We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Rooms were clean, and were more like hotels in US. Hotel is very dark inside, though -almost claustrophobic inside. They were very nice and provided a sack breakfast for us since we had to leave early for the airport. If you stay here, ask for a 'backside' room. Our window opened to a very noisy street (Room 212). We would stay here again, though. We were using vouchers, so not sure of the price, however it was posted at $250 a night. Great location to Trinity University. Also, close to Grafton St....a great place to people watch or shop.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,537 - 2,543 of 3,496 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

this hotel is really in central Dublin, quite close to Trinity College. If you book on line with the hotel, you are likely to secure a pretty good rate. The hotel itself seems to have been built or refurbished in phases so there are newer rooms (meant to be more expensive but occasionally you can scoop one for a normal price) that are quite nice. The garden rooms are second and the other rooms are 3rd tier. The interior of the hotel is quite boudoir (dark reds and funky lighting), the bar and restaurant are fine. Wi-fi is available in the rooms and there is a computer in the lobby. No gym but the use of a pretty good one nearby. It is my standby hotel when in Dublin as the rate and location are hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CavKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

What a terrific location! Have wanted to stay here but couldn't get in before. Very pleased we did and would stay again. The quirky decor is a real talking point and guests are constantly taking photos in the over sized seats. Six of us stayed and got a great Kind Bed deal with a comparison site, we were all very happy with our choice. The only down side was all three rooms were very hot and small and there is only air con in suites. However, that cant be a regular problem with Irish weather!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DecKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Trinity Capital Hotel for the second time this past June. My boyfriend and I stayed just one night, but our two friends stayed for three. And it seemed like we had slightly different experiences.

Our friends checked in before us, and had never been to Dublin. The two women at the front desk when they checked in late the first night, they were less than helpful. But, one friend's luggage had been lost by our airline on our way in, and she was concerned it wouldn't make it to the hotel. They were great when it came to that - the bag was delivered to the hotel and in her room when she returned from sightseeing.

Our stay, though only for one night, was completely satisfactory. However, they no longer have a free shuttle to and from the airport, which we were unaware of. But it was nothing that a quick taxi ride couldn't fix.

The staff that was there the morning we checked out was very friendly (perhaps my friends just got the bad seed?) - they stored our bags for us so we could explore while waiting for our late afternoon flight, and my friend was able to work from the computers in the lobby with the free wifi.

The rooms were very clean and unique, as they had been on our last trip, and the price and location were both pretty great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amksba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel again.

I'm sorry to hear that your friends felt that our front office staff were unfriendly, as you noted the staff you dealt with the next morning were friendly and accommodating. I have sent your comments on to the Front Office manager, as we want all our guests to have nice memories from all encounters with our staff.
We ended the free shuttle to the airport in 2009, I'm sorry that you were not aware of this in advance, I hope it didn't cause too much inconvenience for you.

We now also have free wifi in all the rooms, so on your next visit you can also work from the privacy of your room!

We hope to welcome you back again to Dublin and Trinity Capital Hotel.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

From the moment you step into the lobby you know this a special little hotel in the heart of Dublin. After travelling all night we were very happy that they were able to check us in early and then point us in the direction of somewhere to getting something tasty to eat since we had just missed breakfast. The rooms, although a little small, were very comfortable and the shower appeared to have been recently updated (no shower curtain, a glass 1/2 wall instead). We really loved the central location of the hotel since we were able to walk pretty much everywhere we wanted to go. If we come back to Dublin we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerfan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights for my 40th birthday at the end of Sept. The hotel looks great and has lots of different quirky styles. The lobby, bar and restaurant area's were decorated really well. The breakfasts were lovely, hot and plenty of choice and because the time frame was good ( i think from 7/8 - 11am) it was never too busy. Everything was clean in and around the rooms. The only few rough edges were that in the bathroom the shower curtain was dirty with make up, grout and sealant around the bath was black in places, floor tiles cracked and we didnt get a new soap for the sink! Maybe you are only allowed one for the bath area? ;-) The rooms was ok but a little cramped with the chair and table. Our bed was two single beds pushed together with bedding stretched over to fit, not the most comfortable. All in all a good stay and nice friendly staff, would stay again, just needed a little more attention to detail in a few places. PS You must visit the Guinness Storehouse, just for the pint at the top and the views all accross Dublin!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jushei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm glad to hear that you were happy with most parts of your stay and I have sent your comments regarding the cleanliness of the bathroom on to the Accommodation manager in the hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

What a wonderful place.

From the moment I walked into the hotel I felt comfortable and at home. The decor is not the usual generic, beige. There are reds, purples, big, chunky furniture in the lobby, amazing collectibles and artwork. Lovely, comfy, leather chairs and couches in "Cafe Cairo". Full marks to whoever is responsible for the decor. It is like going back to 1932 North Africa. You half expect Hercule Poirot to walk into "Cafe Cairo".

Our room was in the front of the hotel, a good size as was the bathroom. Except for the two nights the city decided to repave the street, our room was quiet. The staff handled this situation well and met with city officials about the noise. Also, the room had an iron and ironing board. Something I really appreciate.

The breakfast buffet is very good. The food and wine list in the restaurant and bar were excellent. The chef knows how to cook veggies and desserts! The staff were all friendly, professional and attentive.

The location is about a 10 minute walk from Grafton Street, O'Connell Street and the main area.

I highly recommend the Trinity Capital and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyDi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'll make sure to let our owner know that you appreciated the time and effort he has gone to with the decoration and furnishings in the hotel! He takes great pride in the Trinity Capital Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
954 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
2,358 reviews
The Morgan
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £117 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing