We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, decent price, slightly odd”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #51 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, decent price, slightly odd”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I think I agree with most of the other reviewers' comments, both positive and negative.

The location of the Trinity Capital Hotel is excellent, given the price. You're near enough to walk to most Dublin attractions, but not in the crazy middle of it all. I found the staff to be helpful, and the breakfast buffet was great. Though the menu was the same every day, it was tasty, and filling. I never needed lunch after one of these breakfasts.

The downsides: Wireless access was down for more than a day, which was a problem for me. The room I had overlooked the busy street in the front of the hotel, and as others have noted, the only air circulation comes from opening the window. I couldn't sleep with the road noise, so the room got pretty stuffy and warm overnight. Luckily the road wasn't too noisy, when the window was closed.

Overall, not perfect, but pretty good. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: The room I got via travelocity was TINY. When I looked on the fire escape map, I saw it was the tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyseagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,346
    1,280
    465
    152
    70
See reviews for
496
1,418
130
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Trinity Capital for 4 nights the beginning of July. The location was just fabulous and we were able to walk everywhere in Dublin. When we arrived, the normal room was a bit stuffy with no air conditioning. We switched to an upgraded room with AC which for us was worth the extra price. It was a lovely executive room but we would have preferred the normal room with AC. It would be nice if the hotel had something in between the two rooms. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel so I cannot comment on that. The staff was very helpful. Overall, it was a great stay in Dublin!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preppytraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

trinity capital hotel is beautiful. on arrival we had to wait until 2pm for check in which wasn't a problem. we simply secured our luggage in the hotel and went shopping. the rooms were very nice maybe too hot as the window didn't open much. very comfortable beds. we had our evening meal in the hotel which was very tasty and reasonably priced. the breakfast the next morning was very nice with a buffet style service. staff very helpful. would stay here again. ideally situated not too far from temple bar

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was my first trip to Dublin and I enjoyed the decor of the lobby etc.. However the rooms were stifling hot with no air circulation. I was unable to sleep due to the intensity of the hot weather and the only thing the staff could do to help was bring me a glass of cold water. well meaning , but I left the next day and went to another hotel that had aircon and fans.

Room Tip: go in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had such an uncomfortable stay with us. Unfortunately not all of our bedrooms currently have air conditioning, but we hope to be in a position to remedy this over the coming months.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us at Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

the room was so hot, there was no water or toothpaste. Overall, ok. Wait staff were nice.
The walls were way too purple. Cozy atmosphere fail. When you walk into the foyer you feel like you're on Dragons Den.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. As mentioned in alot of our previous reviews our decor is one of our most unique selling points, so I was disappointed to read that you did not like our hotels design, but we thank you for your feedback.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby in the UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Wow from the moment you stepped in to the foyer I knew I had made a good choice. The hotel is just so much full of charm, charisma, it is bizarre and eccentric but all in a good way, tastefully decorated with an eclectic mix of ornaments and features.
The rooms are quite small, but they are designed in such a way that the hotel utilises the available space to make it comfortable and effective, providing a safe, coffee making facilities and decent hanging space for clothes.
The breakfast was fantastic, typical all you can eat Irish breakfast, in fact the breakfast was so good in terms of quality and value that for the three days we never wanted to venture out to look for an alternative.
The hotel is also very good for a pre or post evening drink, with a great bar and comfortable seating areas, which we always looked forward to ending a night in Dublin with a night cap in the hotel.
From day one until we left all the staff were so polite and helpful who are a credit to the hotel.
Location is very good and central to get to the night life in Dublin, possibly less than 10 minutes to the Temple bar area. The train station is approximately 5 minutes’ walk away, which is ideal to explore other parts of Dublin a bit further afield, to experience the quitter side of life.
The only down side to the hotel is that there is a nice courtyard area, but I wish it was cleaned a bit more regular to get rid of empty plates and discarded cigarettes. That is my only negative point.
In summary a lovely quirky hotel, it’s clean, comfortable, quiet and very nicely located. Staff are fantastic, facilities are excellent and a great breakfast too boot. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
228 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Quirky from the foyer, bar and restaurant, with huge mad hatter chairs and unusual colours of purples and reds which looks great, but the staff are kurt or maybe just unhappy, the rooms (although the beds are nice and big) are stuffy with no air conditioning or even a simple fan, very outdated and need of an update even a bigger open window would of sufficed! Not saying we did not enjoy our stay we did, the bathroom was modernised, and the breakfast very nice and snack we had for dinner too, just needs some extra thought even bedside tables would be good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing