We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally placed for the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ideally placed for the centre”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 2-nights at this hotel following a 20% off deal through a booking agency. The hotel was just under 2 miles from the city centre which was ideal. There was ample car parking at the rear and the room was clean, comfortable and tidy. Breakfast was part of the deal and a good choice of hot and cold was laid on by very pleasant staff.
The purpose of the visit was to see a show at the Olympia Theatre and have a special meal out. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    140
    47
    18
    7
See reviews for
48
102
42
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We had a voucher for a stay at the hotel that we won at a charity night so Myself & husband enjoyed a midweek break from the kids here! We arrived & were greeted warmly by receptionist, shown to our room & explained that dinner was at 5pm onwards & where breakfast would be served the following morning.
Rooms were beautifully furnished, the hotel is really charming & quirky, I loved all the homely additions.
We settled into our room & went for a quick walk around the area in rathmines, hubby went for a pint in Rody Bolands pub while I got treatments in the nearby beauty salon.
We went back for dinner which is served in the adjoining Mither Reilly's Bar & restaurant. We were promptly served by the waiters, very friendly young guys! I had the veg spring rolls to start & this chicken curry, was fab! Hubby had chicken wings to start & burgar for mains, was huge!! We had a few drinks before retiring to the room, we went for a break from the kids! At about 10.30 there was a noise from the kitchen fans we believe it was... This went on for a good while, you'd never have had any peace! Called reception & the girl on night duty came down to listen, she didn't know whst it was but moved us to another room straight away with no problems whatsoever. Nothing was too much trouble.
Would recommend this hotel to couples, families, even a group of girlfriends would be perfect location for Copan bar for dancing & cocktails! The atmosphere in Mother Reillys bar is supposed to be brilliant at the weekends, we will defo be back! :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Dublin Uppercross. The room is tidy but not clean. The bathroom could have been cleaner (especially the mirrors). Some lamps were a liitle lose so that I had to fix them the first day, not getting afraid of them falling down on me during the night. The shower handle was broken to, but as we told the staff it was fixed within a day.
Beds were a little soft but good in size. Breakfast was a good irish one and some kind of continental - looking for a huge diversity on your plate better go for a more expensive hotel.
Assumped it was worth the price.
At least there was a little missunderstanding in our check-out time, so that we didn't got our breakfast tray in time, but as I told the staff they made it within 15 minutes.
Leaving the windows open during the night is not recommended on the backside of the hotel becaus of the kitchens fan,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear maddin85,

Thank you for sending your comments following your stay. I am disappointed to hear that you were not meet with our usual high standards of cleanliness. Our cleaning staff take pride in their work and attention to detail is key but on this occasion it seems that was not the case. Regrettabley there can be areas in need of attention that may not be apparent upon innitial inspection by our staff so I would appreciate if you could forward an e-mail to us with your arrival dates and room number so we can ensure all is now as it should be.

We have recently re-furbished the hotel which included new beds and mattresses. With the aim to accommodate our guests comfort we chose a mattress with a medium firmness.

For breakfast we have a relatively wide selection available including a full Irish breakfast (sausages, grilled tomatoes, bacon, pan fried mushrooms and eggs - either boiled, fried, scrambled or omlette)(vegetarian breakfast option available on request), wholemeal soda bread, toast, selection of jams & condiments, selection of cereal, porridge, variety of tinned and fresh fruit, yogurt and tea (herbal or irish breakfast) and freshly ground coffee.

If we can be off assistance to you the next time you are travelling to Dublin please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent one week here on holidays with our 2 young children. The hotel is in a good location as it is fairly close to the city and the surrounding south Dublin suburbs. We alternated between the buses and driving (the hotel has parking) depending on where we were going. The room itself was quiet, clean and modern. The breakfast area felt very homely (our kids would sometimes go down in their jammys). We also sometimes ate dinner in the restaurant. The food was always very good. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garreth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here while exploring Dublin.It is set in the southern suburbs at Rathmines. We did not have a car but from the nearby bus stop there were frequent services to all parts of the city with a journey time to the city centre of about 10 minutes.
We had a room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel which was quiet , quite small but well appointed with bathroom with bath and shower.
The hotel bar restaurant serves good local fare, but there is a choice of restaurants and bars nearby.
If you don't want to be right in the centre this is an excellent choice..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jph1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello 1066,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Uppercross Hotel following your stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop overnight in Ireland. My son was getting married just around the corner. David, and Ann Marie were so helpful in both the booking overseas and being flexible when our plans were changed due to illness. We especially enjoyed a early morning chat with Donna. Thank you so much for all your help. Say hi to Donna from Jack and Emily!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Second time staying here and very pleased. We were kindly allowed to check in early. The room was clean and comfy. All staff encountered were lovely and friendly and happy to give advice re transport etc. Love the rambling set up of the hotel and bar. A bit old fashioned and quirky but this is what gives it its charm. Not flash by any means but good value for money overall. Would recommend to others as a decent budget hotel in a good location with good transport links and a friendly, homely atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#42 of 151 in Dublin
872 reviews
4.1 mi away
West County Hotel
West County Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
347 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
976 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Property: Uppercross House Hotel
Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
#65 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing