We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I found this hotel a few weeks ago on line and after reading the reviews, decided to take a chance and book it for my boyfriends 40th birthday treat. I have been to Dublin before but had not heard of this hotel, We arrived back today and I could not wait to come on here and do a quick review, Firstly, after arriving at Dublin Airport on Friday morning we went straight out side and book the air coach bus direct to Dublin City and our hotel, We paid about £12.00 return each for the return journey which takes about 20 min from airport to the city centre and hotel. We arrived in reception at 10am and the receptionist checked us in immediately, she said the room was available from 2pm , however we could go up staight away as it was ready and to make things even better she upgraded us to the executive suit as she saw on my booking form it was for my boyfriends 40th ( how lovely). The room was stunning, cosy and possibly one of the nicest hotel rooms we have stayed in. The hotel decor is very different, like a little Alice in Wonderland sean, its very much like the photos on here. I also had a peek at the other rooms which are just as nice. We had a tv in our room, hairdryer, towels /iron and board and tea and coffee making facalities. They put sealed extra blanket and pillows in the cupboard sholuld you need them which was a good idea. We ate int he hotel for the majority of our stay and the food was lovely and quite reasonable. They do a evening special each evening for £15 euros meal and a drink , I had the prawn and chicken stir fry which was tasty with a glass of wine. I also had toasted sandwiches the scampi and chips and all were really nice. Today we had the Sunday irish breakfast , normally 12 euro but they tell you when you check in you can have it for £9.50 now, that was sooo lovely, you can eat as much as you want juice/coffee/bacon, sausage, eggs, everything along with cereal crossiants , oh just about everything and all in very nice surroundings. This hotel never dissapointed us once from check in to check out. Dublin itself is great, and its only 10 min walk from the actual hotel There is a spa supermarket around the corner for all your snacks and driinks and plenty of resturants 15 min away. I would def go back to this hotel again for a bit longer next time

Room Tip: E mail the actual hotel direct they respond within 24 hours and are always happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquietolan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    1,294
    477
    154
    74
See reviews for
508
1,444
132
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I had read wonderful reviews about this hotel, and all I can say is that I'm wondering if we have stayed in the same hotel? We booked a room for two nights. Yes, the hotel is in a great location and the breakfast buffet is pretty decent. Also, some of the staff is helpful and the interior design is quirky and different.

Unfortunately, I think that the hotel's flaws outweigh the positive aspects. First of all, the hallways were filthy with bits of dirt all over the carpets that obviously hadn't been vacuumed. Also, in front of the elevator was a huge stack of empty pizza boxes, other trash, as well as, empty beer cans and wine bottles. They were picked up later, but the same thing happened the next day. Also, the hotel is quite old and worn. The rooms need to be renovated and the TVs need to be updated.

One of the problems is that the previous renovation wasn't even done properly. There is e.g. a hole in the ceiling in the stairwell. The bathroom tiling (walls, tub and floor) and its finishing is absolutely appalling.

The heat went out the second night and it was absolutely freezing in the room. Sleep quality is bad, because noise insulation from the hallway, other rooms and the street is nonexistent.

Our wake-up call came 15 minutes late and several staff members lack customer service skills, as they tend to come off as rude to the hotel guests. The front desk is understaffed a lot of the time.

Dublin is a lovely city and we enjoyed it immensly. Next time we'll be looking for a nicer hotel, though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard side for better sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. All our public areas and hallways are vacumed on a daily basis, so I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness. We move all the contents from the bins in the guestrooms to one area on each floor before it is brought to the outside refuse area, we try to keep the time it is left there as short as possible.

Not all of our bathrooms were renovated completely in the last renovation, I assume you stayed in one of these rooms. We think they are still presentable, and I am sorry to hear that you do not agree.

I am surprised that you found our staff lacking in customer service skills, we try very hard to make sure that our guests feel welcome and well looked after while they are with us.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Great hotel for dublin city centre activitie, really interesting decor, excellent friendly staff. The rooms were a good size not as small as you'd expect for a boutique hotel. all in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed at the Trinity Capital for 2 nights in October and was more than happy! Very well located to everything 'touristy' - walked to Temple Bar & back again in the evening (in heels!!) walked to Grafton Street, O'Connell Street and the Guinness Factory.
The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and kept very clean. We were in a Trinity Tara room which overlooked the fire station courtyard.. not a problem, with the windows closed you couldn't hear a thing!
Staff extremely helpful, looked after our luggage when we arrived early, and on our departure as we had a later flight.
Great choice for breakfast.. had room service the second morning of our stay.. little bit cold when it arrived, but that's what we get for being lazy i guess!

Overall a very good stay! Would definitely stay again, and as a travel agent will definitely be recommending it to clients!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you are happy to recommend the Trinity Capital Hotel!

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have stayed here a number of times and it's a fabulous hotel. From the quirky and funky design to the great rooms to the unbeatable city centre location to the value- it has it all!

Situated less than 5 minutes walk from Grafton St, Temple Bar, Trinity College, O'Connell St, Busaras, the Dart station and the Luas.

The rooms are beautifully presented with ultra comfy beds, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board in the room, flat screen TV and free wifi in the rooms as well as in the reception and bar.

Breakfast is a buffet and has everything you need.

I have always found the staff very helpful and most remember my name, which is nice and rare these days!

They have a number of suites which I've been lucky enough to stay in and they are big and luxurious if you can afford the extra cost.

All in all I can't find a fault with th and highly recommend them for your next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamDadandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the "Alice in Wonderland" themed Trinity Capital Hotel for three nights. Overall, the hotel was a good value for 84 euro/night. The lobby was fantastic; trendy, clean, a good place to start with drinks. The room (#538) was modern, clean, and quiet. It had nice reading lamps on each side of the bed and a flat screen TV. The rooms, however, do not run on central air, and the window controls room temperature. This is slightly annoying b/c the temperature and winds in Dublin vary, causing the room to be inconsistent temps. The bathrooms were modern, very clean. However, the faucet made water spray out of the bowl easily b/c of a design flaw, which means nearby stuff on the counter gets wet.

My biggest problem with the hotel, however, was the "double" bed. There should be a rule about what constitutes a (true) double bed. It is a pet peeve of mine when 2 twin beds get smushed together and they called a double bed. That's what you get at this hotel. 2 twins and a seam right down the middle of the bed. It is not comfortable and was disappointing.

Location of the hotel is fantastic. It's right on the fringe of Trinity College and 15 minute walk to any place in the city except Guiness brewery and Kilmainham Jail. Not far from anything but far enough away to have quiet in a somewhat loud city.

Staff was good overall. People were very nice and tried to be helpful when I asked for advice. The problem is that the hotel did not have a concierge. The hotel desk people did not have as much knowledge of the city as past concierge's I've dealt with. They also had to multitask (ie do check-ins), which meant small waits to talk to them.

Overall, there was nothing really "wrong" with the hotel outside the bed situation. It was better than an average hotel, which is why it gets placed in the very good instead of average. Still, it was not a memorable hotel, one that I would go back to instead of trying something new. It was a "good" hotel, a 3.5* hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dappealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.

We have airconditioning available in the Executive rooms in the hotel, all other rooms have central heating. Some of our King size rooms have two single bases and a top mattress that is King size. Our double rooms have double beds, they are what our American guests call a Queen size bed.

While we do not have a full time concierge, we have an electronic self service "concierge" that can give restaurant recommendations, directions, the status of your flight as well as a host of other frequently asked questions. Our front desk staff are also more than happy to help with any query our guests have.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork, ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Great boutique style hotel, in ideal location, excellent value for money, and super helpful staff. No problem with noise from fire station next door

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galwaygirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mari Hove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,775 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,225 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 151 in Dublin
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,494 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing