We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It put us off staying in a hotel 4 a long time anyway thats for sure beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Uppercross House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 25 May 2009

After Only Being Able to get a chance to read the reviews now after I stayed I can relate quite considerably our bad experiences.
First of all I just have to say the breakfast is a complete no no, im still very unwell from it and its been and few days and its certainly the breakfast which caused it the same as another reviewer felt, my girlfrield being a vegatarion was only offered hash browns and beans as the full breakfast.
Upon our arrival and shown to our room we knew we had made a big mistake a strong musty smell greeted us in the room followed only by the schock to see tiled flooring. We felt very uneasy and uncomfortable in the room. We then discovered that within our room there was a door into the next room which could of being very disruptive had there people being staying there.
We also incurrred the same problems of another reviewer regarding the toilet breaking, the water pressure on shower and our underfloor heating wasn't working which wasn't to bad seen as we stayed there in may!.
A taxi into dublin city is about 10/11 euro, there is a taxi rank just across from hotel which is handy.
Im sorry i dont have much good to say but i don't even like to remind myself of our stay although some staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2009

located in rathmines in dublin the uppercross house hotel surprised me with its classy stature,tucked neatly away at the top of rathmines.i organised to meet friends there and have a bite to eat and a few drinks.
it seemed to cover every eating option meaning you could eat at the bar and in whats best descibed as a tunnelled shaped glass conservatory.to finish it off they have a full restaurant upstairs.
staff were friendly and casual,be prepared for the odd jibe, locals were off all sorts office workers and students.
rooms were clean and very reasonable all the hotel staff seemed down to earth.allin all happy enough to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegorbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Having read the reviews here before going to stay at this hotel it was with some trepidation we set out on our journey for Dublin. However, the reviews I read could not have been more incorrect.

The staff were fantastic from the word go, they were so helpful and friendly. This was the case from check-in to check out even though they was a change of staff from one day to the next. The room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable and the bathroom pristine.

Breakfast on the day of our departure was excellent, again the staff in the dining room were wonderful and the food was great. One of the reviews I read complained of there not being any bread rolls only sliced pan available! If this is the only "complaint" about the breakfast I dont think the owners of the establishment have anything to worry about! We also dined in the pub attached to the front of the hotel, Mother Reillys - again, great staff, great food and the four of us will certainly be returning to this spot in the coming months.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RugbyFan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed one night on this hotel. Our first reaction was unclean rooms that stunk of cigarettes.
It was close to busstation with buses to Dublin city centre every 10 minute.
The breakfast was awful, do they know how to make scrambled eggs? Yes, with old eggs!
So I spent the days after on the toilette. I know it was from their breakfast because I didnt eat anything else that day.
Avoid if u can.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UglyInTheMorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Having read some of your reviews I thought I should write mine something that always bothered me.. i stayed in uppercross house in 2005 cannot remember the exact date. I met a receptonist about 5ft 5ins approx wearing glasses dark hair and in her 30s approx. Her manner was terrible she was rude off handish etc. I was very stressed at the time and I just happened to say to her on passing I felt very stressed nothing more I remember well and she said something to the fact coming in here talking about your stress. Then i asked can i please see the room that really put her out big time. She was to put it bluntly horrible and a big turn off for me. I have since stayed in uppercross house and was made to feel so great met a beautiful foreign girl cannot remember polish or what. She restored my faith in uppercross house. I was delighted not to see the previous irish girl i had met

Stayed: December 2005
Thank jazabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

I stopped here as part of a hen weekend, when we arrived the staff were helpful in showin us our rooms except we had requested a smoking room and wernt given one, later to be told the only available smoking room would be over a noisy part of the building. Also the bathroom door didnt shut at all. Eventually we got moved but the toliet in the new room kept breaking, the thing that you flish it with kept coming off so I had to remove the back of the cistern to get it back on! The room was clean and pleasent. The breakfast was ok, there was lots of choice but not much could be said about the full irish breakfast, it was quite overcooked. Rathmines is a bit of a distance from the airport and about 10 euro in a taxi from dublin town. It has a KFC and tesco just over the road.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tisha_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

My wife and I have just come back from what I can say was a fantastic weekend.
I have stayed at this hotel previously soI had knew what amenities were nearby and and that is was good location.

City centre is a 9-10euro taxi each way. st stephens green 7-8euro each way. there are several bus route to city centre so that is also and option. Airport taxi is approx 22-25 euros each way. It was 25 euros going back but there was a big all ireland final game at croke park on the way back and the traffic was a little bad.

Rody Bolands is a top pub to visit the best in dublin in my opinion. One of the main reasons I stayed at the uppercross again as it is crawling distance from the hotel literally!!!! By day they serve food up until 9pm very reasonably priced and our meals were excellent. They also have all the sports on. By night it was absolutey buzzin great atmosphere little busy but good all the same. Live music sat night also, and if you like it a little quieter but still good atmosphere the madison bar a few down the road had a live band on who were really good also.

I was a little bit dissapointed in the room however, reason being, when I had stayed before there was nice power showers, comfy beds and underfloor heated floors. This time I must of got one of the older rooms should I say. The shower had no power more like (drip trickle drip trickle!) and the hot water only kicked in when when you turned the bath tap on. The bed was also very rickety and not very comfortable. If you get room 23 ask to be moved there are better rooms in the hotel.
On arrival the receptionist wasnt very welcoming either, was too busy eating her kfc and reading he magazine. I was stood there for about 30 seconds while she probably finished off her story befor she bothered to acknowledge me. Then we checked in we didnt get told where breakfast was, this wasnt a problem as I knew where it was but she didnt know I had stayed before and and should of explained where breakfast was and what time it is served from etc.

These minor details didnt effect my weekend as I had a fantastic time. Dublin is a superb place with good people. On returning I dont think I will stay at the uppercross I will venture else way however I willl return the Rathmines and visit Rody Bolands.
Mines a Guiness!

Gav + Emma

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#4 of 151 in Dublin
597 reviews
4.3 mi away
West County Hotel
West County Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
312 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 151 in Dublin
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
1.3 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#36 of 151 in Dublin
1,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#33 of 151 in Dublin
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Dublin
#65 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £103 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing