We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel!”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Trinity Capital Hotel for 5 days in a Georgian Suite in mid-November - our first visit to Ireland!

Trinity's service exceeded our expectations from the moment we set foot in the hotel - at 10 AM on the day that we arrived. We were on a redeye flight from Philadelphia and didn't expect for our room to be ready especially on a Friday morning - we were so sure about the backup plan which entailed drinking copious amounts of Irish coffee to keep us awake as we explored Dublin, while waiting for our room. Much to our suprise, a very friendly Olga at the Front Desk informed us that our room was ready upon check-in...as we rolled our luggage through the corridor towards the stairs of the Georgian Suites (these suites do not have lifts), Barry (whom I think is one of the managers) offered to help me with my suitcases up 3 flights of stairs. I knew then that we had chosen the best place to stay in Dublin! :) Everyone we encountered with at the hotel from that point on was just fabulous - including the nice bartender (Spaniard whose name I have forgotten) who allowed us to stay after the lobby bar officially closed in order to finish watching a San Francisco 49er game (we are from San Francisco), well past 1 AM.

The hotel's decor is a great bonus for an art lover like myself - there were so many excellent detail pieces that went with the Georgian Suite we were staying in. I also loved the Chagalls on the hallways and even in our room.

Trinity Capital is centrally located for all things to do in and out of Dublin - it is a short walk to all the bus stops for both local and day tours. It is a stone's throw from Trinity College as well-

The buffet breakfast served daily was always fresh and we took advantage of it - although for as long as we stayed there, I wish I hadn't pre-paid for all the days. I would've loved to have tried other restaurants nearby for breakfast - it got boring to us after the second day...not the hotel's fault of course; the breakfast didn't vary from one day to the next.

I will certainly consider Trinity Capital Hotel again for any future visits to Dublin- I loved that I could walk to everywhere in Dublin from there...and what a pleasant staff they have! Thank you so much for making our first visit to Ireland such a drama-free and memorable experience!!!

p.s. The fact that it is above a fire station never bothered us.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room to diminish street noise, including the fire trucks next door or below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    1,286
    471
    152
    72
See reviews for
501
1,430
132
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Room was fantastic and had everything you would need. Bathroom large with great shower. Safe in room. Staff were so friendly at reception and went the extra mile for us. Breakfast was okay, buffet style with plenty of options. Very good location in Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights, and the hotel was in a good location, easy walking distance to grafton street, and easy to get home from, on foot, late at night! The deco of the hotel is quirky and cool - makes you feel like you are not at home, cool lounge area. Breakfast was ok, some bits not particulary hot, and there is no option to ask for an omlette for example, however, it was a great spread and very enjoyable. I only have two, small criticisms. 1. The room was extraordinarily hot - and there is no temperature control in the room. I hate being cold, and for me it was too warm! (however, I would say better to be hot than cold in my opinion) and 2. Checking in and out - took far too long - it is clear that there will always be more people checking in and out on a Friday & Monday - it is the nature of a hotel in a city & that they will all check out at roughly the same time - so you need to have everyone working on that desk to reduce the wait time to a minimum - I had to wait almost 20 mins to check out - and after such a lovely experience at the hotel, it was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: There are two parts to the hotel - the old part and the new part - if you can get to the old part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naths81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We visited the Trinity back in November and it wasn't as nice as I thought it would be. However my fiancé loved it! Must just depend on your taste as it is decorated strangely and gave me the feeling I was in a gothic/Alice in wonderland film. The room we were allocated was massive but very cold. The bathroom in particular was freezing.
The staff were all very nice and friendly but the hotel wasn't the cosy, comfy place I was looking for. It certainly is in a great location for going out and about.
I wouldn't want to return but my fiancé would! He'll have to go on his own ;-). I don't like being cold in a hotel roo especially after 3 weeks of radiotherapy. We did crank the heating in the room up to top temperature but it didn't make any difference. I think the room needs more heaters for the size of it. The bathroom only had a tiny wall heater which you had to put on for about 3 hours before you could brave going for a bath. The jacuzzi bath was nice and we used it a lot.
We should probably have asked reception to help about the cold. They seemed very nice and helpful. Apart from that it was a nice enough stay.

Room Tip: May be better with a smaller room for more heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I am sorry that you did not fully enjoy your time with us. We would always encourage our quests to inform us of any issues with their stay so that we can have the chance to rectify this as quickly as possible.

I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very convenient to Trinity College. Be prepared to walk with your luggage, (about 7 minute walk) as we did, if you take the Airlink to Trinity College. You only learn by doing, and in retrospect, we should have taken a cab to the hotel. Room was clean and nice for our 2 night stay in Dublin. We requested a fan because our room was too hot and it was delivered with no problem. The bath was nice and clean and suited our needs. Staff was friendly and was a nice introduction to Ireland as it was our first stop over upon arriving. We were able to purchase postage there. We loved the oversized decor of the lobby area! Very funky and fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sceniccityred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you mentioning how friendly our staff are, this is something we take great pride in.

I hope we will hav the opportunity to welcome you back to Dublin and Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy Generl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel was a great choice to visit Dublin. It is a little different and although we didn't interact with the staff much, when we did they were very helpful (leaving luggage / asking for printing). A great stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_Junkie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will hav the opportunity to welcome you back to Dublin and Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy Generl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here two nights at beginning of our trip and one night at the end before flight home. This hotel is a very nice and charming with a wonderful staff to help in every way. We had breakfast every morning and a wonderful dinner our first night. We were able to walk to most every place we needed.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms and they were both wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity Capital Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also very happy that you enjoyed your evening meal with us on your first night.

I hope we will hav the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity Capital Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Barry Kennedy
Deputy Generl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,733 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,194 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 151 in Dublin
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,460 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing