We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, modern and unique”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #51 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed at Trinity Capital Hotel with my family for my brothers 21st birthday. The hotel is modern, colourful, full of character and very 'trendy'. On arrival we were early for check in therefore planned to leave our bags to come back later. The helpful receptionist offered us a room if we wanted to check in straight away but explained that it was a smoking room, so said it was our choice, but we could come back and swap it if we didn't like it. We decided to try the room so that we could check in straight away. When we arrived at the room we instantly could smell the cigarette smoke smell and could tell it wasn't fresh air we were breathing in (we area a family of non smokers). We went back to reception and they said it was fine we could come back at the usual check in time and have different rooms. We later checked in and got 2 lovely modern clean twin rooms. The hotel is in a great location to see everything the city has to offer, and what isn't in walking distance is accessible by buses that can be caught not too far from the hotel. We found the bar really nice and relaxing with lovely cocktails on offer and friendly bar staff. Breakfast was excellent a really good selection of hot and cold quality food (the scones were to die for) and the juices etc. were kept full. On our second breakfast the table they gave us wasn't great (we're a family of 4 and they gave us 2 separate tables of 2 not next to each other) because a lot of the tables were reserved for a big party of people, but we asked if we could have one that people were just leaving and we eventually were seated and happy.
Overall our stay was fabulous the hotel really did feel like we were staying at a really posh place, a highly recommended quirky hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you all back again in the future.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,398 - 2,404 of 3,509 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Incredibly rude and un-accommodating staff. Rooms can get very stuffy.
Fantasticly different decor though and all in all a nice hotel.

Room Tip: We chose one of the victorian suites which was fantastic in terms of size and comfort but a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you found our staff to be rude and unaccommodating. We take great pride in having friendly and helpful staff, so it is very dissappointing to hear that your experience was not up to standard. I would love to hear some more about why you felt this way so that we can make sure it does not re-occur. My email address is mhove@trinitycapital-hotel.com

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel overall, and we hope to be able to welcome you back should you be back in Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Excellant location, REALLY friendly and helpful staff, great food, always clean and we hv no complaints about noise (we were right beside the road and fire station) It was expensive but thats what u expect for a 4 star central hotel. I can't exprese enough about the great staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dadster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel has an excellent location near Trinity College and offers a great over the top decor. We had a court yard room with comfortable beds and no traffic noise. Unfortunately the heating system was rather noisy and we could hear the girls in the next room quite well. Also, the hallway smelled strongly of cigarette smoke.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank brand82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I am happy to hear that overall you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us. Our radiators are generally quiet, I wonder was there some air in the system in your room, as this can sometimes build up and cause some noise. Our maintenance department keep an eye on this and "bleed" the heating system periodically.
We have only one floor of smoking rooms, usually these are allocated to guests who have specifically requested a smoking room - however when the hotel is fully booked you may be placed in one without requesting it. I would recommend contacting reception and letting them know that you would prefer a non-smoking room - when possible they are more than happy to move you to a room suitable to your preferences.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future should you be back in Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Really enjoyed recent stay in trinity capital . The service is great from the reception staff to the bar service staff. Rooms are great especially worth having an upgrade to a tara room which are quirky and large
The bar is lovely with a great smoking area
Breakfast very good with lots if hot and colds choices
The hotel is very central with trinity college just a step away but still remarkably quiet

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lemsip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for reviewing the Trinity Capital Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - hopefully we will welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed here over St Patricks Day weekend. Unfortunately it was for only one night. I would describe the lobby and common areas as modern eclectic. I had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The food was very good. The bar was friendly and the Guinness flowing. The room was modern and nicely appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great. Right across from Trinity College. Most of the sights are within walking distance. Temple Bar is very close. The next time I'm in Dublin, this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I am very happy to hear that you will be back to se us again the next time you're in Dublin - hopefully it will be sooner rather than later!

Best regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Went away last weekend to Dublin and stayed at trinity capital hotel.
The hotel is right in the city centre and is only a few min walk from all the bars and food places.
Iv stayed in many hotels before and I must say that trinity capital is one of the best iv stayed in.
The staff was very nice and helpful and always willing to help with anything you needed.
The hotel was very clean and tidy at all times. The room was cleaned every morning and towels changed. Had a very nice view over looking the court yard. The room had a flat screen tv on the wall, a hair dryer, a fan, an ironing bord and iron. Also tea coffe and milk.
The morning breakfast was about 20 euros each, Was a buffet breakfast with a wide range of foods hot and cold with as much tea and coffe as you want.

The drinks and lunch and dinner was also very nice. Fresh food and very tasteful. The price is about normal for the centre of Dublin, about 4 euro for a pint, food about 18 euros a meal.

The hotel has a very nice style to it, very colorful and very warm and relaxing.
There's not much to see in Dublin but is nice for a little weekend break. I wood 100% stay at this hotel again. :)

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank jakelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Trinity Capital Hotel with other Tripadvisor Members.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
970 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £112 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing