We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Trinity Capital has wonderful public areas, nice rooms, and friendly staff. The bathrooms are very modern and everything is clean. It just happens to be right next to a fire station. We traveled during a very hot spell in July and though they made every effort to give us fans, it was hard to leave windows open at night with the noise. There was also a homeless person camped out just under our window, which does not lend a good feeling. If you're traveling during a cooler time of year, the noise would not be a problem as the windows block all the noise, but I'd choose another hotel is you're going in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,433)
There are newer reviews for Trinity City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 3,433 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We just spent the final two days of our road trip around Ireland here and it was delightful. The hotel is ideally situated for seeing Dublin. The decor is funky and different and our room was lovely, quiet and comfortable. We requested a room with a bath on arrival and the staff made site we got one. Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. They helped us with parking, happily gave recommendations and answered any questions with patience and a smile. If we return to Dublin, we will definitely stay here again. It is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snaphappylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Trinity, we found it to be a great location & a nice hotel. Unfortunately the floor we stayed on was not air conditioned. This is probably not an issue most of the year but during our time there Dublin was experiencing a bit of a heat wave. The room was nice and clean but nothing exceptional. The breakfast was overpriced but edible. The bartenders were friendly but not attentive. (They did not come out to check if we needed/wanted anything else.) We did have lunch one day in the restaurant which was good. Our waitress was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonGriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I am happy that you feel we are well located and that you enjoyed your lunch in our restaurant. It was disappointing to read that you did not recieve good service in the bar, I will discuss this with our team.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and overall had a good experience. The staff on check in were lovely and friendly, but sadly we didn't see them again during our stay, and the other front desk staff were less friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a Heritage Suite, which was a lovely room although up 2 flights of stairs to get to it. I think if we'd paid extra for the room we would have been a bit disappointed - the shower rail was broken, the light above the bathroom mirror didn't work, and our room didn't get made up until after 5pm. But overall the room was comfortable, the hotel is in a great spot and the restaurant was nice for a quick meal before catching the bus. If you can get a special price for the room I would recommend this place. Room Tip: our room looked out towards the fire station, which was a bit noisy at times.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. i was happy to read that you had an overall good stay with us. Thank you for pointing out the issues you had with your bedroom, we will be sure to address these.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the Trinity Capital Hotel, based on the recommendations of my daughter and her husband and my brother and sister-in-law and am very glad we did. The location was perfect - right across from Trinity College and easy walking distance to Temple Bar area, O'Connell Street, and many great pubs. The decor in the hotel lobby really sets it apart and I think no one can resist trying out the oversized "Alice in Wonderland" type chairs. We were surprised that you could get a room for such a reasonable price (the one we booked was 98 euro) but when we arrived, we were told we had been upgraded to a very nice room on the main floor. We had not added breakfast to our room, but they also gave us coupons for a discount at breakfast. The room was a bit warm as we were there during a rare heat wave - but not unbearable - and the weather wasn't their fault. Air conditioning is not common in Ireland, so this was not unusual.They were very accommodating about letting us leave our luggage there after we had checked out ,as we were taking a half day trip to Newgrange and Knowth before catching a train. They also called our cab for us. I would definitley stay here again if ever we are back in Dublin and wish our stay had been a bit longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here with one other couple, the stay in dublin was to celebrate a 40th birthday. On arriving at the hotel we were both upgraded to suites which were lovely. Our friends stated that it was the best room they had ever stayed in. Yes it was a little warm in the room and we were given fans, however my husband said he thought the temperature was fine It was actually cheaper to drink in the hotel than most of the pubs in the area. The food was excellent. We had a lovely lovely stay and the staff were so friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen_dave_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. Was my boyfriends birthday so I upgraded to a suite and was not disappointed. The Tara rooms are stunning. Lots of space, air con, huge bed and jacuzzi bath.
Staff at the hotel were very polite and check in/check out quick and hassle free.
Breakfast was lovely. Buffet style, with plenty of choice. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening which was great.
Location wise the hotel was perfect. 5minute walk to temple bar and bus stops. Hop on hop off bus tour also stops just round the corner from hotel.
We loved staying here and when we return to Dublin we will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashaj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,880 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
919 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,553 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £121 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing