We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience”
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

THe decor is -- well -- different, even for a NYC girl. Lots of purple and black on the furniture and on the walls, and mirrors on the doors to all the rooms. It's actually a bit spooky to walk the corridor to your room. The beds were terrific. As you would expect in a big city in Europe the rooms are very small. There were 2 of us and we were climbing over our bags. If you are dead weary after a day of sight seeing eat dinner at the hotel. The salmon and chicken meals were delicious and the desserts.

Room Tip: Our assigned room had that covered up odor of cigarette smoke, but they changed us right away. Unfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candacem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Candacem

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your stay and your meal in our Restaurant. I am sorry to hear the first room you were allocated was a little disappointing and I hope it didn't cause too much of an inconvenience to move rooms.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon to the Hotel.

Kind Regards

Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    1,304
    480
    155
    74
See reviews for
516
1,460
132
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have no complaints at all. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable, and even though our room was on the 1st story and located immediately above the fire station, traffic and sirens were not really much of an issue for us. The location is very convenient to many things - I don't really understand the comment an earlier reviewer left about it being too close to Temple Bar, it's a full two blocks away from the edge of the district, and we didn't hear a single reveler in the streets below during our four night stay. However, it is close enough to have a wide variety of food options. It's also close to the Tourism Office, where many tours start, as well as close to Trinity College and many of the museums. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmoore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear tmoore48

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If I was to recommend a hotel in Dublin that you wanted to have a romantic night away or sometime out to yourself then this is the hotel. It is eccentric and it is quirkiness is what is appealing to me. The rooms are beautiful and each room is totally different to the next. I have stayed here 3 times and each room as been as different as the next. They big spacious and very clean. The bar stays open late and the staff are extremely friendly. I have to say I have not eaten here but that is because I like to eat out. The hotel can be expensive but I always plan ahead and keep an eye out for the deals they may have. If you are looking for just a bed then I would recommend there sister hotel the Grafton not as fancy but great location.

Room Tip: Enjoy your stay:) Parking can be hard to find around the area they are based in but there is a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretts1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Loretts1977

Many thanks for your review and we appreciate your loyalty to the Hotel. Regarding the car parking we have recently introduced a Concierge Department within the Hotel and John, Philip or Colm would be delighted to assist you with your parking requirements. We have also introduced a Valet service at the Hotel and we would be delighted to park your car for you so you have no need to worry about parking on your return visit to us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is ideal for a city break, a short walking distance to central attractions. The rooms had everything expected of a 4* hotel, comfortable and clean, although the bathroom could do with a bit of attention - ceiling had some mould and the bottom of bath needed refurbishment. Unusual decor throughout - ornate design. No plug conveniently positioned for kettle / hair dryer, except one hidden behind TV. Quiet due to secondary glazing. Great breakfast, generally self service and good choice. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear SmartNo1

Many thanks for your review and for highlighting the maintenance issue you experienced during your stay. We will have it addressed accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

spent two nights there last week of February.
location good. bedroom comfortable and food good both breakfast and evening meal. hotel was soundproof even though next to a fire station.#good spot would use again

Room Tip: not facing pease street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2irishBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear 2Irish Belfast

Many thanks for your review I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel was very interesting indeed. Ornately decorated with antique purple velvet sofas, as well as some modern pieces, loud wallpaper, dark paint colors, unique floor lamps, a giraffe and other items make this a one of a kind study in interior agglomeration. The hallways to the rooms and the room we stayed in were tiny, but clean and comfortable. Conveniently located within walking distance to Temple Bar District and restaurants. The breakfast was good, very self service buffet style. Nice one night stay, but I would not go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Deb P

Many thanks for the review and your description of the Hotel. Our décor is very different and generally prompts positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

So nice and cozy!! Lots and lots of funny things to look at for exemple during breakfast or having lunch in the court-yard. Very small rooms, but the design is really something extra. It's located in the city center, just a few steps away from Temple bar.

Next time I hope for a bigger breakfast, better wifi and larger wardrobes so I can give the hotel 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Sir Milton 2

Many thanks for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. We have recently installed 200Mb fibre broadband in the Hotel so its unusual that it was slow. However I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again.

Kind Regards

Denyse Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,823 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,265 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,512 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Property: Trinity City Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
#50 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing