We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value, charming and stylish hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good value, charming and stylish hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is ideally located, quiet but very close to all animated areas. Stylish, odd, but with high standards of service. People available, best quality/price breakfast ever! We've been upgraded to a luxury room at the 6th floor, the view on the Wicklow mountains and the city rooftops was amazing

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank FAB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    1,262
    457
    148
    69
See reviews for
489
1,394
127
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for our Son's graduation in Trinity so it was an ideal location. The hotel itself is very clean and has very comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and very efficient and helpful especially at Reception. Nice bar and excellent breakfast. We'll be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbiegirlLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a great hotel in an extremely convenient location. Tried lunch in the bar and dinner in the restaurant - both really good. The staff are lovely too, so I can't fault anything about this place. Think I've found my new favourite hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanner-ige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My prior perspection was unmatched to my actual experience.
Great staff! , nice rooms, perfect location for any tourist visiting Dublin.
I am from Dublin and this is a hotel who really have moved to international service level! Well done guys - you make Irish people proud again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColmOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Tripavisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Having stayed in the trinity capital for the previous years Dublin city marathon, we decided to return this year and to bring my parents along as a treat. It's location so close to the starting line makes it an ideal base for race participants.

We decided to pay for both rooms at check in (my parents were arriving later) and as our room wasn't ready yet we headed straight to the marathon expo to pick up my race pack. About an hour later I received a phone call from my father to say that reception staff wanted to take payment details from him. I asked to speak to the receptionist and attempted to explain that the rooms were paid for. She proceeded to interrogate me about the method of payment, amount paid. When I went to take my receipt from my pocket I realised they had given my a printout of my online booking instead. Eventually the misunderstanding was cleared up, not before my parents had been thoroughly mortified in front of other guests

I booked two rooms on a room only rate. Every morning at breakfast before we were seated we had to endure various members of staff demanding payment for breakfast. This was done in front of other guests and the approach of the staff made my parents so uncomfortable that they avoided breakfast on our last day.

After we checked out, we left our bags at reception and went to town for a bite to eat. We got something to take back to the hotel and intended to eat our food in the outdoor dining area. We were interrupted by a staff member who informed that food not purchased on the premises could not be consumed there. That was fair enough, I should have been aware of this. However the manner in which we were approached left a lot to be desired.

I decided to complain to a member of management about our uncomfortable experience and he promised to look into it and get back to me. One week later and not a word. I emailed him and again I outlined my grievances but I'm still awaiting a reply. I'm not holding my breath.

We have stayed in a few top class hotels in our time and what makes the best hotels stand out is their customer service. In this area the trinity capital falls far short. Most of the staff were top class but were let down by a few bad eggs. Given that the manager I spoke to couldn't be bothered to respond to my complaint It probably explains the attitude a few of the staff.

If you're looking for a central location the trinity capital is ideal. Just be prepared to deal with over zealous and in some cases incompetent staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Old-school traditional hotel with great charm. Great location close to old section of Dublin with many bars and restaurants. Would definitely consider staying here again.

Only complaint is that the temperature is too warm inside.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Tripavisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

On the outside and in the lobby one would expect upgraded rooms, however, they did seem pretty dated. There is a window in the room, but it only opens a few inches and because it's so hot, we dealt with the street noise at night. There was what looked like at one point a skylight in our room over the bed, but it was covered up with some board that had fabric over it...? It made me a little nervous because I didn't know if it led to a room above us or just open sky. We both enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning (it was included) and there was a variety to choose from. The hotel staff is friendly and accomodating. The bed was pretty comfortable and we didn't totally overheat after leaving the window open the whole day. If you're just looking for a place to sleep, this is fine.

Room Tip: The higher-end rooms seem to have received the bulk of the upgrades, so if you have the money, I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchamp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Tripavisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing