind of its own alternating from warm to cold but not too much that ud scream. The plus side was the food in the restaurant and at breakfast was very nice and all the staff are pleasant to deal with. The pub adjoining was great craic and had a good atmosphere. All in all I was expecting the ritz so I wasn't too fussed. Did the job for me. Would I go back. Possibly ....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deiselad07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#42 of 151 in Dublin
872 reviews
4.1 mi away
West County Hotel
West County Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
347 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
976 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Property: Uppercross House Hotel
Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
#65 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing