We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Uppercross House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$475
US$310
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Conrad Dublin(Dublin)
US$383
US$319
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$211
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Academy Plaza Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$516
US$490
Westbury Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castle Hotel(Dublin)
US$220
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$362
US$344
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
120
156
55
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
156
55
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrehomely hoteltaxi rankbus servicecooked breakfastsingle roombeer gardenthe breakfast areafree wifibar next doorstayed nightsbudget hotelbus stopfull irishnice breakfasttwo night stayirish breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Luckily we only had one night here - the layout of the hotel is really odd, up and down, all over the place. The room was dark and shabby, bathroom tatty. There is no where to have a quiet drink as the only bar was in the pub attached and it was very lively. During the night nearby church bells chimed every hour, on-top of that, the bed was lumpy and wobbly, and the walls thin. We left very tired. The location isn't too bad - we were able to walk into the centre of Dublin (if you don't mind a 20 min walk).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saguaroWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

we found most of the staff very friendly, the rooms were clean, breakfast was good.

However we were a bit disappointed when it came to settling the bill. Our party of 6 stayed in 3 rooms (all 3 rooms were exactly the same), but one room cost €20 more than the other 2 rooms, as it had been booked as a twin instead of as a double.

We pointed this out - the three rooms were EXACTLY the same, why should 2 cost €80 and the other €100? We felt the response we got was unhelpful and unfriendly - a pity, after a nice stay, we left with bit of a bad taste, and felt the whole issue could have been handled better by the staff member in question.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruirtheach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Dear Guest,
I am deligthed to hear that the hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay here at the Uppercross. It is unfortunate that you were disapointed upon checking out.

As you booked your rooms online, you were aware of the slight difference in price of a double room and a twin room. The reason for this is that a double room has one double bed and is smaller in size to a twin room which has two beds.

As we were not fully booked the night you stayed, you were upgraded to the larger rooms instead of the smaller double rooms, at no extra cost. This you were also made aware of.

Again it is unfortunate that you were unhappy with every aspect of your stay, the free upgrade was a gesture of good will and the general response from guests is that of a happy and positive one.

Perhaps we can welcome you to the hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I always enjoy my stay at this hotel. Easy to find with all shopping amenities nearby and a short walk into town. The area is student(ish) and the hotel is well managed by a friendly irish manager who is happy to point you out some local information as to where to go out for a meal, a walk in the park or just some local chitchat. rooms are a bit small and it can get a bit cold at night in the bottom rooms but the breakie is nice because it's upstairs in the wooden top bit of the hotel which feels like you are in a chalet in a ski resort! coffee is available free of charge throughout the day, free wifi and free parking. if you don't fancy going out you can just roll over to the nice pub next door which is nice too!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazlaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

After Only Being Able to get a chance to read the reviews now after I stayed I can relate quite considerably our bad experiences.
First of all I just have to say the breakfast is a complete no no, im still very unwell from it and its been and few days and its certainly the breakfast which caused it the same as another reviewer felt, my girlfrield being a vegatarion was only offered hash browns and beans as the full breakfast.
Upon our arrival and shown to our room we knew we had made a big mistake a strong musty smell greeted us in the room followed only by the schock to see tiled flooring. We felt very uneasy and uncomfortable in the room. We then discovered that within our room there was a door into the next room which could of being very disruptive had there people being staying there.
We also incurrred the same problems of another reviewer regarding the toilet breaking, the water pressure on shower and our underfloor heating wasn't working which wasn't to bad seen as we stayed there in may!.
A taxi into dublin city is about 10/11 euro, there is a taxi rank just across from hotel which is handy.
Im sorry i dont have much good to say but i don't even like to remind myself of our stay although some staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

located in rathmines in dublin the uppercross house hotel surprised me with its classy stature,tucked neatly away at the top of rathmines.i organised to meet friends there and have a bite to eat and a few drinks.
it seemed to cover every eating option meaning you could eat at the bar and in whats best descibed as a tunnelled shaped glass conservatory.to finish it off they have a full restaurant upstairs.
staff were friendly and casual,be prepared for the odd jibe, locals were off all sorts office workers and students.
rooms were clean and very reasonable all the hotel staff seemed down to earth.allin all happy enough to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegorbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews