We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to run the marathon from”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to run the marathon from”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights for the marathon. We were upgraded to a suite free of charge which made it even better. Bed very comfortable, very nice staff, good breakfast (pay for in advance cheaper) and bar (Guinness same price as temple bar pubs). We'll use it again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeds9274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel, I hope the marathon went well for you.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon, or at least for next years Marathon!

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    1,262
    457
    148
    69
See reviews for
489
1,394
127
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

This hotel reminds me of Alice in wonderland.The decor is gorgeous deep pink and purples.
Its a treat to come back to this hotel after a day out an about in dublin city. It makes you completely forget about the hussle an bussle of the busy streets outside.

I would highly recommend the junior suite, huge bed, jacuzzi tub.
Brilliant value for money.

The hotel is in a fantastic location. 2min walk from dame street dublin.
The restaurant was expensive so i would advice you take advantage of the other near by restaurants.

There is no leisure facilities in the hotel which would be nice but its decor makes up for that.

Room Tip: Because there is no leisure facilites like a pool or spa. i would recommend getting a junior suite f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroupieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay to celebrate our anniversary. Lots of positives to report. First, a super location - no more than a gentle 10 minute stroll to Temple Bar, Grafton St and Trinity College, for example. We had a great room - Georgian suite #6. Very comfy bed with nice linen. Separate sitting room. Large bathroom with plenty of nice toiletries. Well equipped - tv in both rooms, safe, ironing board etc, but could have done with a decent chest of drawers. Bar food was above average and the breakfast was excellent. Styling throughout is eclectic and a little eccentric, but it works. We had no issue with traffic noise from the street or fire station, as reported by some reviewers. The only flaws: the lighting throughout is lower than most hotels; the room was very warm; some staff were markedly friendlier and more welcoming than others, though all were efficient. Would head back here next time I'm in town.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Nothing really exceptional to speak of here The entrance foyer and ground floor area have interesting decor. Staff are helpful, rooms clean and food good. My room was pretty basic, but perhaps was one of the cheaper ones. Location is great for exploring Dublin though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N_Young47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

This hotel has an ideal location. You can walk to almost anywhere you want to go. The hotel is directly around the corner from Trinity College where you can see the Book of Kells, the library and one of the best shopping areas in the city. The food at the restaurant was outstanding. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The one problem was the high temperature in the rooms. I was there in mid-October and I had the heat completely turned off but it was still hot and stuffy in the room. They kindly brought me a fan and that helped a bit. The decor was amazing and every time I entered the hotel I was aware of something new and fun to see.
I spent three nights at the hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: This hotel is next door to the fire and emergency building and next to that is the police so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here from October 24-27, 2012. It is about a 5 minute walk from Connelly Station (took the train from Galway to Dublin Heuston station, then transferred to the LUAS from Dublin Heuston to Connelly Station - easy!), which was fairly easy for us since we only had backpacks and carry-on-size luggage. Our room was ready by the time we got there. We got the standard double; like our stay at Forster Court Hotel in Galway, the room was a decent size, the bed was a nice and large king, and otherwise the accommodations were fairly basic (but whatever, the price was right for us at barely over $100/night).

The hotel is across the street from Trinity College, and just past that is Grafton Street. Temple Bar is right next door. If you're looking to stay somewhere and avoid taking cabs, or are feeling a little lazy about researching the public transit systems, this is a great hotel due to its location.

Sleep quality was okay, given that their light blocking curtains do almost too good of a job. Beds are comfortable. However, I would say that I requested a wake up call and never got it (good thing our cell phones had alarms set and didn't attempt to adjust to Chicago time). Also, our room overlooked the Dublin Firestation. Not a bad thing as far as a view (wink!) but I'd wake up to sirens on occasion. Additionally, I couldn't sleep at all my first night since the room got so hot! During my stay there we couldn't quite figure out the heater system (I thought I had turned it on but didn't hear anything, so I thought I turned it off but still didn't hear/feel anything).

Also, breakfast wasn't included in our rate. That was fine by us; we opted to eat out most of the time anyway. We did avail ourselves of the breakfast buffet the morning we left for the airport. It's quite good. The scrambled eggs weren't overdone, the selection was really good, and their pastries are baked fresh!

Despite these things, we would likely stay here again because of the good price, the central location of the hotel, the service we received and the cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and we'd love to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was the last two days of our three week journey in Ireland- the begining didn't start out so well and accomodations had to be re-arranged by the booking company, but they gave us the last two nights in Dublin at this FABULOUS hotel. talk about impressive- first of all, the manager, Mr. Pigott ( hope i spelled his name right, if not, he'll know it's the rider of the camel :) was amazing. so easy to talk to and very much wanting the guests to be comfortable. he even allowed my-50-ish-self and my 50-ish friend to take our picture on/with the camels in the morrocan style courtyard. it was a blast!! The hotel is absolutely beautiful- beautiful decor, awesome food and great staff. it really was the BEST part of the trip. we were looking forward to going home, but after two nights in that hotel, we didn't want to leave. i believe we will visit ireland again, and stay at that very hotel. it's fabulous and anyone going to dublin needs to check it out. it's literally right around the corner from grafton street. and thank you, Mr. Pigott, for all of your help, you were truly awesome!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindycat1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
I will be sure to let John know about your glowing review - he's definitely very well liked by our guests!

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing