We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for a short stay in Dublin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location for a short stay in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

On a recent visit to Dublin we stayed a couple of nights here to catch up with local friends. The Hotel is quirky but good with many bars and dining rooms. Staff were knowledgeable and polite. The rooms were generous and well conditioned as well as comfortable. Parking can be arranged at a station just around the corner. There is a loading and unloading area outside the front of the hotel to allow for baggage etc. The Hotel is right next to the University and almost in the centre of town very convenient for day excursions on foot. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rintoul353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity City Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity City Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    1,252
    448
    145
    69
See reviews for
478
1,378
125
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
espoo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good quality hotel, excellent location in the very center of Dublin. Rooms average good size, neat and clean. Staff tried to be helpful, but over promised quick solutions multiple time. And therefore we felt our expectations were not met, even though hotel was pretty good. For some reason there were all sort of small problems, rooms not ready for check in as promised latest by 2pm, cleaners late every day, heating did not work at all because of this room very cold etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indiavester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity City Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity City Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Trinity City Hotel was perfect . All the staff where really helpful and always making sure our stay was comfortable. We also had dinner that evening. The food was delicious and arrived quickly. The bedroom was spotless. It was obvious that housekeeping do not take shortcuts when cleaning the rooms. Overall, it was a brilliant night in Dublin. The hotel is only a stones throw from the train station and Temple Bar District. I would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptmagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity City Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity City Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Trinity Capital Hotel. It was our home base as we explored Dublin and surrounding cities. It was within walking distance of Trinity College and Temple Bar, great location for touristy things. The bed was comfortable but the room was a little hot. Our air didn't seem to be working so well. We landed in Dublin at 6:00 am and they were able to check us in early and upgrade us to a King bed room that was nice and had two ceiling windows. Breakfast was a little pricey at €15 each morning. We did get a coupon at check in for a special promotion that made it €10, so we did it twice out of convenience. It was a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity City Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity City Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Really cool,modern hotel very close to College Green and to Trinity College.Great location for the Liffey and almost everything else.helpful efficient staff and
the most comfortable bed i have ever
slept in!Our room was on the 6th(top) floor which had beautiful views of Dublins surrounding hills and Trinity College Green.I really recommend this hotel as a stress free,central stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank london-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity City Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity City Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the Easter weekend. Didn't really rate the hotel well. The location is ok, but I think other hotels eg the Gresham, and the Wynns are better from looking around.

The hotel has nice communal areas eg a nice bar and entrance.

We arrived early (11am ish) and our room was already ready so they let us check in which was a bonus. As for the check in we were greeted by an Indian lady at reception who appeared to be training a new recruit. The main reception lady wasn't very friendly, the welcome was unfriendly and compared to the young Irish girl we could hear checking in people next to us well I dint think this lady was best places to be training anyone.

Prior to staying at the hotel I'd emailed and asked to be places in a room with a view as apparently many rooms have these views. I had no reply to my email and when I asked the receptionist I just got we are fully booked but your rooms ready now so at least u have that!

As for the room supposedly a superior double at a 4 star hotel lacked some basic things; no razor charger in the bathroom, no fridge and you couldn't control the temperature so the room was boiling all weekend. Limited TV channels eg 8 channels. And curtains didn't touch floor so despite being thick light came in during the mornings.

The room overlooked a busy road and on our first night we we woken at 11pm by a man in the corridor shouting and swearing. Not great! Wouldn't stay here again! Overpriced for what you get!


Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank carrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity City Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity City Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for Easter Weekend, and location it couldn't be better. Nice Boutique Style mixed just right with modern facilities and pleasant staff. Quiet for a City Centre Hotel, yet a stones throw from temple bar, the hub of Dublin Night Life. Bar food top drawer, should have went to the restaurant. Worth the extra few bob over budget hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheSuperSupervisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of Trinity City Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trinity City Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing