We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No water pressure!!”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #51 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel was located within walking distance of Trinity College and many restaurants, pubs, and shops. We had a courtyard room with twin beds. The water pressure was terrible!! The walls were very thin, so take earplugs if you are a light sleeper. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel and it was very good, especially the salmon.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank uscfan1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I am sorry that experienced issues with your water pressure during your stay, this is an area we are currently looking at.

I hope we will have the oppoprtunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,663 - 1,669 of 3,509 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We just departed from The Trinity Capital Hotel and had a terrific stay! The staff was very friendly and accomodating and the hotel was clean and in a very central area to all the attractions. We were a quick walk away from the Temple Bar area. Only suggestion would be the increase the shower water pressure if at all possible.

Thank Stalnose
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the issue you had with shower pressure, we will be addressing this over the coming months.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 October 2013

4 star hotel mid way between the IFSC and Grafton Street. I stayed here following a work event and arrived and went for food in the bar to be told they didn't serve after 930 - not great for business!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank NiallMcG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was dissapointed to read that you experiened some isues when requesting food on your return to the hotel. Just to clarify, our main kitchen closes at 9.30pm we do offer food to hotel residents 24 hours.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel as part of a tour of Ireland. The furnishings of the lobby, restaurants, bar and other sitting areas were absolutely great! The rooms were furnished beautifully. The wall furnishings, mirrors and décor throughout were amazing. The staff was extremely helpful. The food for breakfast, dinner and at the bar was also the best. The only downside side was the room was warmer than we are used to. Kept the windows open the whole time to let cool air in. The hotel was close to Trinity College, shopping areas and museums.

Room Tip: Everyone in our group loved their rooms. Some said they were too warm and some too cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A funky fun hotel with incredibly friendly and helpful staff. we stayed in the quieter courtyard end of the building which is away from the noise of city traffic. In October the room was warm enough with no heating on and the window open to merit us asking for a fan to cool the room down at night. In summer the place must be oven-like. the lighting in the room was a little too scanty, nice big lights for reading over the beds (twin room) but the rest of the room was darkish and the wardrobe area almost impenetrable.the pillows and bed were hard. We had an a pleasant meal in the restaurant.. the hotel has recently changed owners and the advice would be to put air conditioning into all rooms and change the mattresses, pillows and lighting but hang onto your staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth Flecknell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am happy to advise you that,amongst the many exciting changes to the hotel in the coming months, we will indeed be adding air conditioning to our guest bedrooms.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Spent two days here and found the reception staff to be very friendly and professional, the bedrooms and function rooms very comfortable and the restaurant pleasant.
One minor irritation was that I had to prompt the conference catering staff to refill water and supply coffee but apart from this, a good place for a business trip.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Derek i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It's like entering a fantasy world when you arrive at the lobby with its rich and bold colour scheme, orange lighting and extraordinary furniture - many visitors walk around looking totally amazed and taking photographs. It's well located near the DART station and near everything else in the heart of Dublin on Pearse Street which a commercial street/commuter route so is busy during the day but very quiet at night as there's no passing traffic or drunks to keep you awake. People complain about the fire station, but in three visits I've not been disturbed at night - no doubt the fireman like a good night's sleep just like the rest of us. Breakfast restaurant offers full selection of juices, cereals, fruits, scones and Irish breakfast and as always, very enjoyable and relaxing evenings in the bar thanks to Estaban, the mixologist.

The hotel has been bought by a new owner who has scrapped the loyalty scheme - which is bad enough but nothing compared to the disastrous intention to redecorate and turn it into a boring cream and beige box just like all the other 5million hotels listed on Tripadvisor. The only thing that needs to be changed at this hotel is the unnecessarily complicated control system for the bathroom fans, which in fact doesn't work and can make the rooms feel a bit damp if the bathoom door is left open I hope the new owner listens to customers and retains the decor, reinstates the loyalty scheme and fixes the fans.

Can't fault this hotel and hope to have a similar experience next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us again and thank you for your continued loyal custom. This is a very exciting time for the hotel and I am confident that when you return you will be as impressed with the hotel as always.

Everybody at Trinity Capital Hotel look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
970 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,377 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Morgan
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Family Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £112 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing