We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot as blazes!!!!”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #45 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked three rooms way back in March and two of us were on the 6th floor. The weather was in the 60's but the rooms were in the 90's with no A/C. We do not expect A/C normally but if the hotel KNOWS this hall of rooms is always hot, why wouldn't they do something? 30 degrees higher than the outside temp is abnormal. When we asked the front desk clerk if anything could be done, her response was "'have you spoken to a manager?" Am I really supposed to track down her manager/colleague while on vacation???? Couldn't she speak to the manager on our behalf? What is her job description anyway. In addition, she booked us a car for the airport which was too small for 6 people and the luggage!! So we had to pay for two cars. Training needed for this staff for sure.....
I would stay at the Westin a block away next time.
It may be worth a trip to see the decor as it is quite different; someone was definitely on an acid trip!!!

Room Tip: do not stay on the 6th floor in the wing with the entrance by the grand pianos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 633claudiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I am sorry that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us, and we thank you for your valued feedback.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,826 - 1,832 of 3,583 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had reserved two rooms. Upon arrival, they have us an upgrade to an exec. suite because they were unavailable to fulfill request. We happily took the upgrade and were very pleased. The staff were so courteous everywhere within the hotel: the front desk, the bell hops, the restaurant staff, etc. We recommend the buffet breakfast, very convenient and decent price. For those of you traveling alone, especially women, the hotel seemed well staffed and secure. The hotel has elevators that only stop on the floor that your room key is programmed to. Although there are always ways around these things, it does give you a bit more security that only guest can use the elevator- no toon key, no elevator.

Our party consisted of 5 adults. The weekend we stayed was a bank holiday and a 5k race day. Lots of guest in the hotel! Still the desk, swamped with guests, did it with a smile and did not let stress show. Everything is a short walk from the hotel (5-10 min) and Trinity College is across the street (Book of Kells).

The hotel has a gym on the 3rd floor, although we didn't use it.

Our room was on the 4th floor, over the fire station! Lol. We didn't notice it. The exec suite had sir conditioning and was a triple with couch, flat screen tv, and cool colorful art. Our room was a bit more sime with two twins and no a/c. Our windows did open and we were very comfortable temperature wise.

If you are a light sleeper request a room that is not street side, as revel lets will surely wake you up at around 2am when the bars close.

The night before we left, we had the front desk arrange for a cab to the airport for us-(buses were on strike). The next morning our cab was waiting for us. The cab ride was appx. 28 euro and took about 15 minutes at 5:45am.

All five of us were very pleased with our two night stay here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosegoose68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Clean, friendly hotel. The food in the restaurant was surprising good for a smaller hotel, and the bar stays open late for guests. I had a room in the newer part of the hotel, which was large and very pleasant.

Conveniently located, close enough to the Temple Bar Area to make it home after a few drinks, but not too close to hear the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Perfect choice for location,staff very helpful and friendly,great breakfast. Great ambience,will recommend highly to friends. Parking was around the corner,easy to get too. Needed assistance with PowerPoint close to bed ,staff quickly organised extension cord.the rooms were very clean and quiet . We arrived too early too checkiin,the staff organised our luggage too be stored,then marked out quite a few areas of interest on a map for us,also recommended several pubs and restaurants for a meal. The pub we chose turned out to be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Trinity Capital for 3 nights and in general it was OK but I can't say that I understand how it's a four star. People here raved about how quirky it was but in general I found it a bit dark, worn and claustrophobic. I'm not too picky about hotels as long as they're clean but I suppose based on rave reviews here I expected better. The location is good, although yes, on a main road right next door to a fire station. And when you need to keep the windows open because it's so stuffy in the room, it can get quite loud - and I lived in NYC for 10 years so can tolerate noise. I also agree with others that the front desk staff could be a bit surly - not rude, just not exactly friendly either.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Meghan_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I am sorry that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us, and we thank you for your valued feedback.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed in the Trinity Capital Hotel 3 times in the course of a month-long stay in Ireland, first for one night when I arrived, then 4 nights in the middle of my stay, then 1 more night at the end before leaving for home. Overall, the hotel is comfortable and I would recommend it.

Several useful things to know:
The desk staff is quite helpful, although some people are more helpful than others. Also, I wouldn't say that the demeanor of much of the front desk staff is consistent with the overall Irish character of gregarious friendliness. Rather, the folks at the desk were generally on the cool side. Still, the majority of the desk staff were very helpful on a number of occasions, and went out of their way to be helpful, including finding and holding my husband's suit coat, which he forgot in the closet when we left in the middle of our trip. They will also hold your suitcases at the desk if need be, which is a nice service. Additionally, we received a free upgrade to our room for the second and third visits during our stay, which was really nice and definitely appreciated.

Also, there aren't that many rooms with air conditioning. I understand that one rarely needs it in Ireland, but it was quite warm (relatively) when I first arrived. If you are someone who is much more comfortable with air conditioning, be sure to request a room that has it.

The location is spectacular. It's close to Temple Bar, Trinity College, Grafton Street, and the Pearse DART station, but far enough from everything that it doesn't get excessively noisy. It's also an easy walk from where the Airlink bus from the Dublin Airport drops you off. We didn't have any problems with noise from the fire station.

I did not get breakfast added to my room, but I was given a voucher for a discounted breakfast when I first arrived. The breakfast was good and quite comprehensive, but quite pricey, especially if you aren't someone who eats a lot for breakfast. If a scone and tea will be enough for you, I'd skip the breakfast and head to one of the cafes- there are tons within a 5-minute walk.

Room Tip: The Tara rooms are lovely, roomy, and air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktregar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Trinity is a perfect choice if you are looking for a central hotel in Dublin. It is close to Trinity College where the airport bus stops. You have the very city center within 5-10 minutes walking distance.
The interior is special, almost like colonial style. Some might think it is too much, especially if you prefer light Nordic design.
We had a room in the inner part of the hotel, and did not hear trafic (or the fire department) at all.
If you do not have breakfast included, there are places around the corner to have breakfast irish or continental style.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG_Lomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#42 of 152 in Dublin
1,021 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#35 of 152 in Dublin
2,415 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 152 in Dublin
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#15 of 152 in Dublin
2,672 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 152 in Dublin
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £115 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 219 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing